We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern & Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London) (City of London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 1,075 hotels in London
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Modern & Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton for one night in late August & found it modern & absolutely immaculately clean. The rooms are spacious with crisp bedding, toiletries & usual add-ons but the most impressive aspect of all was the Apple Television that was also a computer. You could use & connect to the internet for free which was extremely helpful when in an unfamiliar city. Staff were friendly, although we were a little annoyed because as we checked-in late (coming in from Australia), they had marked us off as 'no-shows' even though we had telephoned the hotel in advance to say we would be very late checking-in. Apart from that, we enjoyed our stay & enjoyed the hot cookie they give to you free of charge on arrival! Would stay again as it is was clean, modern & in a good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,388
    841
    210
    52
    30
See reviews for
305
1065
85
589
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very convenient location to the Tower of London. Good value and great service from the hotel staff. Our flight was delayed and we weren't able to check in on the day of the reservation. The hotel has kept our room and upgraded us once we have arrive a day later.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you so much for posting this review and for mentioning how our staff had enabled you to receive a room upgrade following delays to your journey. I'm pleased this had all worked out in the end and thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree Tower of London! Do let us know if we can ever be of any assistance in the future.

Kindest regards,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

They do go the extra mile to assure the best service is offered. Chapeau to all of them! Excellent address within London (tube & train), but once again, the guys (and ladies) @ reception made the difference!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear 'Javier G'

Thank you for praising the efforts of our Reception team for the great service received and for mentioning how ideal our location had been for this trip. I hope we can welcome you back again soon!

In the meantime please contact us if we can be of any help!

All the best
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giza, Egypt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel is very clean and comfy. Friendly and helpful staff who won't hesitate to help in giving directions or advice about nearby places. Hotel is very near to Tower hill station, just two minutes away in a quite and calm area near Tower of London. The cookies given on check in is delicious and you can always grab one for free every time you pass by the reception, we've bought some before leaving the hotel. Breakfast area can be quite busy on weekends so usually the earlier the better. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear 'Nada M'

Thank you for your kind words following this recent stay at DoubleTree Tower of London with your family! I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Cookie, you are right that our guests are welcome to enjoy further cookies at any time during their stay!

It is wonderful to hear that you will look to come back to the hotel (thank you) and if ever we can be of any assistance please contact us any time. In the meantime please pass on our best wishes to your family.

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Doubletree is very clean and modern. I was surprised to find a fantastic roof deck/bar which I'm told is somewhat unusual for London. We had a nice dinner in the Healthy Kitchen off the lobby and would recommend. The coffee is also much better in the Healthy Kitchen compared to the morning buffet in the hotel cafe if you happen to enjoy.

The staff we dealt with in the lobby were retards. When I asked for local dinner recommendations concierge & some other guy told us our only option was Sushi Samba or to take a cab- nothing in the immediate vicinity. Not helpful. We walked out of the hotel and found a respectable Jamie Oliver restaurant less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We also had some other similar responses from the staff when we asked various questions- a crew of airheads.

I would only choose this hotel if working in the area on business or for the roof deck otherwise find another option unless the price is right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The best thing about this property is the lobby (and all its amenities and attributes) and the bar on the roof of the hotel, overlooking the Thames and Tower Bridge. We had a King Executive room, and despite the size implied by the title, it was small with nary a draw to put clothes. There was a (smallish) desk and not enough outlets. The style of our room would probably be labeled Scandinavian, for its sparse, simple, blond wood furnishings. Also, there are no outlets in the (smallish) bath to dry your hair and the mirrors in the main part of the room are for Hobbits. So, single or couple, this is a happening hotel. Families...look (or pay) for larger rooms--here or elsewhere. The buffet breakfast was great--big spread, lots of choices. The location, just steps away from the Tower of London is close to a tube station to travel to other points in the City.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel for the size of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear 'mickey91'

Thank you for your review on trip advisor following a stay with your family. I'm sorry that you have felt that some families may wish to seek alternative places to stay due to a lack of storage space in this room. Our suites would offer more storage space should this be desired, or we do offer interconnecting rooms which many families choose to reserve when coming to our hotel. Perhaps this is something you would like to look into if ever you are planning a future stay in London, I hope there is an opportunity to welcome you back to the DoubleTree!

In the meantime if I can help to answer any questions or queries please contact me anytime.

Thank you for your praise of our lobby and the Skylounge, we do see these areas of the hotel as being key design features of our building and I'm delighted this had made a lasting impression on you!

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Truly exceptional hotel for the price range. staff were attentive and courteous, Breakfast was very good. very large bed, apple tv/computer in the room was a very welcome addition, room was a lot smaller than you would get at a Hilton, and there was no bath in the room, but that did not detract from a great hotel, the bathroom was very good for size. Skybar is worth a visit for the views, it weighed in at £54 a round for 6, but I couldn't grumble because of how the bar is situated. I suggest you go for a visit soon after you check in, it does give you the feeling that you have arrived in London. I do suggest that you try to go to breakfast earlier rather than later 7am was great..8am was busy.. 9am was very busy. but it looked as if most people were seated quickly.. we paid £135 per couple per night inc breakfast.. at that price it represented exceptional value for money. but I wouldn't have been disheartened if it was nearer £200..REALLY GREAT STAY

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your amazing comments, it is great to hear that you found your stay to be of excellent value and you could not fault our Skylounge for its views and general 'wow' factor!!

I hope there are opportunities to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Tower of London in the future and please let us know if ever we can be of any assistance.

Thank you once again for the great feedback!

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in London
#80 Romantic Hotel in London
#93 Luxury Hotel in London
#116 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London -Tower Of London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.