We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Modern Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London) (City of London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #164 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NJ, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Location, Modern Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I recently stayed for a long weekend at the DoubleTree Tower of London while tagging along on a business trip with my husband.

LOCATION: Steps away from the Tower Hill tube stop. Easy walk to Tower of London, Tower Bridge, and the Thames. There are pubs and restaurants in the area, all within walking distance. The neighborhood is very quiet compared to the West End.

ROOMS: Rooms are of course tiny and you have to pay more for a room with a view of the river and the bridge. The bath contains a shower stall, no bathtub. The amenities are good quality. Plenty of room on the vanity for toiletries. Our king bed was very comfortable and featured a "pillow bar" with various levels of fluffiness.

FOOD: We upgraded to the Executive Room and were able to visit the main floor lounge for breakfast, snacks and drinks. Breakfast was excellent, and they put out hot items and cold.

ENTERTAINMENT: Go to the rooftop "Sky Lounge" it features an amazing view. We had perfect weather and enjoying a stunning view of nighttime London.

STAFF: I found that the staff were attentive and professional. No issues during our stay. The concierge got us tickets to the play at the Globe Theatre (also very close)! Excellent!

In all I thought that the hotel was a great value. I normally book a flat for longer stays but I think the DoubleTree will be a top contender for hotel stays because of the location and walkability.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bridge view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear 'MissBirdy'

Thank you for your comments! It sounds like you made full use of your time at our hotel, and managed to see some of the sights of London which is great. I hope you enjoyed the Globe theatre, a fantastic thing to do, with such a great history!

We look forward to having you back as our guest in the near future.

Take care
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,774
    1,165
    295
    69
    38
See reviews for
391
1,416
116
811
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

2 minutes from Towerhill tube station on the District and Circle lines means very easy to get around London. Room was usual Hilton standard, clean, had all amenities but no minibar, just water. We checked in at 930am and skipped the huge check in queue by just collecting our key at 245pm. Staff were polite and helpful. The Skylounge was nice, it seemed a bit over run with non guests booking out tables which was a bit of a disappointment. Staff there were a bit hit and miss, either really nice or downright rude which again spoiled the experience there a bit.
Overall, would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had a reservation for one night. When I arrived, the staff were struggling with a computer failure & there was a queue of people waiting to check in. Staff were apologetic, friendly, professional, & worked the queue with cookies and fruit juice.

The room was immaculate, a good size & the air conditioning worked beautifully.

The bed was firm and comfortable.

I had a great stay, & the location of this hotel is great for exploring London, without the overcrowded streets around Soho.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room, with views of the Tower of London if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear 'roosterza'

Thank you for your comments regarding our teams efforts during a wait at check in whilst we had experienced some issues with our system. I'm sorry this had happened, but I'm pleased this didn't negatively impact on your enjoyment of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Thank you for recommending us to others, we really appreciate it!

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

It's a nice enough and new enough hotel to a very good standard. We arrived and there was a queue like you see at a hostel. They gave us cookies whilst we waited but, poor start. Then have us the wrong door card so we had to go back downstairs so not great first impressions !

The hotel as a whole was nice though. Sky bar on the top floor with great views. Premium prices for the drinks though and the service from the Eastern European staff didn't reflect this. Some training issues required and it would be a top notch middle-end hotel though. A Dorchester it is not, but the prices were on par with premier inns which they could trump for quality easily.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of London.
The rooms are up to a 4 star standard.
Breakfast and internet were complimentary. The breakfast is ok, pretty much standard.
But the Sky Lounge is exceptional, particularly on a warm summer evening with a perfect view over London.
A great city - I had that almost forgotten after some years.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Hotel very close to underground. Views from Sky lounge part obscured by construction of larger building, bit of a let down but not their fault. Many tourist icons very close or a short walk away. Cheap food and drink near by. Top pub tucked under a rail bridge behind the hotel. Room small but clean and very good aircon. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Free wifi and fast. If you want a walking holiday to do lots of sights in just a few days this is the place to stay. Thames 2 minutes away, ferry cheap to go up or down the river to other sights,London eye, Big Ben and so on.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear 'Paula P'

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. I apologise works that are taking place at no. 10 Trinity Square had meant you were a little disappointed by the view from Skylounge. Whilst works continue there will be some areas of our view that are effected, however we are working closely with the project's management to ensure any disruption can be kept to a minimum.

I hope this would not deter you from returning and if I can help to explain anything further please do not hesitate to contact me.

All the best,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The smiling and friendly reception on check in made for an excellent welcome to this new, modern hotel (free cookies were a simple but novel idea). Chose the hotel due to it's location away from the centre of London but extremely well placed to access the usual areas from the nearby Tower Hill tube station. Room was clean, fresh, comfortable and equipped to meet the needs of our short stay. The Apple iMac in each room was a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear 'HarryCestria'

We were delighted to read your feedback regarding your welcome to the hotel, thank you for saying our Reception team had made a concerted effort to ensure you could experience a hassle free, friendly check in! I'm glad you enjoyed your cookie!

I hope this might mean we can welcome you back in the future and in the meantime do let us know if we can be of any assistance. Thank you again for the wonderful comments,

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in London
#103 Romantic Hotel in London
#125 Luxury Hotel in London
#130 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, LondonMarketing.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London -Tower Of London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.