We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel close to the museums” 4 of 5 stars
Review of London Marriott Hotel Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added London Marriott Hotel Kensington to your Saves list
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW5 0TH, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #323 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Ashford, Kent
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very good hotel close to the museums”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012, rooms are nice and adequately maintained. Hotel is in a good location to the museums being 10-15 minute walk away and being close to Gloucester Road tube station. There is a Sainsbury's supermarket opposite. Breakfast was very expensive and so we didn't manage to try it. Got a good deal of £60 plus taxes on Priceline so would recommend if you could get it for this rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    345
    127
    50
    21
See reviews for
158
270
62
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights over the Christmas and New Year and absolutely loved it! Family of 4, with 2 kids. We upgraded to an Executive Suite and got breakfast included. Room had 2 queen beds. Staff were very nice and friendly. Hotel room was clean and service was excellent. Breakfast could do with some sprucing up. They had the same stuff every morning. Pancakes were too hard. Muffins could be varied. The best thing was that we could get complimentary alcoholic drinks from 5.30 to about 10 pm! The worst thing was we couldnt get the kids out of the nice room! Aw well, we had a wonderful stay and thank the staff for making it so! Excellent location - we saw the fireworks near the London eye from our 8 th floor room! Subway or tube is just steps away and there is a Sainsbury and Starbucks across the street.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I can't comment on a stay at this hotel, although years ago we did stay here and it was fine. My three friends and I ate lunch here on Saturday and found it to be a very disappointing experience.
We all ordered clam chowder. Well, there was not a clam in site. It seemed to have been made with double cream rather than fish stock. There was no taste of curry. There were lots of bacon bits full of fat and bone. I ordered Philly and steak, thinking it would be Philadelphia cheese. Imagine my surprise at processed cheese slices. There was a mix up over our 3 for 2 vouchers, which was sorted amicably in the end. The restaurant was cold. The waitress only managed to pour water into three out of four glasses. Come on Marriott- this is not your usual high standard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba Prefecture, Japan
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here on a trip to the UK for New Year - 5 nights. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from Gloucester Road tube station along Cromwell Road. Earls Court station is actually closer but a more complicated walking route.

The area is good for many reasons - reasonably convenient for the museums, including the V&A Museum which is less than a mile away. Hyde Park is fairly close for a morning walk and you can hire cycles from the park entrance (the stand is part of the 'Barclays Bicycle Hire' system). Also, there's a supermarket almost opposite the hotel itself, and a wide variety of cafes and restaurants nearby. It's a nice area for a stroll.

The service is excellent (usually!). Last time we came, maybe 2 years ago, the check-in guy was very helpful suggesting local places to go, without having to be asked. We assumed he was just a compulsively chatty person, although we got the same thing this time from someone else. Perhaps it's some Marriott thing, but anyway, they were very personable and friendly. We were impressed.

The rooms were nice, modern, although this time a bit smaller than the last time even though we paid more. I guess there is a certain 'luck of the draw' involved.

The facilities were OK, but could be improved a little. The lobby PC crashed every time we tried to print boarding passes, so the front-desk staff helped out with their own PC. Still, they seem to have some strange system running on the guests' lobby PC that isn't so reliable. WiFi speed was OK but it's slightly pricey.

The only thing that annoyed us when we arrived was it took a very long time to get checked-in. One of the front desk staff was dealing with some quite involved problem, and no-one opened another check-in. We waited. Soon there were three people at the concierge desk, and no-one thought to come over or call anyone. I went over and tried to get their attention. They were deep in conversation. After some initial patience, then a few very obvious attempts to make eye contact with passing staff, finally another staff member happened by and helped out. That's the one hint for the staff - if someone's waiting, don't assume someone else is dealing with it, check. And if you're the busy one on the front desk, and see others waiting, call someone.

Still, that glitch in the service excepted, service was good.

Room Tip: Away from the lift is a good idea, and probably a higher floor is better. Some floor 2 rooms look di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The Marriott Kensington is a very good example of a hotel within the group.
Overall service was good, the front desk team were very friendly and helpful.
Hotel very clean and well looked after.
Very comfy beds and love the soft pillows.
Bathroom a little dated, although there was a great supply of towels.
Bar area nice, although as you would expect a bit on the pricey side.
Good location as we were going to the Royal Albert Hall which was walkable from the hotel.
Overall very good and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Found a great deal on this hotel and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is located in a lovely part of Kensington and close to many attractions including Hyde Park. In less than 10min you can walk to the Tube station...can't beat that.

All-in-all, this is a great hotel with an ideal location, the rooms were clean and the staff was helpful. I'd return to this hotel should my travels take me back to London.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting London. We were flyihg to Dublin, and this required going to the subway/tube before people were up. The consierge rolled both our suitcases 4 blocks down tthe main road with us so we could get to the airport on time. That was totally above normal expectations. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Marriott Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Kensington

Address: 147 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW5 0TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Family Hotel in London
#215 Luxury Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
#292 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott Hotel Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Marriott Hotel Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.