We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK not bad at all.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prince William Hotel

Save Saved
You added Prince William Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prince William Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   42-44 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #831 of 1,073 hotels in London
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“OK not bad at all.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My room number was 45, located on the 4th floor. We stayed in this room for three nights. I book this room because of the price and location. Although most reviews say the hotel is not satisfactory, but I still book a room at this hotel because of its location and budget. With a heart full of doubt, we stepped into the hotel (entrance in Craven Road, not Gloucester Terrace) and we found the hotel lobby was clean, decorated and well-organized. They asked for a deposit 20pound for two people even the room was paid in full (we booked this hotel via olotel.com, please have your printed booking confirmation and payment confirmation with you). Size double room is OK, clean and fragrant (yes its smell good when you enter the room). Room were cleaned every day. Shower room and toilet are clean and have hot water. Only on our last day, the hot water was available late and we had to shower with cold water.

Bed throws were ugly (we fold them and keep in the cupboard and dont want to look at it) but the bed sheet was white clean. Internet is available for free in the hotel lobby only. Towels and basic amenities were provided. Kettle and complimentary tea and sugar and two glasses also provided in the room. TV and local television channels were also available.

It just, the walls are not soundproof, you can hear your neighbor talking and walking in the next room. Iron bed and spring mattress just like in a hostel, less comfortable but we were able to sleep soundly because we were tired. Like other hotels, it’s better to keep all personal belonging in a locked luggage. My wife lost her brand new body lotion; luckily all our valuables were kept in the locked luggage.

For us, the hotel and the room is quite appropriate to its price. Breakfast (bread, jam, butter, cereal, milk, coffee, tea, and juice) was ok, the dining area was clean and well-organized. Anyway, if you want luxury and have better budget, please check in to the Hilton hotel nearby.

Room Tip: Please ask for room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    57
    93
    57
    128
See reviews for
41
114
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Good only if you're looking for a cheap place where to sleep and keep your things in central London.
Rooms are tiny, old, essential in furniture. No hairdryer. Bed uncomfortable, and noisy. My room was next to the elevator and the door would not close shut. I could hear people talking in the corridors all the time. I had no lavatory in my room only shower and a sink!
Poor breakfast. There's not even fresh fruit.
The hotel staff could hardly understand what I was saying and the Russian lady at the front desk welcomed me with a: "Can you please wait in the lounge? I will call you", like I was at the doctor or something.
Not really what I expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room anywhere far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a nice place for if you're only here to sleep.
The rooms are simple, small bathroom, the breakfast is simple, but eatable.

the people from the reception are friendly.

don't go here if you only want luxury.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel was fine - not great, but adequate considering the price. The absolutel best thing about the hotel was the location. It's less than 5 minutes walk to Paddington Station, which will get you easily to most of the major tourist spots in London. It's also minutes from Hyde Park and close to many restaurants and a number of small grocery/convenience stores.
The room was fairly small and the beds were not terribly comfortable but were fine for the few days we were there. The room was clean and the bathroom had been partially refinished (new tile, toilet and sink) and was small but clean. There was no air conditioning, and our room overlooked a busy street so it was a bit noisy at night. All of these things should be considered if you're planning to stay here. But for the low price, we could endure these things. The elevator was small but adequate (large enough for 2 people and 2 suitcases). Breakfast was in an incredibly hot, cramped room in the basement and consisted of cereal, toast coffee/tea and warm juice. We tried it once, but chose to get something at a nearby grocery store the other days. Again, if you're expecting a great breakfast for your money, this isn't the place for you.
The staff were friendly and helpful and they happily stored our luggage in a locked room until our room was ready. We had prepaid the room, but they did ask for a 10 pound "deposit" which was put on our credit card as a hold. I had no problem with this and it was never actually taken off our card at the end of our trip.
Overall, this was a very basic hotel - small, a bit dingy (needing some updating - particularly in the common areas) but the room was clean and adequate for the short period of time we spent there each day. However, if you expect any kind of luxury, this is not the hotel for you. If you're on a tight budget but looking for something more private than a hostel, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

we saw the pics online and it sounded good. when we arrived they han not received our booking. so the indian guy at the counter charged us about 100 usd to hold a room. we paid on card, they said theyd not run it, they did immediately. when we looked at the room it had no air conditioning and it was rather warm. A tiny fan sat on a table. there were three amy cots in the middle of this really ugly room. they obviously had no mattress. my lady said NO WAY and we went to another without spending more than a minute in. this prince william hotel was a hotel we paid for and they stated that when they did get our money that theyd keep two days of it and refund the rest....yea, right. theres a sign posted right there in the office in front of the jerk that talked to us saying theyd only charge us for one day. DONT ever go there. We called Cheapoair and theyve not called us back, but i noticed this hotel no longer come up on the search engine on their we site. We ended up getting a normal hotel at the airport.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel at all cost. this could result in divorce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night during the Olympics. It is only a few mins walk from Paddington station.
When we arrived we were asked for a £20 deposit which is refundable at check out. we were given the keys and told where to find our room. I found the staff friendly but I was friendly to them.
We booked a twin room and was average just what we needed! There was a small tv tea and coffee and a good shower and even a fan!
After reading many reviews it is not that bad its clean an a place to sleep!
The added bonus is being able to keep luggage there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

on arrival we were asked for id & a £20 deposit which was not stated when we initially paid for the room. The man manning reception hardly spoke any English so communicating with him was difficult. We were only told what number our room is, no offer to carry any baggage or showing us where the room was. When we did find the room (using the stairs as a lift was no where to be seen) it was very small. This wasn't a massive problem as there was only two of us in a double room. We looked up to see huge cracks in the ceiling (room 15), dust in the bathroom, on the lights and window sills. The windows were single pained, definitely not good in a busy city like London, as we could here traffic even at 3am!! We were also greeted by a tacky sign on the balcony door stating that we couldn't go on the balcony?! The mattress was uncomfortable, as it was thin and the old steel frame rattled. Breakfast in the morning was worse than the room to be honest! After eventually finding the room hidden in the cellar we were hugely disappointed with what was to come. 2 selections of cereal? No toast ready? No interaction with the staff? No hot breakfast? Orange juice clearly wasn't fresh and the tea and coffee had been sat there, i dread to think how long! The room breakfast was situated in was crammed with tables and there was even a leak in the room? Right next to the lamp? Really dangerous? I currently work within a hotel in Cheshire, so I am fully aware of the standards a hotel should meet. I will never return to this hotel, nor recommend anyone. Ought to be shut down. Discusting!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prince William Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince William Hotel

Address: 42-44 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #831 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince William Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th century building with Georgian facade, modernized but retains originality - Near Paddington Station and West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Prince William Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince William
Prince William London
Prince William Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince William Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.