We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, larger than average rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of London Marriott Hotel Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added London Marriott Hotel Kensington to your Saves list
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW5 0TH, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #304 of 1,059 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, larger than average rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is very close to lots of shopping and restaurants as well as 2 tube stations. My room had a bathroom with both a shower and a tub and double sinks. I had 2 double beds along with a couch and coffee table. The room was much larger than a typical London hotel. this would be perfect for a family with many sleeping options. It is within walking distance of Harrod's, the V & A, and Kensington Palace. The workout area isn't huge but again, better set up than most hotels in the city. I will stay at this hotel whenever I am in London, even though it is farther away from my work site as it is convenient to everything else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlmerril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
112 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012, rooms are nice and adequately maintained. Hotel is in a good location to the museums being 10-15 minute walk away and being close to Gloucester Road tube station. There is a Sainsbury's supermarket opposite. Breakfast was very expensive and so we didn't manage to try it. Got a good deal of £60 plus taxes on Priceline so would recommend if you could get it for this rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty17r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights over the Christmas and New Year and absolutely loved it! Family of 4, with 2 kids. We upgraded to an Executive Suite and got breakfast included. Room had 2 queen beds. Staff were very nice and friendly. Hotel room was clean and service was excellent. Breakfast could do with some sprucing up. They had the same stuff every morning. Pancakes were too hard. Muffins could be varied. The best thing was that we could get complimentary alcoholic drinks from 5.30 to about 10 pm! The worst thing was we couldnt get the kids out of the nice room! Aw well, we had a wonderful stay and thank the staff for making it so! Excellent location - we saw the fireworks near the London eye from our 8 th floor room! Subway or tube is just steps away and there is a Sainsbury and Starbucks across the street.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I can't comment on a stay at this hotel, although years ago we did stay here and it was fine. My three friends and I ate lunch here on Saturday and found it to be a very disappointing experience.
We all ordered clam chowder. Well, there was not a clam in site. It seemed to have been made with double cream rather than fish stock. There was no taste of curry. There were lots of bacon bits full of fat and bone. I ordered Philly and steak, thinking it would be Philadelphia cheese. Imagine my surprise at processed cheese slices. There was a mix up over our 3 for 2 vouchers, which was sorted amicably in the end. The restaurant was cold. The waitress only managed to pour water into three out of four glasses. Come on Marriott- this is not your usual high standard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherStowmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here on a trip to the UK for New Year - 5 nights. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from Gloucester Road tube station along Cromwell Road. Earls Court station is actually closer but a more complicated walking route.

The area is good for many reasons - reasonably convenient for the museums, including the V&A Museum which is less than a mile away. Hyde Park is fairly close for a morning walk and you can hire cycles from the park entrance (the stand is part of the 'Barclays Bicycle Hire' system). Also, there's a supermarket almost opposite the hotel itself, and a wide variety of cafes and restaurants nearby. It's a nice area for a stroll.

The service is excellent (usually!). Last time we came, maybe 2 years ago, the check-in guy was very helpful suggesting local places to go, without having to be asked. We assumed he was just a compulsively chatty person, although we got the same thing this time from someone else. Perhaps it's some Marriott thing, but anyway, they were very personable and friendly. We were impressed.

The rooms were nice, modern, although this time a bit smaller than the last time even though we paid more. I guess there is a certain 'luck of the draw' involved.

The facilities were OK, but could be improved a little. The lobby PC crashed every time we tried to print boarding passes, so the front-desk staff helped out with their own PC. Still, they seem to have some strange system running on the guests' lobby PC that isn't so reliable. WiFi speed was OK but it's slightly pricey.

The only thing that annoyed us when we arrived was it took a very long time to get checked-in. One of the front desk staff was dealing with some quite involved problem, and no-one opened another check-in. We waited. Soon there were three people at the concierge desk, and no-one thought to come over or call anyone. I went over and tried to get their attention. They were deep in conversation. After some initial patience, then a few very obvious attempts to make eye contact with passing staff, finally another staff member happened by and helped out. That's the one hint for the staff - if someone's waiting, don't assume someone else is dealing with it, check. And if you're the busy one on the front desk, and see others waiting, call someone.

Still, that glitch in the service excepted, service was good.

Room Tip: Away from the lift is a good idea, and probably a higher floor is better. Some floor 2 rooms look di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjb1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
260 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The Marriott Kensington is a very good example of a hotel within the group.
Overall service was good, the front desk team were very friendly and helpful.
Hotel very clean and well looked after.
Very comfy beds and love the soft pillows.
Bathroom a little dated, although there was a great supply of towels.
Bar area nice, although as you would expect a bit on the pricey side.
Good location as we were going to the Royal Albert Hall which was walkable from the hotel.
Overall very good and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Found a great deal on this hotel and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is located in a lovely part of Kensington and close to many attractions including Hyde Park. In less than 10min you can walk to the Tube station...can't beat that.

All-in-all, this is a great hotel with an ideal location, the rooms were clean and the staff was helpful. I'd return to this hotel should my travels take me back to London.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SL1NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Kensington

Address: 147 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW5 0TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in London
#216 Luxury Hotel in London
#221 Romantic Hotel in London
#225 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott Hotel Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing