We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, well priced, 4 star hotel in the perfect location in London!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rembrandt

Save Saved
You added The Rembrandt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Rembrandt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 1,072 hotels in London
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic, well priced, 4 star hotel in the perfect location in London!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at our favourite hotel, The Rembrandt which is opposite the Victoria and Albert Museum. This is the description on the hotel website:

‘The Rembrandt is a spectacular Edwardian building with timeless ornate architecture. Situated in the heart of Knightsbridge it has a great location for both leisure and business travellers. Perfectly positioned to explore the local area, The Rembrandt is only a 5-minute walk from South Kensington station, which has great access to all the large mainline stations. With the V & A Museum right opposite, the Natural History Museum and the Science Museum only a 5-minute walk away, it is perfect for culture. World famous Harrods and Harvey Nichols are only 10 minutes away for those who want to do a bit of designer shopping’.

That really does sum this hotel up. It is a beautiful hotel that is perfectly positioned in a museum and shopping area. It also has great staff, lovely rooms and a great bar that does really good cocktails and the breakfast is very good. I can especially recommend the mushrooms. I am not sure precisely how they are cooked but they are fabulous. It also has a health club with swimming pool and jacuzzi for just £6.50 extra each per visit. There is a beauty salon in the club so you can indulge yourself with a treatment. It really is the perfect relaxing bolt hole right in the heart of one of the best areas of London. We go up to London 2-3 times a year and always try to stay there if we can and have been very disappointed when it has been unavailable and we have had to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms and one away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    522
    611
    131
    64
    31
See reviews for
238
602
78
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Rembrandt Hotel on Saturday 9th February and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel cannot be faulted in terms of its location, literally minutes from South Kensington Tube Station and less than 10 mins walk to Harrods. We arrived early @ 12 noon but our room was ready and we found the staff both pleasant and very helpful.

Our room was v.nice, lovely comfortable queen size bed and nice and clean. Only slight downside was that the bathroom was a bit small, it was basically a shower room. Having said it was perfectly adequate and the shower was nice and hot.

Good breakfast in the morning, would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Compared to London standards this is quite a good hotel. Rooms have good size and have been recently refurbished.
We were offered an upgrade, slightly bigger room with Jacuzzi bath and king size bed.
Staff was helpful and friendly.
Location is really good, walking distance to South Kensington station, just in front the Victoria Albert Museum. Walking distance also from Harrods and Knightsbridge station.
Plenty of restaurant/bars in the nearby, the right mix between touristic area and residential area.

Room Tip: I was given I think the prestige - slightly bigger, but I booked a Superior. As usual rooms on high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We arrived about 12-15, even though you cant book in until 2pm we were told our room would be ready in 20 minutes which it was. The room was very well furnished the bathroom had luxury toiletries and robes and a spar bath we were in room 447 which was described as executive double. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the conceiarge knew everything from bus timetables to theatre reviews. the breakfast was excellent with a fantastic range. The south Kensington tube staition is a short distance from the Hotel as are the museums, Harrods is a 10 minute walk away, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were close to the lift but never heard it once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is extremely reasonably priced (in London terms) for its location, facilities and quality. The b&b rate was considerably less than other similar looking hotels and we were pleased with our choice. An executive double room was certainly more than adequate with an extremely comfortable bed, a whirlpool bath with separate shower in the en-suite, a decent sitting area with a table large enough to have dinner at, and ample hanging space in the wardrobe. It was nice to also have a proper ironing board in the room and the free wi-fi was useful (if a little 'hit and miss' in terms of the connection).

Breakfast was buffet style and was really very good. The staff seemed efficient and attentive. Only small quibble was with housekeeping which was perhaps not as good as it could have been, and we were left with only one towel after our room was serviced!

Overall, however, a really good price for a very good hotel. Would recommend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We paid £149 for a double executive room, breakfast for two and access to the spa. Great value considering the location close to Knightsbridge shops and the big three museums. Staff were friendly, decor was fresh. The room was a decent size, well equipped with a decent bathroom (including a whirlpool bath). Breakfast was good too.

It would be hard to beat the value offered at The Rembrandt.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is well located in west London near the museums and close to South Ken tube station. Helpful reception, rooms are comfy, breakfast has everything you want.

Only one niggle on arrival I requested an early call and newspaper as I signed in - neither arrived!

Room Tip: no tip to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in London
#139 Luxury Hotel in London
#168 Family Hotel in London
#170 Business Hotel in London
#171 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Venere, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London
The Rembrandt London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rembrandt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.