We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prince William Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Prince William Hotel to your Saves list
Prince William Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   42-44 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #814 of 1,066 Hotels in London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Honest review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night during the Olympics. It is only a few mins walk from Paddington station.
When we arrived we were asked for a £20 deposit which is refundable at check out. we were given the keys and told where to find our room. I found the staff friendly but I was friendly to them.
We booked a twin room and was average just what we needed! There was a small tv tea and coffee and a good shower and even a fan!
After reading many reviews it is not that bad its clean an a place to sleep!
The added bonus is being able to keep luggage there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    65
    103
    61
    131
See reviews for
49
123
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

on arrival we were asked for id & a £20 deposit which was not stated when we initially paid for the room. The man manning reception hardly spoke any English so communicating with him was difficult. We were only told what number our room is, no offer to carry any baggage or showing us where the room was. When we did find the room (using the stairs as a lift was no where to be seen) it was very small. This wasn't a massive problem as there was only two of us in a double room. We looked up to see huge cracks in the ceiling (room 15), dust in the bathroom, on the lights and window sills. The windows were single pained, definitely not good in a busy city like London, as we could here traffic even at 3am!! We were also greeted by a tacky sign on the balcony door stating that we couldn't go on the balcony?! The mattress was uncomfortable, as it was thin and the old steel frame rattled. Breakfast in the morning was worse than the room to be honest! After eventually finding the room hidden in the cellar we were hugely disappointed with what was to come. 2 selections of cereal? No toast ready? No interaction with the staff? No hot breakfast? Orange juice clearly wasn't fresh and the tea and coffee had been sat there, i dread to think how long! The room breakfast was situated in was crammed with tables and there was even a leak in the room? Right next to the lamp? Really dangerous? I currently work within a hotel in Cheshire, so I am fully aware of the standards a hotel should meet. I will never return to this hotel, nor recommend anyone. Ought to be shut down. Discusting!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed for one night, I was asked for £20 deposit even though I had paid in full. Room was very basic and the only plus was it was a good location for the main attractions. Breakfast had already been paid for but was asked for £3.00 off the reception staff for breakfast which we hadn't even got up for. On booking out I had to remind them for my £20 deposit back!!! Would never return to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We arrived late, about 11 and were just ready for bed so lets start with the bed. It was an old steel frame bed with a thin mattress and you could feel every spring. the room was like an oven so we opened the windows and were hit full blast with the sickening smell of curry from the indian restaurant located in the basement of the hotel. There was a small balcony but a sign saying it was unsafe to walk out onto. I wouldn't have been able to anyway because the balcony was covered in trash. the ceiling was at least 15' high with 7 foot high windows that had thick heavy drapes that were almost impossable to move. Breakfast consisted of thin white bread next to a filthy toaster, warm slices of processed cheese, stale cornflakes and warm orange juice all served in the basement where the indian restaurant is at night with it's lingering odor. the only thing about this hotel that worked was the water pressure in the shower and its location. I would not stay again in this place even if it was free.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from 2 nights in this hotel. The location is brilliant, 2 minutes walk to Paddington station.
The hotel is not a purpose built hotel so there are no lifts, it is very typical of guesthouses in the area that are a couple of former townhouses converted together so its stairs everywhere. We didnt have a problem with this but I would imagine plenty would. The general decor is good but a bit tired.
The room was simply setup, double bed, wardrobe, desk with tea/coffee facilities, tv on the wall and en suite shower room. The shower and toilet room looked like it had been redecorated within the last year. The bed was ok but the mattress was getting towards the end of its life as you could feel all the springs, sheets were very clean. Only gripe with the room was the tea/coffee wasn't replenished while we were there but it was only a minor problem.
Continental breakfast was poor! toast, 2 cereals, orange juice and tea/coffee. There was jam or processed cheese for the toast and that was it. Really should have been better but then again it was enough to get you going in the morning. You could upgrade to a full english for an extra £3 but we didnt, although we heard a couple of people who did upgrade and were then told there was no sauces brown or ketchup which would have been disappointing. Some others have commented on the weird layout of the restaurant. FIrstly it is in the cellar of the hotel and so there are plenty of steps to go down and they are very shallow and very steep, not good if you are struggling to walk. Secondly because it is a couple of cellars together there are lots of bulkheads and changes of level which can be annoying which means that Thirdly the food is scattered around the rooms. Part of the reason is that at night it is an indian restaurant and so I dont think the staff want to move the tables around.
We got a deal so the hotel only cost £109 for 2 nights incl breakfast but it should have been £180 for 2 nights in a double room. We would not pay full price as you could get better for that money but because of the deal we thought we would give it a shot. Next time we will look at somewhere different.
ONe thing to mention that was a plus, we were away for our wedding anniversary and asked if there was a chance for a double instead of a twin (booking site didnt sell doubles but found out these were an add on for more money) and they were happy to give us the free upgrade.
Ok for a night if can get a deal but dont pay full price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ziersdorf
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel has not the best reviews on the net.
Yes, it has not the biggest and most luxurious rooms, but in my case at least it was clean.
Shower and toilet also available - just practical.
Yes, breakfast is not the hit (as much as you want toast + cheese + jam or orange juice, tea or coffee)
I'd preferred ham and eggs, but no chance to find something like that.
The hotels around cost the night 40-50 € more. They may be a lot more luxurious, but i don´t know.
The fact is, you pay for the great location, not only for the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

i stayed at this hotel 06.-09.05.2012.
on monday 07.05. in hotel was burglary,
evening when i came in the hotel,the door of my room was broken and all my clothes was scattered.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince William Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince William Hotel

Address: 42-44 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #814 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince William Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th century building with Georgian facade, modernized but retains originality - Near Paddington Station and West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Prince William Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince William
Prince William London
Prince William Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince William Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.