We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have been staying here for over 25 years!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rembrandt

Save Saved
You added The Rembrandt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Rembrandt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 1,073 hotels in London
Boston.England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We have been staying here for over 25 years!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

As we like long weekends in London this hotel provides a good location near tube stations and the centre.

We went to a carol concert at the Royal Albert hall just before Christmas, third year running, and the hotel is within walking distance.

Harrods is just up the road and is a comfortable walk from the hotel.

It is a good four star hotel with excellent service for this level of hotel.

We have always found the price very reasonable for London if you book early enough.

The breakfast is superb and varied.

We like the atmosphere and the decor is inviting.

I like to drive to London and always warn that I wish them to park my car when we have unloaded the luggage.


In the main this has not been an issue.

We will certainly return this year.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room and an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    524
    620
    131
    64
    32
See reviews for
242
606
78
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Rembrandt for one night as it was so convenient for The Albert Hall. The hotel was very clean and of smart appearance. The Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was of an adequate size and tastefully furnished. However the bed was very soft and the TV was slow to work. The bathroom only had a shower which was a bit disappointing as I would have liked a bath. The breakfast was reasonable but no porridge was on offer. The hotel were able to offer gluten free bread as I had requested, however it was inedible! For one night it was fine as the location was brilliant and there was hardly any traffic noise. Not a bad experience overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We did not stay in the hotel and after our restaurant experience may feel reluctant to do so. Upon arriving in London we decided to have coffee in the lounge at the Rembrandt hotel. The service was excellent, the lounge comfortable and well appointed so we decided we would return for lunch - BIG MISTAKE!!!! Although, again service excellent, lunch delicious and beautifully presented (congratulations to the Chef), the lunch was spoiled by some of the most unruly, noisy children that I have encountered. I have young nephews and nieces and although their parents are professional people they would not allow such behaviour in their workplace.

I can only assume that the children had some connection to the hotel owners as I cannot imagine that their behaviour would be tolerated under any other circumstances. They ran, continually screaming, around the tables, the dining and lounge area, with little or no intervention from the parents. On times we could barely hear each other speak. This behaviour continued for the whole lunch period and ruined, what would otherwise have been an enjoyable lunch.

The hotel owners should be made aware of this, as we were not the only people who were commenting on their behavior.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were thrilled with the Rembrandt. From North American standards, the rooms will seem small, but it is lovely. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the room was clean and nice. The breakfast is fantastic too. We absolutely love the location - right across from V&A, quick walk to Hyde park, short bus to Oxford Street and Central London. Many terrific restaurants all around the hotel. If we return we'd try to stay there again. We had a "free hotel" deal from British Airways. Had we had to pay full price, not sure we could have afforded the Rembrandt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile


My husband booked our first ever trip to London together as a surprise for my 30th! We stayed in Feb this year. We were very excited especially as the website for the rembrandt looked very nice!

The location for the hotel is spot on! Everything you want n need on your doorstep!

Unfortunately we weren't too impressed with the hotel itself! Whilst it is clean n well presented in the reception area n bar area our room was nice but basic! We booked to stay in a double executive room. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. The pillows were far too high n hard for the bed n on the second night I had to sleep with no pillow at all because I had suffered a really bad back from the night before. The bed also seemed very small - both my husband n I feet were hanging over the bottom n we are both 5 foot 6! To say that this was our weekend away from our two babies I think I got more sleep at home than I did here!

Upon our return home I emailed the general manager of the hotel to make him aware of our dissatisfied stay n that I had suffered a bad back due to their beds n I have not received any response whatsoever - a simple acknowledgement would have sufficed!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just got back from London with 2 teenage boys. This location was great. The boys had their own room and we were across the hall. The rooms are kept very clean, breakfast is adequate and convenient, and the location is the best. Minutes to tube station, across from the V & A, and Natural History, close to Harrods and on the Piccadilly line from Heathrow if you care to use it. one night the boys swam in the adjacent health club. Wireless in rooms also. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for one night. Greeted warmly at reception by friendly team. Stayed in Junior suite. Comfortable bed, quiet. Jacuzzi bath- be careful do not use bubble bath!. Good quality of complimentary toiletries, tea and coffee. Bar area lovely, real fire fire, excellent service, Rose wine highly recommended!. Breakfast good value, only down side the single toaster, to be found on many hotels here and abroad! Please add another toaster or two. Overall perfect stay for V&A Museum, Kensington etc. Thank You to all staff x

Room Tip: We stayed in Junior Suite , larger room, excellent facilities, room view not great as backs onto bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in London
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
#173 Business Hotel in London
#176 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London
The Rembrandt London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rembrandt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.