We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London) (City of London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #126 of 1,073 hotels in London
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed at the Doubletree Sat to Mon 23-25 March 2013. Upgraded to Executive Room, which I had to pay additional £60 for. Room size was disappointing for an executive room, bathroom was miniscule, but hey, how long do you stay in the room and bathroom for ? Both rooms spotlessly clean, bed very comfortable as was the temperature in the room. Only gripe ? Wretched iMac tv, took me an age before I discovered where the on/off button was, trying to use the computer was horrendous, i gave up. Maybe easier for teenagers and computer geeks, but for a 45 y/o no interest in computer bloke, bloody frustrating lol. As other travellers have commented, queue for breakfast on Sunday was enormous, i didn't try, went to Cafe just up the road and had a perfect breakfast for £6.85. I did have dinner in the City Cafe on Sunday evening which was very quiet, excellent fish and chips (have eaten here before, as I work round the corner, so the food is always good), only three other people in the dining room. Headed off to the Sky Bar for a drink which during the week is always crowded with city boys, but Sunday evening, lovely and quiet, bar staff were entertaining and very friendly. Overall, weekend was very comfortable despite the appaling "Spring" weather, this hotel is very close to Tower Hill tube and Fenchurch Street station, if you like quiet times, choose this place for a weekend when my office and others are closed. Thankyou Doubletree.

Room Tip: I had 10th Floor executive room, 1017 nice view over the "Gerkin" and if you craned your n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,457
    902
    222
    56
    30
See reviews for
326
1139
93
621
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Tucked away, the Hotel provides you with a welcoming feel as you arrive. The attentive staff make check in smooth and then provide you with a warm cookie. The rooms are finished to a good standard with the provision of an IMac with keyboard and internet access in everyone room. The location is perfect to travel around London and then come back to a comfortable room. Breakfast does create a small problem with so many people trying to get into a restaurant that is just not big enough. The high amount of American guests means the food is slightly adapted with a little too much sugar. Overall though a fantastic Hotel and would stay there again. Book early to get the discounts.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratmalana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Me and my mom stayed in this hotel for 4 days during the third week of March 2013. It was a good hotel with a very pleasant service. Rooms were clean and spacious (better than usual European standard). Each room is fitted with an Apple iMac. It was convenient for me as I had some official work and printing jobs to do. (You can print and collect the print out from the reception desk). There was a problem in the heating system in our room which arose suddenly. They fixed as soon as we informed and they politely apologized regarding the mishap.
Location wise its very convenient since the Tower hill metro station is very close by (2 min walk). If you are intending to go shopping, this area is not a major shopping area but you can access to those shopping areas quite easily.
The major attraction close by would be "The Tower of London" which is a 5 min walk from the hotel. The hotel has a good guest services desk which guides tourists. They were very helpful in solving our problems regarding London tours and shopping. The hotel has a major restaurant and a lounge. If you intend to have something less costly, then just next door you have the natural kitchen which serves good food. Also if you are considering to have a sandwich or a wrap, a Pret a Manger outlet is nearby. the hotel restaurant (Cafe Che) is good but expensive. In room dining has a good variety and the food is very tasty, though the only point which I dislike is charging 5 pounds as service charge, even for a pot of tea (If you want to have a cup of tea you can have it from the lobby area which is worth).
Overall its a very good hotel with a very pleasant staff who are very courteous. They gave 3 welcome cookies for me and my mom which was nice (and my mom loved it!!). We reserved from the official website itself. I recommend to check it often since the prices fluctuate and you might be lucky to grab on a good price or offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just returned from a over 40's girlie weekend, the Double Tree is a 2 minute walk from Tower Bridge tube station. On arrival we were seen to very quickly and staff very helpful. Rooms are great, with tea coffee facilities etc. The skyline bar has superb views but for 4 cocktails it was £54! But I suppose that is quite normal in London. The Wetherspoons pub was a 2 minute walk away as was the Proud Caberet club. Tower Bridge and the Tower of London are about 4 minutes away.
Would recommend a stay at the Hilton as everything is within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the DoubleTree Tower of London while on vacation and found it to be an excellent choice. While the location may not be optimal for vacationers due to its location in the financial district (meaning many of the pubs and restaurants are closed on the weekend) it is so conveniently located to Tower Hill tube station, as well as the Tower of London and Tower Bridge attractions. The staff are exceptional. My husband fell ill while in London and the staff made an appointment for him at a nearby walk-in clinic. They were always so helpful in finding us a place to eat, etc. The rooftop bar is fantastic. I only wish the weather had been better so we could have enjoyed the outdoor space. Breakfast each morning was more than sufficient. They had not only traditional British offerings but your standard American fare of eggs, hashbrowns, etc. The rooms are spacious as far as European hotel rooms go, with a very comfortable bed, room for luggage and to store clothes, etc. The bathroom is a tad small but very nice with great water pressure. Overall it's a wonderful property with great staff and very convenient location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here in February. My first experience of Double Tree. I was pleasantly suprised. The hotel has a very nice style to it which gives it a comfortable feel. My wife was impressed by the warm cookie on arrival - I'm told by a fellow frequent traveler that these are always given on arrival. Good start!
The rooms are a good size for the price. I have stayed in several hotels in London and by most standards of the same price this is a big room. Apple device on the desk for internet and TV. We didn't use the hotel for breakfast as it didnt seem great value. When we left to head out in the morning at 09:00 on Sunday we were very glad we had chose to go elsewhere. The queue for breakfast was absolutely crazy. My advice is, if staying over a weekend, get there early!!
There are a few bars and restaurants near the hotel too. We had a snack and drink in All Bar One which was just round the corner. Very handy.
We will probably stay here again next time we come to London.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here last week to celebrate our 20th anniversary. I had emailed in advance to let them know and to tell them we would love a free upgrade if one became available but this was not acknowledged when we got there (but was worth a try) The room was spotless and the shower was fab. There was complimentary water in the rooms and tea and coffee. Location was great and just around the corner from the tube. The Wetherspoons around the corner was ideal for cheaper drinks and food and bustling on Friday night. Would stay here again :-)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in London
#84 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Luxury Hotel in London
#107 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, LondonMarketing.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London -Tower Of London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.