We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice, great location and cheap.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Strathmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Strathmore Hotel to your Saves list
Grange Strathmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Queens Gate Gardens, London SW7 5NB, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #467 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Swindon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So nice, great location and cheap.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Really nice hotel. 2 minutes from the tube and central west London anyway. Was given a family room instead of double. Room was massive, clean and great shower. Bed was really good and comfortable. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    190
    97
    62
    30
See reviews for
66
171
38
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on my way to the Netherlands from New Zealand. My experience was utterly outstanding, from the helpful and friendly staff serving me coffee in the lounge at tiny jet lagged hours of the morning, to the reception staff making me feel totally welcome. Great location and a warm hotel in the bitter winter days of London. I truly could have stayed for weeks. I have booked a few nights on my return journey and cant wait!

Room Tip: Book this Hotel if you like well maintained English History
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We went to a 3 day Conference to Imperial College in London therefore we chose Grange Strathmore hotel for our stay. The location was excellent, the conference venue, the metro stations, cafes, bars, restaurants in walking distance + quiet, nice neighbourhood. The hotel lobby and breakfast room reminded us of aristocratic times, rooms are nice, modern but a bit small. The only negative remaks we had was the incredible wifi cost 10£/24h!!!!But service in general + breakfast was very nice, thanks to the Hungarian hostesses, especially Réka was very kind and helpful! We had a great time thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed there with my boyfriend on a pre-Christmas vacation for a week. We liked the hotel very much because it was perfectly located, in a luxurious area of London. Harrods is just 15min walk away. Hotel is 5 min walk from metro station. I liked the style of the hotel - it is so English. The breakfast was good and pretty enough. The room was small, but we liked it. The bed was very comfortable and we had a bathroom, not just shower. It definitely made our holiday special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed the experience. The hotel is charming, even classy, the staff are all nice efficient smiley people who do their utmost to accommodate our groups various requests. The continental breakfast was more than adequate and the bar is a fine place to start, or indeed end an evening with a nightcap and surprisingly the drink is not overpriced. The location of three minute walk from Glouceter Road tube station makes it a fantastic base for most of Londons sigts on the Picadilly or District lines. It is also a direct tube from Heathrow. The reason I am not awarding 5 stars is that the bedrooms are on the small side, We were apparently upgraded to a superior room but it was still pretty small, the bathroom however was fine and the shower was excellent.

Room Tip: get a room at the back of hotel, it is really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stopped here for the night Jan 2013 and the initial impressions were good. The dining room and lounge bar are well appointed and the reception efficient, as were door staff.
The lift is tiny however, it says max 5 people, this would be a struggle, perhaps 3 unless you like playing sardines with strangers.
We had a larger room, contary to other reviews, this was ample in size, the TV could have been sited on the wall opposite the bed but apart from that there were no complaints.
The breakfasts were fine if expensive, fresh ground coffee and pastries amongst other things, there is an option of full english fresh cooked if preferred.
Looking at the floor plan which was in our room, there are some tiny rooms so beware and check before you go however we enjoyed our time here, its well sited for nearby restaurants so we ate out in the evening.

Room Tip: Confirm room size on booking, some are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My friend and I visited London for a long weekend and stayed 3 nights at the Grange Strathmore. Judging by the earlier reviews, we were a bit unsure as what to expect, but we turned out to be pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is located in a nice part of town, overlooking a quiet square and a side street to the busy Cromwell Road. The short walk to Gloucester Road tube station, the Post Office and local shops made this an ideal location, and you have the museums in Exhibition Road quite close by. The hotel itself is the former city residence of the Earl of Strathmore, which lends the beautiful, narrow terrace house a special flair. The conversion to a hotel appears to have been undertaken with a genuine respect for the historical building, keeping original features like windows and interior details. Our room looked to have been recently renovated; everything was very up-to-date with a beautiful bathroom.

The only drawback I find worth mentioning is something that in fact applies to most inner city London hotels: the rooms are small. We had booked a "Superior Double", but I must admit that the size wasn't quite as superior as I had in mind. The corridors are narrow and the elevator nearly claustrophobic, but this is of course the result of keeping with the original building's floor plan. All in all it's no big problem; we slept well and the room was fine, staff was friendly and helpful. However, if a spacious room is your top priority, you might want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street or square
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Strathmore Hotel

Address: 41 Queens Gate Gardens, London SW7 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#284 Luxury Hotel in London
#368 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Strathmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grange Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Strathmore London
Hotel Grange Strathmore
Grange Strathmore Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Strathmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.