We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prince William Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Prince William Hotel to your Saves list
Prince William Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   42-44 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #816 of 1,055 Hotels in London
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All in all ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

It's good value for the price, One cannot expect more for the money. It was perfect for a 4 days trip! My room (#55) was ensuite, tiny, warm and as it seemed renovated. The matrace was horrible, room cleaning didn't take place. Breakfast was buffet and ok for british...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    62
    98
    58
    130
See reviews for
46
119
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florence
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

the room was very clean as well as the bathroom; the only thing is that you have to regulate the heat if you want to have a little bit less of warm insie the room.
the location is perfect, very close to the underground station and the bus stop, and if you want to have a look around by walk it's very close to Hyde Park and Piccadilly as well!
the staff has been very nice and helpful, even we left the room at 1:30 am!
good value for a low price!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is a good hotel for anyone on a budget. It is located about 150 meters from Paddington train station and the Bakerloo line will take you into the middle of the West End in a couple of minutes. The rooms are clean and spacious enough. The shower is not suitable for a very large person. Bed was comfortable and I slept very well. The breakfast consists of juice cereal toast and cheese, probably what you would have at home yourself. You can also buy a hot breakfast but I stuck with the continental one, more healthy. The staff a very friendly and helpful. Not a hotel for a romantic getaway but a great one for a budget trip to London.

Room Tip: Get an on suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ok let's starts with the positives, the location was good few minutes for the tube and train station and good range of shops and restaurants. The reception staff was very helpful and polite but however it is less to be said about the breakfast staff were so miserable and blunt - I'm not sure if anyone wanna see miserable staff during breakfast! Lets face it's not a good start to a day! While we're on the subject of breakfast we paid extra £10 per person for a full English breakfast and we literary got a sausage, a bacon, an egg, baked beans (looked like it had been left on the side) and some tomatoes (tin tomatoes not fresh tomatoes)!
The hotel from the outside looked ok but once you're inside everything looked like its was about to fall apart! To be honest the hotel could do with some paint!
The room was was even more disappointing the bed feels like it will fall apart as soon as you turn and it squeek (I barely slept!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Small and old, but a nice hotel when you just need a place to sleep. Staff was helpfull and friendly. Breakfast was boring, but ok. Elevator was small, but working. My children said the beds were good, my bag hurt, but just becauce the madras was to soft. We would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

After reading all the 'never again' reviews, we decided to take our chances and book with this hotel. My partner and I aren't really fussy folk. We don't mind older places, bit run down so long as you can sleep, shower and the location is convenient. And this is kind of what this place offers (except I will say that the beds are probably the most uncomfortable beds I have ever experienced). The bed mattresses have no cushion in them whatsoever - you will feel the springs digging into your back. We had twin beds but my husband's bed was much better so maybe it's not every bed that is this bad. What I did though was put some spare blankets underneath to give myself a bit more cushion and that did the job. Slept much better after that.

On the plus side...the location is pretty good to get to and from the main attractions. The hotel is near Hyde Park which offers a great running track if you want some exercise in the morning, which was just such a nice thing to do. There is also an elevator (albeit small and slow) but at least it's got one. And there is complimentary breakfast downstairs. Everything you need - toast with butter, jam, orange/apple juice, coffee, tea. And the hotel is run by many Indians who were quite friendly and helpful we thought. And there's also free high speed wireless internet you can use in the lobby if you have an ipad, laptop, which is fantastic cause the Hilton in Amsterdam charged 15 euros for like one hour! So I would recommend this hotel as it's got some good perks on the proviso that you are not that fussed about certain things.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My room number was 45, located on the 4th floor. We stayed in this room for three nights. I book this room because of the price and location. Although most reviews say the hotel is not satisfactory, but I still book a room at this hotel because of its location and budget. With a heart full of doubt, we stepped into the hotel (entrance in Craven Road, not Gloucester Terrace) and we found the hotel lobby was clean, decorated and well-organized. They asked for a deposit 20pound for two people even the room was paid in full (we booked this hotel via olotel.com, please have your printed booking confirmation and payment confirmation with you). Size double room is OK, clean and fragrant (yes its smell good when you enter the room). Room were cleaned every day. Shower room and toilet are clean and have hot water. Only on our last day, the hot water was available late and we had to shower with cold water.

Bed throws were ugly (we fold them and keep in the cupboard and dont want to look at it) but the bed sheet was white clean. Internet is available for free in the hotel lobby only. Towels and basic amenities were provided. Kettle and complimentary tea and sugar and two glasses also provided in the room. TV and local television channels were also available.

It just, the walls are not soundproof, you can hear your neighbor talking and walking in the next room. Iron bed and spring mattress just like in a hostel, less comfortable but we were able to sleep soundly because we were tired. Like other hotels, it’s better to keep all personal belonging in a locked luggage. My wife lost her brand new body lotion; luckily all our valuables were kept in the locked luggage.

For us, the hotel and the room is quite appropriate to its price. Breakfast (bread, jam, butter, cereal, milk, coffee, tea, and juice) was ok, the dining area was clean and well-organized. Anyway, if you want luxury and have better budget, please check in to the Hilton hotel nearby.

Room Tip: Please ask for room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince William Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince William Hotel

Address: 42-44 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #816 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince William Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th century building with Georgian facade, modernized but retains originality - Near Paddington Station and West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Prince William Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince William
Prince William London
Prince William Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince William Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.