We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatre Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coram Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1HT, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #409 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Theatre Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed Fri,Sat nights as going to Theatre. Very well located 10 min walk from Kings Cross Station, 20 min walk to Theatre land. Free use of luggage room after check out on Sunday means you can make the most of a weekend break. Friendly helpful staff, rooms clean, what you expect from IHG for mid range hotel. Would stay again.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    809
    380
    106
    49
See reviews for
341
567
125
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Having previously stayed in this area on my past 4 trips to London, I was looking to stay somewhere more upscale than the past.

The Holiday Inn is a very modern property, walking distance from the tube which made it great when travelling from the airport. The room was quite spacious (2 adults, 1 child) we had a room with a sofa bed sleeper and they had it made up for us before we arrived.

Breaktfast in the morning at the buffet had a great selection. A little bit pricey in my opinion, however relative to being in London!

Would definitely stay here on my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

me, my husband and friend went to london for the weekend on a theatre break. the hotel is always very clean and the breakfast buffet was always fresh and hot. the hotel is in the ideal location 1 minute by tube to kings cross and 5 minutes away from convent gardens. we had a great weeken only let down was it was league cup weekend so there was lots of loud football fans but this wasnt the hotels fault.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here with wife and 11 year old son for 3 nights last month. Fantastic location - took in the Arsenal - Bayern match. Pity about the result but getting to and from the ground couldn't have been easier. The local area around Bloomsbury was very interesting and getting from the hotel to all the main attractions was so easy - walk or tube. Tube station is literally around the corner. The hotel itself was really good, great staff and the room was absolutely fine for the 3 of us. Food was excellent - breakfast and dinner and restaurant staff were particularly pleasant and efficient. Really couldn't find any fault worth mentioning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed at the Bloomsbury mar 1st to 3 rd 2014, it is situated in an excellent location when visiting London. There is Russell square UG station around the corner for easiness of getting into all areas of London. Excellent car parks on hand we pre booked the NCP car park at the end of Coram street, this was excellent no hassle parking. taxis around the corner for those who want easy travel.
The hotel itself was clean and fresh and staff very helpful, we took the breakfast option and although most people would not be disappointed with what is on offer, I am an egg lover and the fried eggs were not that good, some lessons needed there i think. We had front facing rooms and I must say very quiet as there was little traffic.
The rooms are not big but are very comfortable and we wanted for nothing. We will definitely stay here again when visiting London.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

At the end of February 2014 we stayed for one night here as a family - 4 adults, and 2 children, aged 13 and 6. From the moment we arrived, we were given a very warm welcome, and although we arrived far to early to occupy our rooms, we were allowed to leave our luggage securely at Reception. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful, and special mention must be made of Keith, who went out of his way to arrange a taxi for us to the other side of the Thames at a very reasonable price. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant on the evening of our stay, and the breakfast the following morning was of the same high standard. Our rooms were absolutely clean, with plenty of space, and we all enjoyed a very peaceful night's sleep. Since the main reason for our visit was to go to see a show in Shaftesbury Avenue, this hotel was perfectly placed - our taxi cost us £7.00 only. We shall certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative about your comments about Keith. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned. We hope to have the honour of serving you again should your travels bring you back to London.

Kind regards,
Matthew Beard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here in early January 2014 on short notice...used IHG points for a one night stay. And for that it was absolutely okay, especially as the walk in rate was 400+ pounds that day...no idea why though.

Property is dated, rooms are absolutely average. Honestly, if I would have to pay I would not stay here. There are other, better options for the same money. But no complaints, it was absolutely okay, nothing too fancy. Stayed at worse places. But I would not come back.

Location is great, front desk staff was very nice, but it's just...meh.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Kind regards,
Matthew Beard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury

Address: Coram Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#287 Family Hotel in London
#309 Business Hotel in London
#366 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London -Bloomsbury a modern and stylish hotel in London's West End, perfectly located for all of your leisure and business needs. The hotel can be found just off Russell Square Tube Station, close to St Pancras International Rail Station, which is very convenient for those travelling by Eurostar. Holiday Inn Bloomsbury hotel is also within easy reach of many of London's tourist attractions: The British Museum, Madame Tussauds, London Zoo and the West End theatres, not to mention the amazing shopping in Oxford Street and Covent Garden. The hotel is easily accessible for the O2 and also has a direct train link to Emirates Stadium, the home of Arsenal Football Club. Our state-of-the-art Academy Conference Centre boasts 14 meeting rooms that can cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. The Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel offers facilities for disabled guests along with accessible bedrooms, and two bedrooms with a hoist. The hotel is proud to have won Best Disabled Facilities Award 2007 'Accessibility for All' at the Meetings and Incentive Travel Awards. High Speed Internet Access is available in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Holiday Inn Bloomsbury London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.