We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, and reasonably priced for London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of London Marriott Hotel Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added London Marriott Hotel Kensington to your Saves list
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW5 0TH, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi + Late Checkout
Ranked #294 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“great location, and reasonably priced for London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I've stayed here at least a dozen times before, and stayed here again for four nights on my first visit to London in four years. I love this place. The rooms are fairly large for London and I've always found them very comfortable. The soundproofing is very well done -- though the windows in my room open to the lobby and its atrium, which faces very busy Cromwell Road, I never heard even a whisper of noise. The breakfast buffet is good and I found the staff very friendly and helpful.

The location is hard to beat. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Natural History Museum, Science Museum, and Victoria and Albert Museum. It's a few minutes walk from the Gloucester Road Tube station on the Picadilly Line, which makes it very easy to get here from Heathrow (no change of trains needed) and to get anywhere in London.

You can walk to dozens of restaurants off Gloucester Road or Earl's Court Road. There's also a large Sainsbury's grocery store across the street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    401
    146
    52
    23
See reviews for
191
311
69
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

First time staying at this Marriott Location. Upon entering, the reception was warm and appealing. Very courteous & professional staff.They made me feel welcom from the start. The hotel is also nicely situated down the street from Harrod's - roughly a mile walk. It's also within walking distance to the National Olympia Hall. A nice Conference Venue. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Exectuve Room with a Kong bed. This room is NOT your typical European zie room. Plen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is very close to lots of shopping and restaurants as well as 2 tube stations. My room had a bathroom with both a shower and a tub and double sinks. I had 2 double beds along with a couch and coffee table. The room was much larger than a typical London hotel. this would be perfect for a family with many sleeping options. It is within walking distance of Harrod's, the V & A, and Kensington Palace. The workout area isn't huge but again, better set up than most hotels in the city. I will stay at this hotel whenever I am in London, even though it is farther away from my work site as it is convenient to everything else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012, rooms are nice and adequately maintained. Hotel is in a good location to the museums being 10-15 minute walk away and being close to Gloucester Road tube station. There is a Sainsbury's supermarket opposite. Breakfast was very expensive and so we didn't manage to try it. Got a good deal of £60 plus taxes on Priceline so would recommend if you could get it for this rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights over the Christmas and New Year and absolutely loved it! Family of 4, with 2 kids. We upgraded to an Executive Suite and got breakfast included. Room had 2 queen beds. Staff were very nice and friendly. Hotel room was clean and service was excellent. Breakfast could do with some sprucing up. They had the same stuff every morning. Pancakes were too hard. Muffins could be varied. The best thing was that we could get complimentary alcoholic drinks from 5.30 to about 10 pm! The worst thing was we couldnt get the kids out of the nice room! Aw well, we had a wonderful stay and thank the staff for making it so! Excellent location - we saw the fireworks near the London eye from our 8 th floor room! Subway or tube is just steps away and there is a Sainsbury and Starbucks across the street.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I can't comment on a stay at this hotel, although years ago we did stay here and it was fine. My three friends and I ate lunch here on Saturday and found it to be a very disappointing experience.
We all ordered clam chowder. Well, there was not a clam in site. It seemed to have been made with double cream rather than fish stock. There was no taste of curry. There were lots of bacon bits full of fat and bone. I ordered Philly and steak, thinking it would be Philadelphia cheese. Imagine my surprise at processed cheese slices. There was a mix up over our 3 for 2 vouchers, which was sorted amicably in the end. The restaurant was cold. The waitress only managed to pour water into three out of four glasses. Come on Marriott- this is not your usual high standard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here on a trip to the UK for New Year - 5 nights. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from Gloucester Road tube station along Cromwell Road. Earls Court station is actually closer but a more complicated walking route.

The area is good for many reasons - reasonably convenient for the museums, including the V&A Museum which is less than a mile away. Hyde Park is fairly close for a morning walk and you can hire cycles from the park entrance (the stand is part of the 'Barclays Bicycle Hire' system). Also, there's a supermarket almost opposite the hotel itself, and a wide variety of cafes and restaurants nearby. It's a nice area for a stroll.

The service is excellent (usually!). Last time we came, maybe 2 years ago, the check-in guy was very helpful suggesting local places to go, without having to be asked. We assumed he was just a compulsively chatty person, although we got the same thing this time from someone else. Perhaps it's some Marriott thing, but anyway, they were very personable and friendly. We were impressed.

The rooms were nice, modern, although this time a bit smaller than the last time even though we paid more. I guess there is a certain 'luck of the draw' involved.

The facilities were OK, but could be improved a little. The lobby PC crashed every time we tried to print boarding passes, so the front-desk staff helped out with their own PC. Still, they seem to have some strange system running on the guests' lobby PC that isn't so reliable. WiFi speed was OK but it's slightly pricey.

The only thing that annoyed us when we arrived was it took a very long time to get checked-in. One of the front desk staff was dealing with some quite involved problem, and no-one opened another check-in. We waited. Soon there were three people at the concierge desk, and no-one thought to come over or call anyone. I went over and tried to get their attention. They were deep in conversation. After some initial patience, then a few very obvious attempts to make eye contact with passing staff, finally another staff member happened by and helped out. That's the one hint for the staff - if someone's waiting, don't assume someone else is dealing with it, check. And if you're the busy one on the front desk, and see others waiting, call someone.

Still, that glitch in the service excepted, service was good.

Room Tip: Away from the lift is a good idea, and probably a higher floor is better. Some floor 2 rooms look di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to London Marriott Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Kensington

Address: 147 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW5 0TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Family Hotel in London
#209 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Business Hotel in London
#240 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott Hotel Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Marriott Hotel Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.