We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stanley House to your Saves list
Stanley House
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 1RB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #646 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

nice hotel located in a superb spot of this incredible city. rooms are quite small, but the place makes diff er ence! brackfast (continental or English) is enough and we definitively loved to stay there for a week. I suggest for all the tourists who need hotel where spend a little time each day (this would be more than enough). Thanks for the max assistance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    211
    225
    84
    59
See reviews for
150
220
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very clean well located older hotel about 5 minutes walk from Victoria Station in London. Room was quiet and warm (it was very cold during our visit). The bath is very small but had a decent shower and was also clean. The breakfast was good and the staff very nice and had tea on the table very quickly. They were fine with serving either the full English breakfast or asking for just eggs and bacon or cereal. The area the hotel is in seems safe and quiet. We had an enjoyable dinner at a nice pub about a block up the street.

The hotel proprietor offered to watch our luggage for us our last day as we had most of the day to sight see before leaving, which I thought was very nice. Since we only had one small bag, we opted to carry it in order to be able to go directly to the airport without having to circle back. But I certainly appreciated the offer.

This hotel is not the Ritz, but it is clean, safe and very, very convenient to the sights of London. We did not even turn on the tv in the room as we were just too tired after our day, but there is a tv in the room.

Room Tip: There is not elevator at this hotel as it is in an older building. We were on the 3rd floor and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The location is excellent-right by Victoria Station. The room was large and the shower had excellent water pressure! Outdated carpets and furniture, but clean. Staff was friendly and the breakfast was tastey. Great place to sleep while spending loads of time exploring London.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Budget hotel with all the necessary services to cover all needs at a very low cost. The tarif includes a cooked breakfast that was very tasty. The room, which was on the first floor, was comfortable, and with a very nice view to Pimlico streets. There were a few restorants and take-aways nearby. We´ll definitely come back. We did spend a wonderful time!

Room Tip: According to some revews that we read, there are some rooms wich are on the basement floor that seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescara
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The building and and the rooms are aged, the rooms, my in particular, are small as the bathroom in it. The girls at the breakfast are very Nice even though there's no so many choise at breakfast.Rooms are clean. No lifts. The best feature of this hotel is the location, very close to Victoria Station and other many attractions of London

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very close to Victoria Station, therefore Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, or Brompton Rd. are within walkable distance. Even located directly on the main road, room was quiet. Nice neighborhood, with pubs, restaurants, even street cafes all around, and a big supermarket. Staff at check in was very nice and staff in breakfast room very polite and friendly. Cleaning staff does also. Room and en-suite shower with WC was a little bit dated, simple, but clean. English breakfast including egg, sausages, baked beans served at the table, a long with jam, butter and toast as well as tea or coffee and a glass of orange juice. Free Wi-Fi. All-in-all: 5 points for reasonable rate with great service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were booked into another hotel for New Years Eve who cancelled our booking without telling us! Stanley House offered us a basic room with shared bathroom for £60. For the money we paid (and it being New Year's Eve) we were very happy. Our room was basic but we had a view of Big Ben and the London Eye from our window - amazing! Didn't get a particularly good night sleep but that was the noisy guests/ door slamming and nothing to do with the hotel. Staff were very friendly! breakfast was nice and we would recommend for a few nights stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House

Address: 19-21 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 1RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #646 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stanley House 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stanley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel London
Stanley House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.