We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of London Marriott Hotel Kensington

Save Saved
You added London Marriott Hotel Kensington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW5 0TH, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #321 of 1,073 hotels in London
Rainhill
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel over the weekend 14th to 16th December, 2012. Unfortunately my wife took quite seriously ill and we had to seek urgent medical assistance. The reception staff were most helpful and pointed us in the right direction for this medical aid. Our room was also cleaned earlier than scheduled in order for my wife to avoid being disturbed and our check-out time was extended without charge (fortunately not required).
My wife has now fully recovered.
Many thanks to the staff who on a number of previous visits have always been courteous and attentive.
Alun (and Lucy) Williams .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    295
    107
    40
    16
See reviews for
122
228
51
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Booked this hotel at a very reasonable price, for being London that is, online with Marriott.
The hotel is located in Kensington close to a lot of nice attractions and shopping with museums and hyde park close by.
If you have been to London before and want cozy surroundings and good shopping as well, take the tube to Turnham Green and walk down to Chiswick High Road which has a lot of shops and restaurants.
If you arrive via Heathrow I would recommend using the the Piccadilly tube line. It will take you in to either Earls Court or Gloucester tube stations in aprox 35 minutes which is some 5 minutes away from the hotel. The best thing is the price though, 1,5 Pound Steerling or some 2,5 US Dollar. Thats a far way from the Heathrow Express at 30 Pounds or 49 US Dollar plus taxi.

Now to the hotel it self.

Good:

- Nice rooms
- Clean
- Good breakfast
- Some of the staff was very helpful

Not so good:

- Internet in the room at horrible cost
- Thin walls meaning lot of sound getting through
- Despite me getting the flew the day before we where going home we only got late check out until 1300 hours complimentary. After that they wanted 25 Pounds per hour.
- Some of the staff was not so helpful or nice

Being a Marriott you know what you get. But some details like internet charges and not being very accommodating when I was sick probably means that we will take our business elsewhere next time we visit London.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in, ask for a room that is far away from the rooms housekeeping staff are using...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in junior suite with decent amount of room, great coffee and decent extras, its 3-4 minutes to tube station. A cab to Heathrow can be had for 35-40 pounds which is a great deal, and the area is safe and easy to get around.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am a regular business traveller and am familiar with many of the hotels in West London. I frequently stay at the Marriott Kensington and it is without doubt the best hotel of its type in this part of London, and is clearly superior to all of the nearby competitors (Holiday Inn, Hilton, Crowne Plaza, Millennium etc). The rooms are always spotless and well-presented, with all the usual things that you would expect in a decent hotel room. The most important thing that sets this hotel apart from all the others, however, are the excellent staff, and in particular the reception staff, who are invariably friendly, cheerful, attentive and speedy; they really are a class above the staff I have met at all the other hotels in this part of London. The only thing that stops this being a five star review is the food in the bar, which is ok, but pretty pricy and limited in range.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor and mezzanine level rooms - they are not as good, and can be chilly in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel is of usual Marriott standards. Good beds, excellent breakfast. I stayed in this hotel several times. I like its proximity to great South Kensigton museums and the quieter end of Hyde Park. Albert's Hall is also nearby.The location is also good for higher end shoppers. Harrod's, Harvey Nichols, Burberry are a short walk away. A lot of reasonable restaraunts are nearby. One tip - I would not recommend eating in Cromwell Road restaurants. Much more selection and better restaurants are close by in Earl's Court and Old Bromptoon Road. Cromwell Rd itself is busy and not very attractive. The area between it and Hyde park is much nicer. The one drawback I can think of - the hotel used to have swimming pool and sauna. They were closed this time - supposedly for renovation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

stayed there with few colleagues in Oct 2012. There was no hot water for 2 days in a row. I was shocked at the callous attitude of the management - "we are aware of the situation" is what they said repeatedly. They were charging 200 pounds per day !! There was no apology from the management, other than a letter on the day I was leaving. I was expecting the management to personally call me as I fell sick due to cold water baths

I DO NOT recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is a find. Near the tube, bus stops and museums. Look for discounts on line.

The staff is very helpful. A Tesco is across the street. Very clean. Numerous sites in walking distance. Earl's Court tube stop has lifts.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Marriott Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Kensington

Address: 147 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW5 0TH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#206 Family Hotel in London
#214 Luxury Hotel in London
#292 Romantic Hotel in London
#328 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Kensington 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott Hotel Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Marriott Hotel Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.