We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down hill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel London West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel London West to your Saves list
Novotel London West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Shortlands | Hammersmith International Centre, London W68DR, England (Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #482 of 1,065 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Going down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Good central location but the rooms are in a shocking state. Unfortunately I have to stay here because of work but I would never waste my own money on this establishment. Expect poor room hygiene, cigarette burns on the furniture and your bed with grubby bedclothes with dubious stains. The TV does not work properly and you get terrible reception if you are brave enough to touch the grimy remote control. Tiny gym for the size of hotel. If you could see out the filthy windows there is no view. It is a good central location which is what they are trading on but otherwise they obviously have given up caring about service, cleanliness and their guests. Expect bad attitude at the restaurant, generally poor service and you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want a good room stay somewhere else. If you dont have a choice then ask for a room on the ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLondonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London West, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I was sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations whilst staying with us.

I believe that the issues you have encountered have been dealt with internally and once again I would like to apologise in regards to your experience.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at the Novotel London West in the near future.

Best regards,


Audrey Sablery
Guest Relations Officer
Novotel London West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    916
    437
    162
    75
See reviews for
633
432
169
504
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almeria, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Unless you are clairvoyant, I cannot recommend that you should stay here. The problem is postal or couriered deliveries - if you are expecting one and ask for it then maybe, OK. But if you are not expecting anything you certainly will not receive it at this Novotel as, to quote Guest Relations "we have over 600 rooms so how can we be expected to advise guests? It is kept by Security for collection." Would a message left in the room be too much to expect considering they charge top dollar for third class service?

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardHobson, Director of Sales at Novotel London West, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for the review you left on TripAdvisor.

Unless I'm very much mistaken, your particular complaint has been dealt with separately.

Regards,
E HOBSON

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Near the tube and restaurants and that's it.

The rooms are worn and the a/c does not work well.

The second morning we got up to find we had NO towels and housekeeping did not answer the phone. The front desk contacted them and they came up-- with ONE.

Today we got back to the room at 5 and it had not been touched. I would not stay here again except we are on a tour and will be returning.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLondonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London West, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for your review in regards to your stay at the Novotel London West.

I am sorry to read that you encountered an issue with one of our department and I would like to confirm you that I will ensure your comments to be taken into serious consideration.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to provide you with a genuine hassle-free stay.

Best regards,


Audrey Sablery
Guest Relations Officer
Novotel London West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for one week while my husband worked and I toured. Lovely lobby, very helpful and excellent staff, whose English is sometimes not full. After seeing the first room they gave us, I asked for a change hoping that the new room would be better. It wasn't. The rooms are old, need updating and the air conditioning does not work well. The promised WiFi does not work consistently. House keeping is only basic and will not even take wine glasses that were brought from the restaurant. In fact, the housekeeping manager argued with me about that and would not believe that the trash had not been taken out the day before. Only 3 drawers in the room for unpacking. Best thing is that the hotel is very close to the tube for travel downtown. Would definately Not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLondonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London West, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback in regards to your stay at the Novotel London West.

I would like to apologise for the inconveniences you have encountered and recall meeting you in person in order to propose you another bedroom as the first one did not match your expectations.

Should you have reported those issues to the Front Office or the Guest Relations departments, we would for sure have been delighted to assist you.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in order to provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Best regards,


Audrey Sablery
Guest Relations Officer
Novotel London West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Not my first time staying at the Novotel although it has been a couple of years since my last visit. The hotel is well located in Hammersmith with plenty around in the area to keep you occupied day and night. The underground station is very close so easy access into London too. The hotel itself has a pleasant reception and the staff on the front desk very polite and worked quickly to get me checked in. The room was very comfortable, clean and well appointed. The food in the restaurant was okay but I felt it should have been better considering the price.
All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardHobson, Director of Sales at Novotel London West, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Further to the review you placed on TripAdvisor, I wanted to thank you for the feedback therein.

We've worked very hard on the product and our service delivery over the last four years and I'm delighted to see from your review that that work now seems to be paying off in the form of happy guests; our raison d'etre.

Thanks again for your feedback, it's very easy to critisise so we're all delighted to hear such positive comments as yours - very many thanks.

