We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley House

Save Saved
You added Stanley House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanley House
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 1RB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #609 of 1,075 hotels in London
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Budget hotel with all the necessary services to cover all needs at a very low cost. The tarif includes a cooked breakfast that was very tasty. The room, which was on the first floor, was comfortable, and with a very nice view to Pimlico streets. There were a few restorants and take-aways nearby. We´ll definitely come back. We did spend a wonderful time!

Room Tip: According to some revews that we read, there are some rooms wich are on the basement floor that seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    282
    263
    91
    64
See reviews for
118
170
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pescara
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The building and and the rooms are aged, the rooms, my in particular, are small as the bathroom in it. The girls at the breakfast are very Nice even though there's no so many choise at breakfast.Rooms are clean. No lifts. The best feature of this hotel is the location, very close to Victoria Station and other many attractions of London

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very close to Victoria Station, therefore Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, or Brompton Rd. are within walkable distance. Even located directly on the main road, room was quiet. Nice neighborhood, with pubs, restaurants, even street cafes all around, and a big supermarket. Staff at check in was very nice and staff in breakfast room very polite and friendly. Cleaning staff does also. Room and en-suite shower with WC was a little bit dated, simple, but clean. English breakfast including egg, sausages, baked beans served at the table, a long with jam, butter and toast as well as tea or coffee and a glass of orange juice. Free Wi-Fi. All-in-all: 5 points for reasonable rate with great service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were booked into another hotel for New Years Eve who cancelled our booking without telling us! Stanley House offered us a basic room with shared bathroom for £60. For the money we paid (and it being New Year's Eve) we were very happy. Our room was basic but we had a view of Big Ben and the London Eye from our window - amazing! Didn't get a particularly good night sleep but that was the noisy guests/ door slamming and nothing to do with the hotel. Staff were very friendly! breakfast was nice and we would recommend for a few nights stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

You can't beat this place in terms of its location. It's a five minute walk to Victoria Station and within walking distance of many London attractions, ie. Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Harrods, as well as the theatre district. The first room we were in had a double bed crammed up beside the wall with about a six inch space between the other wall and the bed in which to negotiate your way to the incredibly tiny bathroom. The tap in the Barbie Dream Home sized sink wobbled and there was really not much space to even sit on the toilet. We moved into a better, although not by much, room on an upper floor which meant another set of stairs to climb. The breakfast was one greasy egg served with a suspicious looking sausage as well as a couple of pieces of toast that more closely resembled lightweight photocopy paper. The walls were flimsy and some hallway traffic could be heard, however, the neighbourhood itself was fairly quiet during the night. If you feel comfortable using the subway system (which is easy as pie), I might recommend staying a bit further out in order to get a bit more for your money.

Jo van Doorn
Ottawa, Canada

Room Tip: Try for a room with two single beds. You'll have more space to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We chose this hotel because we know the area quite well. It's just a very short walk from Victoria Station and has lots of pubs and restaurants nearby. Everybody we met at the hotel was polite and helpful. We asked in advance for a quiet room and they gave us a room downstairs that was exactly that. A good breakfast was included in the price and served by cheerful, efficient staff. I would certainly recommend it for its convenient location, its great staff and its value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at Stanley House over the Jubilee weekend and had a great room - very clean, great shower and good breakfast. We stayed again early Nov 2012 but were disappointed. The triple room we had was very cramped and the bathroom was a mess with dried paint everywhere and a window with no frosted glass. The net curtain had NEVER been washed and was just an oddcut which had been hacked at the bottom - in other words...a rag! The pillows were as flat as pancakes and a pile of newspapers would have been better to have laid our heads on! The noise of plumbing (and snoring) from other rooms was very loud as the walls are super thin. Great location near Victoria Coach, Underground and Rail stations but you wouldn't want to stay here if you had to spend time in your room. Not as good a 'value for money' stay as was earlier in the year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stanley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House

Address: 19-21 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 1RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #609 of 1,075 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stanley House 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Stanley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel London
Stanley House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.