We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Leinster Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Duke of Leinster Hotel to your Saves list
Duke of Leinster Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Leinster Gardens | Bayswater, London W2 3AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #681 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“BED BUGS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in September, got eaten alive by bed bugs and know one could tell me how to get relief.
Safe was not availablle for 4 days, lift didn't work at all and when I sent an email to management advising them of my beg bug problem received "no reply". Do you think these people are in the business of HOSPITALITY - I DON'T THINK SO!!!
Such a shame, nice little hotel and great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
20Duke, Manager at Duke of Leinster Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest ,
On behalf of The Duke of Leinster Hotel I would like to sincerely apologize for the trouble you had when staying at our hotel.
However, we have now got new management and completely new staff so any problems regarding bed bugs or maintenance have been dealt with intensely.
We hope you would consider coming to stay in our hotel again so you are able to experience the improvements that we worked hard on and the new standard of service and hospitality.
Again, sorry for the inconvenience.
O Ismail
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    120
    84
    42
    85
See reviews for
104
90
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Do not book this hotel!! Its a disaster.
Upon check in, we were welcomed by an arab receptionist who told us to wait because he had to do some things (we were ALONE in reception no point to wait). What a surprise when we saw 2 bags in the smallest waiting area ever and we were wondering if someone forget them there. Well, not at all, they staff kept it there as a luggage room! What a safe place...
After 15 min waiting, they send us to the room 403. What to say... the elevator looks like a horror movie, small (not even 2 persons can fit properly), slow and terribly noisy.
When we arrived to the room, the view was nice, facing the main road. The bathroom was ok but the bed was a completely mess.
We booked for double bed, which was 2 beds joint together, which is fine if u put one big blanket, not 2 separate ones!!!
When we came back from sightseeing, we asked an indian receptionist how can we go to stanstead airport, which he looked in the internet and told us waterloo. What a surprise when we arrived to waterloo and they told us that we are wrong, it is in liverpool street!
So we do not only almost miss the flight, but we had to pay a taxi until the airport which was 120 pounds!! it was a disaster... thank you so much..
After breakfast when we tried to go downstairs with the elevator(what to do, we had heavy bags) it never came so we decided to go by the stairs.
What a surprise when we saw that the reason the elevator is blocked is because the lazy workers were using the GUEST elevator to bring some new beds upstairs.
I am sorry, but it is not acceptable that we had to carry the bag 4 floors down just because they were too lazy to do their job. Reception? they didnt even apologize.

We will NEVER come back.
Next morning we had breakfast, which is ok but not worth even the 7 pounds that it costs. Much better if you go to the pub at the corner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poissy, Ile-de-France, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is well located and the prices are reasonable but the service is not very good (there is no real luggage room, we have to wait for a place for breakfast, ... ). In addition there was a problem (not explained) with the room and we were moved several times from one hotel to another ...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We were pleasently surprised. After reading some of the reviews, we expected a very bad hotel. But as soon as we checked into our room, we were happy that we booked it. The room was small, but large enough to walk around in comfortably. It was very clean (Bedbugs, as mentioned in other reviews, were nowhere to be found.). The bathroom was also small, but big enough for comfort. Keep in mind that we booked a double room.
The breakfast was also great, all kinds of Kellogs-cereal, jam and cheese, together with freshly brewed coffee and orange juice that tastes as if it was manually pressed just a few minutes ago.

I definetely recommend this hotel to either single travellers, young couples or young groups. Families with small kids should consider the rather small roons, and decide whether the hotel is suites for them.

Would book again. And again. And again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
20Duke, Manager at Duke of Leinster Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest,
The Duke of Leinster Hotel are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We want nothing more than happy guests receiving high quality service. We hope that you will consider coming to our hotel for another visit in the future.
Thank you for the review,
O Ismail
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked 3 nights at the duke. The day before our stay we read some reviews about the hotel, but we figured that the bug problem was probably a bit exagerated and that the hotel had fixed the issue.
NOT SO!!!
First night we found a bed-bug under the sheets. The next morning we found a new hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Made a reservation with booking .com 5hrs before Arrival. (what a big Mistake)
When we got to the Hotel a large Party of Girls were at the frontdesk argueing with the man on reception, they were clearly very Unhappy and Upset to be told the rooms had been Vandalised the night before and that they had to split them up in a different hotel!!
After Looking at the room reserved at a rate of £255 we declined the offer to stay in it. Dingy Dirty so small i would have been more comfortable in my Car, which i told the Arab Man on reception, he grunted at me and pulled a face, like he did not Care and was not surprised.
He Assured me though that No Monies had or would be taken from my card..... What a Liar they took the full amount from my bank and said through booking.com that my excuse for not wanting to stay was not good enough and also that i needed to give 24Hrs Notice for free cancellation...
This surely when only booked the same day is not possible. I have tryed talking to them on the phone, and all i get told is the manager is not available to speak.Martin let me know if you get One i didn,t even have to endure the bed Bugs and still got charged!!!

Room Tip: None of Them the place wants Nucing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Firstly, i would like to get the point across clearly, i wouldn't stay here again if they paid me.
on arrival a group of girls leaving the hotel walked past us and said 'have a lovely stay, don't let the bed bugs bite.' of course we took this as a joke.
However the people next door to us were up at 4am because their room was crawling with bed bugs, staff simply brushed this off, telling him to calm down.
Our room, luckily, didn't have any bed bugs. It was just disgustingly dirty, pubic hair on the bed sheets, blue chairs stained white, thick layers of dust. The room was so small and so crammed we tried to spend very little time in it.
The staff at the hotel, are rude and don't care for out complaints. They rushed us out in breakfast as there were only 6 tables and about 200 people staying.
We also overheard one of the staff telling a French woman she shouldn't have come to our country if she couldn't be bothered to learn the language , this is a disgusting and racist comment, and should not be tolerated.
The hotel is dirty, disgusting, crammed, too hot and broken.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
20Duke, Manager at Duke of Leinster Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of The Duke of Leinster Hotel, I would like to make a sincere apology regarding the inconvenience you faced when staying with us. However, we can assure to you that any problems like bed bugs, cleanliness and staff have certainly been dealt with. We now have a new line of management and staff so if you were to come and stay with us again you would most certainly notice a big difference.
We hope you will consider staying with us again so that you are able to experience the improvements we worked hard on.
Best regards,
O Ismail
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duke of Leinster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Leinster Hotel

Address: 20 Leinster Gardens | Bayswater, London W2 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #681 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Leinster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel belongs to Crystal Hotels chain. Duke of Leinster is an elegant hotel based in Bayswater, London. It is just a short walk to Hyde Park and Bayswater Tube Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Duke of Leinster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Leinster London
Hotel Duke Of Leinster
Duke Of Leinster Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Leinster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.