We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'A good example of a Marriott hotel'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of London Marriott Hotel Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added London Marriott Hotel Kensington to your Saves list
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW5 0TH, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #296 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
257 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“'A good example of a Marriott hotel'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The Marriott Kensington is a very good example of a hotel within the group.
Overall service was good, the front desk team were very friendly and helpful.
Hotel very clean and well looked after.
Very comfy beds and love the soft pillows.
Bathroom a little dated, although there was a great supply of towels.
Bar area nice, although as you would expect a bit on the pricey side.
Good location as we were going to the Royal Albert Hall which was walkable from the hotel.
Overall very good and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    426
    150
    54
    23
See reviews for
205
322
72
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Found a great deal on this hotel and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is located in a lovely part of Kensington and close to many attractions including Hyde Park. In less than 10min you can walk to the Tube station...can't beat that.

All-in-all, this is a great hotel with an ideal location, the rooms were clean and the staff was helpful. I'd return to this hotel should my travels take me back to London.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting London. We were flyihg to Dublin, and this required going to the subway/tube before people were up. The consierge rolled both our suitcases 4 blocks down tthe main road with us so we could get to the airport on time. That was totally above normal expectations. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainhill
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel over the weekend 14th to 16th December, 2012. Unfortunately my wife took quite seriously ill and we had to seek urgent medical assistance. The reception staff were most helpful and pointed us in the right direction for this medical aid. Our room was also cleaned earlier than scheduled in order for my wife to avoid being disturbed and our check-out time was extended without charge (fortunately not required).
My wife has now fully recovered.
Many thanks to the staff who on a number of previous visits have always been courteous and attentive.
Alun (and Lucy) Williams .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Booked this hotel at a very reasonable price, for being London that is, online with Marriott.
The hotel is located in Kensington close to a lot of nice attractions and shopping with museums and hyde park close by.
If you have been to London before and want cozy surroundings and good shopping as well, take the tube to Turnham Green and walk down to Chiswick High Road which has a lot of shops and restaurants.
If you arrive via Heathrow I would recommend using the the Piccadilly tube line. It will take you in to either Earls Court or Gloucester tube stations in aprox 35 minutes which is some 5 minutes away from the hotel. The best thing is the price though, 1,5 Pound Steerling or some 2,5 US Dollar. Thats a far way from the Heathrow Express at 30 Pounds or 49 US Dollar plus taxi.

Now to the hotel it self.

Good:

- Nice rooms
- Clean
- Good breakfast
- Some of the staff was very helpful

Not so good:

- Internet in the room at horrible cost
- Thin walls meaning lot of sound getting through
- Despite me getting the flew the day before we where going home we only got late check out until 1300 hours complimentary. After that they wanted 25 Pounds per hour.
- Some of the staff was not so helpful or nice

Being a Marriott you know what you get. But some details like internet charges and not being very accommodating when I was sick probably means that we will take our business elsewhere next time we visit London.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in, ask for a room that is far away from the rooms housekeeping staff are using...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in junior suite with decent amount of room, great coffee and decent extras, its 3-4 minutes to tube station. A cab to Heathrow can be had for 35-40 pounds which is a great deal, and the area is safe and easy to get around.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am a regular business traveller and am familiar with many of the hotels in West London. I frequently stay at the Marriott Kensington and it is without doubt the best hotel of its type in this part of London, and is clearly superior to all of the nearby competitors (Holiday Inn, Hilton, Crowne Plaza, Millennium etc). The rooms are always spotless and well-presented, with all the usual things that you would expect in a decent hotel room. The most important thing that sets this hotel apart from all the others, however, are the excellent staff, and in particular the reception staff, who are invariably friendly, cheerful, attentive and speedy; they really are a class above the staff I have met at all the other hotels in this part of London. The only thing that stops this being a five star review is the food in the bar, which is ok, but pretty pricy and limited in range.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor and mezzanine level rooms - they are not as good, and can be chilly in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia
Hotel Xenia
#102 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
South Kensington
The Parkcity
The Parkcity
#261 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Kensington

Address: 147 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW5 0TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#188 Family Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#227 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott Hotel Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Marriott Hotel Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.