We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Great Location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Columbia to your Saves list
The Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95-99 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #543 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Great Location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Columbia Hotel, at Lancaster Gate, is my regular hotel in London, it is situated close to Hyde Park and within walking distance of Marble Arch / Oxford Street and central London. The rooms are clean and well furnished, with ensuite facilities. Even though the busy Bayswater Road passes the Columbia, the rooms are reasonably quiet at night. I would undoubtedly recommend the Columbia Hotel to my friends, family, and business partners.

Room Tip: Most rooms are fine, yet as the Columbia Hotel is quite an old building, some room floors tend to ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    235
    158
    40
    25
See reviews for
118
163
35
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I used this hotel after the me I had booked into conveniently didn't have a record of my booking!

Overall, it was a beautiful building, spotlessly clean with great staff. The rooms and bathrooms and very old fashioned but the location out weights this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago and found it to be spacious, pleasant and good value for money with pleasant staff and in a really good area too! I've stayed in a lot worse places for a lot more money

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Having tried several 3 and 4 star hotels in central London for my business trips I have now found a 2 star that I will be returning to time and time again. The rooms may be old fashioned, (especially the bathrooms), but the room rates are extremely attractive, especially considering many have views of Hyde Park, and if you prize clean and charming over high class, modern and expensive then try this hotel. The staff are also very friendly and helpful. The clientele seemed to be a real mix, lots of tourists, families as well as business travellers. Even a couple of rock bands on tour! The only thing I can say against it is that it would be nice to have internet access in the bedrooms, but there is WIFI in the downstairs public areas and they don't charge for it so I happily completed my work in the bar. Lancaster Gate tube station is just a 3 minute walk, and Paddington took me about 6 minutes. One of the ladies on Reception also advised they were on a bus route that runs between Oxford Street one way and Westfield SHopping Centre the other.. the perfect location for my next London shopping trip!

Room Tip: I like a quiet room, I was located on the 3rd floor with a view of a quiet road. The front has love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

The Columbia is an average budget hotel situated in the convenient and relatively pleasant area of Bayswater.

Don't expect a high standard of decor or facilities but, if you're looking for a basic, functional place to spend a couple of nights, then this hotel will probably suffice.

Rooms have clearly been squeezed into this hotel wherever there was a little spare space. I had a single room on the 2nd floor and this was in the centre of the building up a small, narrow flight of stairs to a sort of mezzanine level. The room itself was also on two levels with a narrow staircase down from the bathroom to the small sleeping area. This was fine for me but access would be impractical for anyone who couldn't easily climb stairs. If you do struggle with stairs then I would definitely check this before booking.

The decor throughout the hotel was tired and faded and the bedroom was no exception. That said, everywhere seemed clean and functional. The bathroom was dated and basic but sufficient, although the shower was fixed at a height of around 5'6", making it rather awkward to use for anyone taller.

Staff were reasonably efficient - although not especially friendly - and there was no WiFi in the bedrooms (although limited coverage was provided in the public lounges).

This hotel's biggest asset is its location. Situated just a 3 minute walk from Lancaster Gate underground station, it takes only a few minutes to travel in the heart of London's West End.

All in all, a basic but serviceable hotel in a decent location and at a sensible price.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed for one night. I Will book again when I am back in London. Dont book expecting a corporate type hotel, but for the price it is in a good location and nice enough.
If you are arriving at paddington railway station the hotel is a 8 to 10 minute walk through pleasent streets. The hotel is situated opposite Hyde Park, if you dont want to walk (Marble Arch is only 10 minutes walk away) bus stops are outside, giving easy access to central shops and attractions. An underground (tube) station is 5 minutes away at Lancaster Gate. The hotel has a large foyer with reception area, staff were friendly and helpful. plenty of rooms across 4 floors. some of the decor and carpets are showing their age but dont let that put you off. Rooms are clean and large enough to have either a twin / double bed, dresser, chair, wardrobe TV, tea and coffee making facilities and ensuite bathrooms. Hotel also has a nice lounge, a small bar which also serves snacks and a spacious breakfast room. Tea, coffee, fruit juice, breads and toast are all included in the price, if you require more it can be purchased per individually priced items. A large secure luggage room can be used to leave cases if required. Good food, beer, wines and atmosphere is available at the nearby Mitre pub in Craven Terrace. I did not notice any air conditioning. Ideal budget hotel, better than many in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Hyde Park and on a higher floor. you will get a view through the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We chose this hotel due to price, after reviewing similar cheaper hotels in the area.
It worked great for us for one night. The room on the 4th floor was not somewhere to spend a long time. It was clean and had an ensuite bathroom, coffee and tea maker, and a small TV.
The previous reviews say the hotel is tired, and this is correct. The rooms and corridors are not modern.
Our rate included full English breakfast. This had many choices including poached haddock or smoked mackerel! The breakfast room and bar are probably the nicest parts of the hotel.
I found the staff very friendly. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our roof room on the 4th floor had a small round window without a view.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columbia

Address: 95-99 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #543 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel overlooks Hyde Park & Kensington Gardens; minutes from Queensway restaurants & shops; easy access to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your The Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbia Hotel London
Columbia Hotel London
Columbia London
The Columbia London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.