We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rembrandt

Save Saved
You added The Rembrandt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Rembrandt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 1,075 hotels in London
Northampton
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Rembrandt Hotel is ideally located directly opposite the V&A museum and a very short walk from South Kensington tube station, making it as ideal base for a visit to London. The decor, ambience and staff manner match a 4* hotel (my only small criticism being that everybody I spoke to had a very strong accent making it a little harder to follow what they were saying). The small room we stayed in was nicely decorated and well equipped. The letdown here was the very thin walls and the very noisy sounds coming from the air conditioning unit (a loud drone every 5-10mins) which resulted in a poor night's sleep. The restaurant was empty! But the service therefore was excellent and the food was top notch (although with a hefty price tag reaching over £100 for 2 x starters, 2 x mains, a dessert and 2nd cheapest bottle of wine on the menu).

Room Tip: Possibly just our room that had the noisy air conditioning unit but worth mentioning if causes a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear sarat17
Thank you for your mainly positive review of The Rembrandt. Like you , we believe that our location is ideal and our guests can walk to either South Kensington or Knightsbridge underground stations, as well as enjoy all of the local museums. I am pleased that you feel our décor and ambience was suitable to a four star hotel and that the staff also provided appropriate service. Belatedly, I can only apologise for your noisy air conditioning unit, it should not drone and result in a poor nights sleep. Our staff are multi-lingual which is a great asset, as our guests, are international and we can usually provide a native speaker to offer assistance and to translate. I do hope you would consider returning to The Rembrandt and I would personally oversee your bedroom allocation to ensure you receive a comfortable room with quiet air-conditioning.
Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    604
    706
    143
    75
    33
See reviews for
228
598
77
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Located in South Kensington, a very short walk from both the underground station and a small pedestrian area with various cages and resteraunts. Right across the street from V & A. The location can't be beat and although the rooms are just above average, I won't stay anywhere else in London.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear MaximumBunt
Thank you for your positive review of The Rembrandt and I am delighted to note that we are your London Hotel of choice and that you would not stay anywhere else! Situated in between Knightsbridge and South Kensington undergrounds our guests can also easily navigate around the capital by bus or London Taxi. Exhibition Road has recently been pedestrianised and we now have an abundance of restaurants, cafes and bars to suit all tastes and budgets. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Excellent customer service, fabulous location and lovely rooms. My husband and I spent a super long weekend at The Rembrandt, the location is convenient for museums, shopping and transport and the level of customer service is excellent. My only disappointment was the room service food in terms of quality and value for money. However, breakfast was fabulous and the service at breakfast was both attentive and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear ThailandBabe
Thank you for your excellent review of The Rembrandt and for awarding us top marks! I am delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us in our fabulous location. We are so lucky to be in such a great area, directly opposite the Victoria & Albert Museum with an abundance of major attractions close at hand, not to mention the amazing shopping in Harrods and Harvey Nichols. I am pleased that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and that we provided excellent customer care. I do hope you and your husband will be able to stay longer on your next visit and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Rembrandt.
Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a lovely hotel in the perfect location for a quick visit to London. All the staff were helpful, polite and well presented. Breakfast was included and was very good with a wide choice. Free use of the next door Gym/swimming pool and free WiFi (normally costly extras) were very welcome. The only downside was our room (Superior Double) which was really small but the hotel is in one of the best locations in London so shouldn't expect everything and we were at the back of the hotel so not troubled by the main road traffic noise. Thank you to all the staff and we would book here again if we came into town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear shoelady61
Thank you for taking the time to review The Rembrandt following your quick visit to London. I am so pleased that your overnight stay with us was so enjoyable. Buffet breakfast is included in all of our rates and complimentary WiFi is available in our bedrooms and throughout our public areas. I am delighted that our staff were helpful, polite and well presented, I will ensure that your comments are shared with the team. Like you we believe that we are in the perfect location, as there are a number of attractions close by and we also have great transportation links with the rest of the capital. Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.
Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felbrigg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here together, it was a truly magical trip.The Victoria and Albert Museum was directly across the road from our room.We were blessed with the view and the balcony.The room rate was very competitive we had room service and breakfast both were excellent.I admit it was a little noisy but this is to be expected as our room faced towards the main road, I didn't mind as I was too busy people watching.We had a great stay and I would recommend this hotel to all our friends and of course to youxx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Shoozee
Thank you for your fantastic review of The Rembrandt and I am delighted that you and your husband had a magical trip. We are extremely lucky to have such an amazing location and a number of our bedrooms do have stunning views of the Victoria & Albert Museum. We also have a number of London’s top tourist attractions on our doorstep, Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History and Science Museums to name but a few. I am pleased that you found the hotel competitively priced and that you enjoyed our service and facilities. Thank you for awarding us your perfect score and for your endorsement and high recommendation. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a decent hotel in an absolutely great location, situated virtually across the road from the entrance to the fabulous V&A museum (the world's premier museum of art and design), and a few minutes walk from both the Science Museum and Natural History Museum. A stretch of the legs a little further will take you through Imperial College London, the Royal Albert Hall and into Hyde Park. The hotel entrance is also just a short stroll from Harrods. This is a fabulous location for a great weekend in London (whatever the season) and equidistant from these excellent resources, all of which are free admission. Our favourite of these is the V&A, which deserves at least half a day (and many return visits), with the building itself being a work of art, in addition to the eclectic and beautiful collections on display there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Nimitta
Thank you for your positive review of The Rembrandt following your recent stay. Like you, we also love our location and think it is absolutely great. Situated between South Kensington and Knightsbridge Underground Stations we also have great transportation links with the rest of the capital. Directly opposite the Victoria & Albert Museum some of our rooms have fabulous views of this beautiful building. The Natural History and Science Museum are both only minutes away and if you decide to stroll in the opposite direction your will discover Harrods and Harvey Nichols. Exhibition Road has recently been pedestrianised and the local vicinity now offers an abundance of restaurants and cafes, plus al fresco dining. Hype Park can be reached within ten minutes so we really do think that we have it all! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, loved our location especially all of the delights that the V&A has to offer. I do hope you will consider returning to us again.
Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel whilst attending a concert at The Royal Albert Hall. It is very convenient and no more than 10mins walk. Nicely situated in Kensingto and lots to do and see in the surrounding area. Street cafe's etc. Hotel is a very typical London hotel. Supreme room was more like a large wardrobe, barely enough room to get around the bed let alone swing a cat. Ensuite was big enough for a small child. Not quite my interpretation of supreme. Breakfast was very average with standard boring fare being offered. Waiting staff seemed to to nothing but argue with each other in various laguages other than english. Probaly would look for alternatives in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Vernon C
Thank you for taking the time to review The Rembrandt following your recent stay. We are ideally situated opposite the Victoria and Albert Museum and a pleasant 10 minute walk from the stunning Royal Albert Hall. The surrounding area is fabulous for cafes, restaurants and bars. Exhibition Road has recently been pedestrianised which is great for visitors and also helps with al fresco dining!! As we are not a purpose built hotel all of our rooms do vary in size and shape, I am sorry that your Superior Room was small, if guests are unhappy with their bedroom allocation we will always do our best to offer an alternative. Breakfast is the busiest meal of the day and is therefore, the meal from which we receive the most comments, invariably positive. I am sorry that your experience was not good, this is most unusual as the staff are usually complimented for being fast, efficient and friendly. I would happily oversee your next reservation and bedroom allocation to ensure that you receive a larger room and bathroom, please feel free to contact me directly. I do hope this will allow you the opportunity to return especially as you enjoy our fantastic location.
Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in London
#144 Luxury Hotel in London
#166 Business Hotel in London
#173 Romantic Hotel in London
#190 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London
The Rembrandt London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rembrandt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.