Kind regards,
E HOBSON

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Spent the first week here during my stay in Europe and not impressed at all. It was not the 4 star hotel that I expected. Windy and heavy raining, we arrived the hotel at eight o’clock in the morning and waited two hours for the first room “allocated” to us on the 7th floor.
We carried our four pieces luggage to walk the long, long, very long way down the hall,and found the room with only one bed. So we returned to main floor and told the reception that what we reserved was a twin bed room. The staff said,” you can use the sofa.” If we only stayed one night, I would consider to compromise; but it was not fair to have my husband to sleep on the sofa for the whole week…So we had to wait …the second room I got was in fact not available. When I opened the door with the card, I found the light was on, someone’s luggage were opened on the floor, there were drinks on the table, and some one was in the washroom. Then we had to go through the long long hallway and toke the elevator again and back to the reception with our luggage…(What else that bothered me was the fact that before you checked out, other people could enter your room that easy…) After all, it took more than 5 hours for the check in. We were starved and exhausted. The staff was not happy, me too.

So, we got our room with twin beds at a lower floor. The room was quite dark, but you couldn’t pull the curtain for natural light, unless you didn't care about your own privacy. Behind the huge windows there was a huge, ugly “court yard” outside. Lots of dated cigarettes on the floor outside the window…. and a warning note on the wall to remind guests to “make sure the door is shut”…(Not to mention the door, we worried about the window more…)
To conclude, it was an unforgettable experience …This hotel was big but not organized, reception and porter not helpful, security issue, computers downstairs were greasy and full of finger prints (from the kids) on the screens, quality of food in the restaurant inconsistent, beds in the room were ok, but the carpet was filthy, fancy but poor design of shower and sink in the washroom (good looking but not working well)…
What a pity. A place supposed to be great in such a good location…

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the court yard if possible. Higher floors better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardHobson, Director of Sales at Novotel London West, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Madam,

Further to the review you placed on TripAdvisor, I wanted to offer you the following response.

While we're obviously sorry to hear that you didn't have an enjoyable stay, it's difficult for us to accept responsibility for some of the issues you experienced.

We will of course do everything possible to facilitate an early check-in but our guaranteed check-in time is 2pm. Offering access to rooms earlier than that is largely dependent on the movements of outgoing guests. It's also hard for us to apologise for having long bedroom corridors. As I'm sure you know we are a large property and the configuration of the floors requires some long corridors to access all the guest rooms.

With regards to the cigarette butts and condition of the iMac computers, we try to encourage considerate behaviour but ultimately cannot be held responsible for the actions of other guests. We are an entirely no smoking property but regrettably some people choose to ignore that policy and the supporting UK legislation and will still smoke in their rooms and may dispose of the butts via the window to avoid the following fine. Likewise it's difficult for us to be held accountable for the state that other guests leave the communal computers in despite our best efforts to clean them as often and as thoroughly as possible.

I should however apologies for you being checked in to an occupied room - I will take that up with our Rooms Division Manager to understand how it came about and I thank you for advising us of that issue.

Yours sincerely,

E HOBSON
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Rooms have absolutely no sound insulation so f your neighbour gets up at 5.30 then so do you. This happened 3 out of 3 nights for me.

Beds are basically travel cots. Uncomfortable.

Wifi doesn't reach all rooms.

Film service freezes every few minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLondonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London West, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and I would like to apologise if we were disturb by your neighbours. Should you have called the Front Office, I am sure they would have been delighted to report it to the Security in order to assist you.

I am sincerely sorry that you found our beds not comfortable. I am sure you can appreciate that it is very hard to fulfil all clients’ requirements as each single person has different demands in regards to the bed they sleep in. I would like to apologise once again if the mattress did not feel comfortable to you.

I would like to inform you that from July, we do offer a Wi-Fi connection free of charge in the public areas and all the bedrooms.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,


Audrey Sablery
Guest Relations Officer
Novotel London West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel London West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London West

Address: One Shortlands | Hammersmith International Centre, London W68DR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in London
#291 Luxury Hotel in London
#329 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London West 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for easy access to all of London’s key business districts as well as historical, cultural and social attractions, Novotel London West is also conveniently close to Heathrow airport and has excellent road and rail links to the rest of the United Kingdom.This large, modern hotel offers guests a selection of different dining options as well as an extensive fitness centre, secure on-site parking, business services and meetings and events facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel London West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London West Hotel London
Accor London West
London Novotel
Novotel London West England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel London West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.