We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Leinster Hotel

Save Saved
You added Duke of Leinster Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duke of Leinster Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Leinster Gardens | Bayswater, London W2 3AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #653 of 1,073 hotels in London
Baumholder, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such a disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I expected hotels in London to be small but when we got to this hotel and opened our room door the door literally hit the bed the room was so small. I could touch one wall with one hand and the other wall with the other hand at the same time. We stayed there in Jan 2013 for our "baby-moon" since we are expecting our first baby in February and I requested a larger room since I was 34 weeks pregnant but apparently that meant getting the smallest room physically possible. They are lucky I am really small because I could not imagine someone larger being able to even fit in the shower in that room.
The bed was decent and clean so that was fine but the walls had markings all over them. I seriously wish I would have spent more money on a better hotel. In order to dry off from the shower in the bathroom I had to put my leg onto the toilet from the shower (that had no tub). Also in order to get to and from the bathroom one person had to go into the bathroom so the other person could pass by. If it were just one person I am sure that it would have been easier but this room was ridiculous.

Oh and our shower did not drain so I had to turn the water on, rinse quick, turn the water off and wash and shave then turn the water back on quickly to rinse off. It was disgusting that I had to stand in water since it would not drain!

I would not stay in this hotel ever again. Thankfully the breakfast was included because that was nothing special either, it was all carbs and that is it. Basically we ate it because it was included and to fill us up to keep us from spending more money.

The walls to our bedroom must have been paper thin because you could literally hear everything, not to mention the fact that they put us in the room right next to the reception area so I never felt like I had any privacy whatsoever. You could hear all the conversations of others and you could hear the construction or trucks going by on the street outside. It was so noisy and unreal. I wanted to relax before our baby comes but this hotel did not let me do that at all.

Don't stay in this hotel if you actually want comfort because my husband and I were not comfortable in this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
20Duke, General Manager at Duke of Leinster Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review, we accept both positive and negative comments to help us to offer to our clients a better stay.
We really apologize if you did not have a good stay, we are doing our best to improve the breakfast service and the rooms quality as well.
Me and the staff are making a lot of efforts to give to this Hotel better services and facilities.
We hope to welcoming you again here at the Duke of Leinster to proof you that we are changing a lot.
Thank you very much for your visit
Best Regards
O.Ismail
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    115
    73
    39
    82
See reviews for
94
86
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

24th Dec 2012 - have just spent Christmas at this Hotel. Staff could not do enough to make our stay fantastic. They were very obliging. friendly and polite. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was extremely clean and the linen was whiter than snow. Very good location, great prices will deff be staying again - well done to all the staff for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
20Duke, General Manager at Duke of Leinster Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice review. Me and the staff are happy to hear that our efforts are been recognize.
It is always a pleasure to help and give to our clients our best services and facilities.
We hope to welcoming you soon here at the Duke of Leinster.
Best Regards and Warm Greetings
O.Ismail
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel from dec 20 to 23 , all was great , good location , good value for money , friendly polite and very helpful staff, clean room , smiley maids , we would recommend this hotel ,

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
20Duke, Manager at Duke of Leinster Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Here at The Duke of Leinster we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We always want our guests to feel comfortable and to be treated with good hospitality.
We would like to welcome you to come and stay in our hotel again in the near future.
Best regards,
O Ismail
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Breakfast was good, as we travelled with adolescents, the free internet was esential, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the fridge, tea and coffee fascilities were very helpful. Excellent hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
20Duke, General Manager at Duke of Leinster Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed the Hotel facilities and our breakfast.
Here at the Duke of Leinster we try every time to offer to our guest our best services and help.
We hope to welcoming you soon
Best Regards
O.Ismail
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I've stayed in Duke of Leinster twice and have recomended it to many friends.
The location is perfect!The hotel is located within walking distance( apr 5 min) from Queensway and Bayswater stations, there are shops, restaurants, fast food etc within walking distance and yet it is very quiet. Plus Kensington Gardens are only a couple of minutes away which is lovely for a walk in the evening!
The rooms vary in size but still they are big enough for London standards. Have stayed in a double room, which was quite small but not too small and in a triple room which was great! The bathroom is a bit small and no bathtub, just a shower but it was very clean and there was always hot water.
The staff is really helpfull and friendly! All of them from the reception, to the service and the maids are very polite and do their best to keep the guests satisfied and they are doing a great job!
All the rooms have a kettle, a hairdryer and you can ask for an iron from the reception any time.
The breakfast is fine, with enough choises for all tastes
The matrasses could be a bit better
So, it's a perfect place for couples, friends or even a family who want to stay away from the center but still with easy access to it and do not want to spend a fortune on accommodation.
Nice, clean, inexpensive, great staff and perfect location!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
20Duke, Manager at Duke of Leinster Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest,
The Duke of Leinster Hotel are pleased to hear that your stay with us was to your satisfaction. We always want our guests to receive our highest standard of services and wish for them to have a pleasant stay.
We hope to see you in our hotel for the third time.
Sincerely,
O Ismail
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Ive just come back to from london which is breathtaking at christmas.we stayed at this hotel only two nights and,after reading some reviews,we were expecting the worst. Fortunately all dubts disappeared: the hotel is easily approachable from two tube stations:bayswater and queensway which offer three different lines:red,green,yellow.the reception is small but nice and clean the elevator is for 4people max300kg so not so small and noisy as someone may say.breakfast is delicious and rich of croissants,juices,jams and so on.as far as rooms concerns,we had room#406;there was enough room for a couple,bathroom unexpectidly clean and big,wonderful shower,clean towels and blankets everyday.i would sincerely recommend this hotel to young couples,students or families who wanna find a nice hotel at a special cheap price if compared to other places in london.morover the Duke of Leinser is 1min walking from Kensington gardens,not only a perfect place to relax,have a walk or go running but also a must see in the heart of london.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
20Duke, General Manager at Duke of Leinster Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your positive review. We are very happy to hear that you had a good stay here with us and you appreciated the Hotel facilities and our breakfast.
Me and the staff are doing our best to offer our clients a beautiful stay and help them in all their need.
We hope to welcoming here soon and offer you all you need to make your stay at the Duke of Leinster unforgettable.
Best Regards
O.Ismail
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

i enjoyed the stay at hotel. I would recommend this hotel to many friends. The hotel looks lovely and the service is great. I stayed in the hotel, the room is nice and the scenery is nice. It was a comfortable stay and i felt relaxed here. I would definitely come here again in the future. The hotel is very clean and the staff here is very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duke of Leinster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Leinster Hotel

Address: 20 Leinster Gardens | Bayswater, London W2 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #653 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Leinster Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel belongs to Crystal Hotels chain. Duke of Leinster is an elegant hotel based in Bayswater, London. It is just a short walk to Hyde Park and Bayswater Tube Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Duke of Leinster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Leinster London
Hotel Duke Of Leinster
Duke Of Leinster Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Leinster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.