We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London) (City of London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #165 of 1,050 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
crawley uk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

stayed here for the weekend ,Checking in took far too long ,There was a queue of 6 people waiting to check in with 3 desks open but what seemed to make it worse ,There were 5 male members of staff hanging around the other end of the desk chatting ,A few people commented on this .When we got to our turn,Check in was quick and efficient .
The room was on the 7th floor and was fairly small but clean,we did laugh at having to hunt for the tea/coffee which was hidden in a draw. There was a safe in the room which was good.Bathroom with shower only was lovely .
It was only a few minutes from the tube station and very close to The Tower of London
As Hilton Honors gold members we were very impressed with complimentary bottle of wine in our room ,also complimentary water and breakfast which was one of the greatest buffets I have had . Everything you could ask for and more !
Only one small minor moan that the air con was very noisy .it sounded like a small jackhammer going off in the distance .All in all we would stay again ,Impressive

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,805
    1,179
    301
    69
    39
See reviews for
398
1,441
116
826
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sintra, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Travelling in tour from Scotland, when we arrived at the hotel, we were pleased by the most funtastic cookie we haver tasted ! Simply delicious ..
Very nice rooms with a MAC - my son didn´t want to leave the room ever ....
Excellent breakfast.
Very good location with tube tube nearby which is important.
Recomend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you don't mind staying in the financial district where things shut down early this is a really nice hotel and a good value for the money.

This was a very good hotel except for the lack of consistent water temp in the shower - pressure was fine but the temp kept changing throughout the shower. I didn't have this trouble at other hotels but they were in different parts of town. I stayed at the hotel b/c it was close to where friends of mine were staying. I was there to sight see and tour and it is very close to a tube stop and the Tower of London. However, everything (shops, drug stores, etc..) pretty much closes at 6:30 during the weekdays and are closed on weekends. I had to use the hotel for pretty much everything. The restaurants are fine but nothing special and the roof top bar really hops.

With that said, the hotel is really nice, large rooms for Europe, clean and the bathroom is spacious for UK hotels. I liked the Mac in the room that you could use for a computer and a TV - however, you could not watch TV and be on the computer at the same time if you wanted - small thing.

Also - the concierge were a bit spotty - some were extremely knowledgeable and others knew nothing - the 2 on duty at 9:30 on a Friday night had no idea where Stonehenge was and had never heard of it.....really! The morning concierge was extremely friendly and knowledgeable and hooked us up so it ended well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I booked a room in this hotel for two nights for my partner's birthday, and can't praise the place enough. Upon check-in, we received the usual treatment (cookie etc.) and then were shown to our gorgeous room.
I paid more than I normally would for this kind of hotel, but I was really pleased.
The rooms are immaculate and staff can't do enough to help. I'd happily recommend this place to anybody wanting a decent hotel in the heart of this amazing city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Last weekend we stayed in this lovely hotel near Tower Bridge, a part of London that we hadn't been to before. Quite by chance we realised it was located near Trinity House where some scenes from Skyfall had been filmed but also has a connection to Hull and personal connections to my family history.
Our coach driver checked us in within 5 minutes and he was able to hand out room keys to each of us in the party. The fastest check in for this annual trip ever! Check out was just as easy.
The hotel was lovely, immaculately clean, excellent facilities in the room, the breakfast each morning was a delicious buffet style with lots of choice and all of it was extremely fresh. The staff had the turnround of tables down to a fine art so we never had to queue before being seated.
Our 5th floor room faced into a quadrangle, above us the skies of London, below us views through the glass ceiling into the reception area of the hotel. The room was very quiet and I slept better than in any other hotel I have stayed in in the capital.
It is an ideal location to explore London, the tube station is a short 2-3 min walk, Spitalfields, St Pauls, Tower Bridge all within easy walking distance.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure whether there was a pool or spa, we go to London to shop and see the sites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here for a London weekend and was totally impressed with this recently refurbished and re branded hotel. Check in was very efficient and large, quick lifts soon delivered us to the fourth floor. Room large, clean and comfortable with a huge bed, decent sized bathroom and decent fridge. The nearest tube station is a very short walk from the hotel, but, if you like walking, the riverside or cannon Street / St. Paul's walks will take you into the centre of London in just over half an hour. Borough Market is again within walking distance. Breakfasts were plentiful if a little frantic (everyone arrived at once) and a 'must' is the 12th floor bar and terrace, with fantastic views out over the city at night. Highly recommended and will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in late October enroute from Western Canada to South Africa.

This hotel has been reviewed many times on this forum and I don't expect to be able to add anything significant that has not been picked up before. A few idle comments though:

The hotel honoured my Hilton Diamond status with a room upgrade, free breakfasts, complimentary drink at the Skybar and most usefully, a late afternoon checkout on my last day in preparation for an evening flight.

No complaints at all on my part - the hotel is clean, quiet and comfortable.

As a tourist though, I found the hotel to be somewhat off the beaten track (aside from the Tower), and after a while, the 20 to 30 minute ride on the subway to get to the West end became a little tedious.
Also, while there are eateries and pubs in the nearby vicinity including a Pret, a Starbucks, a Pizza Express, an American smoke house, a trendy "organic" bistro on the premises and a French fine dining establishment, not to mention a number of pubs, the selection is a lot less than you would find in say Kensington.

In summary: No question I would stay here again if I came to the City on Business. As a tourist/shopper?-- possibly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in London
#102 Romantic Hotel in London
#127 Luxury Hotel in London
#131 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London -Tower Of London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.