We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a little uninspiring” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rembrandt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Rembrandt to your Saves list
The Rembrandt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off Best Rates
Ranked #226 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Just a little uninspiring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I think the hotel's best feature is it's location,right opposite the V&A which I visited to see the brilliant Hollywood Costume exhibition.
I asked for a room at the rear or side of the hotel as I am a light sleeper,the hotel is situated on a very busy main road.There is a taxi stand right outside,Harrods is 10 minutes walk.
The bedroom was clean and comfortable, a bit "corporate" ,not much style.
Breakfast was a buffet type,but pretty average,packets of cereals and not much in the way of fresh fruit ,a bit uninspiring.
I was mildly bemused by a member of staff and their colorful use of language,(others might not have been) and it is not a very professional attitude Also they seemed to start vacuuming/ maintenance in the corridors around 8am,no good if you want a lie in.
I am going to mark an average 3 for this hotel .I will not be returning .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    652
    137
    67
    37
See reviews for
261
635
80
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

First of all they should clone the staff, all of them, and put them in every other Hotel in the world, then staying at any Hotel would be a real pleasure! I can not praise them enough, curteous, helpful, friendly and professional. The room was very comfortable and the bed was like sleeping in my own. The breakfast is the top standard for other Hotels of the same star rating, or what they ought to be! All in all really good experience and when in London I will now never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Good hotel in a fantastic location looking to harrods! Wow. Great prices with international friendly staff who are nothing but helpful. I have stayed here several time and will always stay here when in london. No parking, this is the only down side but saves in the 50 pounds every other hotel seems to charge. Good buffet breakfast and always an upgraded room if they can.

Fantastic place

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our third visit,room was clean and comfortable though a little noisy this time ( room 161 1st floor )
Breakfast spot on,a good start to the day.Staff were helpful and friendly,ideal for V & A and other museums.South Kensington tube very close,and also lots of good local places to eat.Not sure about the £50 debit payment taken,just in case we used the mininbar ( which we didn't ) now have to wait to get it back.Would we stay again? yes!

Room Tip: Rooms on or around 161,first floor can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hotel is in an ideal location for getting around London. Bedroom was clean and modern, bathroom bit of a squeeze but we managed. My husband said best cooked breakfast he has had in any hotel we have stayed in (which have been many). Free internet very welcome and hotel was lovely and toasty warm which was needed due to the inclement weather

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The Rembrandt is in a great location for west London, shopping, museums and Albert Hall. Stayed for two nights with my partner. Check in staff friendly, our deluxe room had a great king size bed, large bathroom and seating area. The room was clean and modern. We have stayed before and the hotel has had a nice refurb.

The bar and lounge area is large and comfortable, the waiting staff polite and helpful, bar snacks were good quality as was the High Tea. We didn't take dinner or lunches in the hotel, breakfast was of a good standard self service. As the hotel is a popular tourist hotel you may have to wait for a table for breakfast, no big deal, but if you have to head off for a meeting plan ahead and get in early.

Overall a nice stay, would stay again if I needed to be in the area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

everything was perfect, from the room, its interior, facilities and fast free internet! however, i believe the front desk staff should be more courteous, alert and asked guess first instead the guess has to wait a little to approach. they should smile more often too :), look very serious. anyway, that was just a small part only, no big deal..but it's nice right to smile and approach guess, so that we know that we were feel like home and welcomed. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in London
#159 Romantic Hotel in London
#164 Luxury Hotel in London
#166 Business Hotel in London
#227 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London
The Rembrandt London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rembrandt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.