We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coram Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1HT, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #425 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A bit tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

With its dark interiors, saggy old carpets and suspect plumbing, London-hotels are seldom worth its price (at least not below 5 stars). @ Holiday Inn they apparently cater to non anglo-saxons since at least the interiors are light (white) and fresh and the bathroom does neither have a carpet and the plumbing works!!!
The lobby, breakfast and bar area are all in cool modern, somewhat minimalistic design which is refreshing after staying at typical London hotel with ostentatious/sullen receptions.
However it is all superficial (obviously not the light interior though). Door handles are loose, elevators ramshackle and the corridors a bit claustrophobic.
Staff proffessional (they usually are at those chains arent they) and location really good.
All in all it was an OK stay (better than the Bayswater tourist ghetto anyway) but I definitely wouldn't go out of my way to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    743
    350
    101
    46
See reviews for
310
518
116
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

A comfortable hotel of about three star standard . The good points: well located about 10-15 mins walk to St Pancras for the Eurostar. The location is also handy as there are a number of shops and restaurants nearby, including a supermarket - also close to the tube. Check in was efficient and they put allowed me into the room early by 10am. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. Check out was also very efficient as was collecting my bag at the end of the day.

The things which were not so good...my room was really small, barely half a metre between the end of the bed and the wall. It had no mini-bar or working fridge which was annoying. To be fair they did ask me on check in if I would use anything in the mini-bar and I said probably not, nevertheless I still would have liked a fridge to store a few items. Very unexciting view from the window of the inside of the building - there was a generator of some sort outside my window, probably an AC unit humming the whole time. They were unable to call me a taxi at the front of the hotel and I had to walk to the main street to flag one down.

So overall I thought it was not bad for London, but not the best place I have stayed either.

  • Liked — Location, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Small room, no working fridge/mini-bar
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

This was our first time to London and we wanted to stay somewhere close to the British Museum.

Location was great....the room itself was incredibly small, which is fine, but the mini-bar/fridge didn't work and that was a problem since we had medication with us that we needed to keep cold.

Normally something small like that wouldn't have bothered me, but the fact that we were paying double for this room (since the dollar sucks at the moment) I was pretty irritated.

We didn't contact the front desk because we had JUST brought all of our bags up to the room and didn't really want to change rooms.

Now, while the room itself was fine, the walls at this hotel are INCREDIBLY thin. I could hear our neighbor cough. I could hear everything happening out on the street. I could hear the elevator all night. It was terrible. I didn't get any sleep.

So...location of this hotel is great, staff was adequate, but if you need a good night's rest....spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for two nights recently for our Wedding Anniversary. We had an Executive Room which was clean, comfortable and large enough. The Air Conditioning worked perfectly, almost to the point of being too cold.

One thing that I was impressed about, was the fact that putting the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door before we went to bed, actually meant that we didn't get disturbed in th morning (we had had a late night and needed the sleep!!) I have stayed at many HI's in the past where this wasn't the case. And believe me....it's incredibly annoying when you have been working a night shift, and someone is banging on the door just as you've dropped off to sleep!!

I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat in the Hotel, but the Bar prices are the standard HI Tariff. Staff seemed freindly enough. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In the smoke
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

Booked through British Airways. On direct tubeline from Heathrow.

Perfect location for what ever you need is in London.

The hotel is a standard Holiday Inn like any other, the room was a bit tired but clean, served it purpose well - it did what it said on the tin!!!

Breakfast a plus point as it never ends - buffet, always a seat when you need one. Very efficent staff at the hotel.

Will use again, if possible to get a bigger room.

  • Liked — It's Location & ease to get to.
  • Disliked — Small basic room & bed.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

I have stayed at HI Bloomsbury on many occasions in the past for work, so had no problem choosing it for the night before our journey to Europe on Eurostar.
On arriving at the hotel I asked for, and got, an upgrade (don't ask, don't get). I was given a 'business class' room on the sixth floor which was quiet, clean and comfortable - when given the choice of sooo many pillows it would be remiss not to have a decent nights sleep.
We left before breakfast in the morning, refreshed and ready for our journey. Some reviews have complained about the £11.50 price tag for a breakfast of fruit, croissants, bacon, eggs, coffee.... need I go on? This is what it costs for up to 2 adults, not each!!! I paid nearly £10 for a couple of coffees and a baguette at a cafe in St Pancras - now thats what I call expensive.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Wasn't able to stay longer
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

My wife and I booked 9 nights in the Holiday Inn Bloomsbury for the start of a European Tour. (We're Canadians.) The amazing rate we got ($150CDN, approx 75 GBP) on Hotwire didn't include breakfast, but we found we were more than happy to buy croissants/muffins and fruit at one of two supermarkets within a half block walk and eat that for breakfast.

The hotel staff were very gracious, and were always willing to help. One front desk employee gave us directions to restaurants, an internet cafe, without suggesting we use the overpriced internet in the hotel lobbey. Some of the front desk staff had Eastern European Accents, but they were very understandable.

The location of the hotel was excellent, being so close to the Russell Square station. We'd never been to Europe, but found it very easy to take the Piccadilly line from Heathrow to the hotel. The oyster cards are great, but make sure to compare the cost of the day or week travelcard, it would have saved us some money.

Because we were staying over a week, the hotel upgraded us to a larger room with a couch, which was nice considering we booked hotwire. I would describe that room as being of average size for a one bed room in North America, so I imagine the regular rooms are tight by North American standards, but probably quite comfortable nonetheless.

My only two complaints were that the elevator service seemed a bit spotty, and the fire-alarm went off at ~5AM one morning. That's not the hotel's fault, but it would have been nice if they'd acknowledged it/apologized for the inconvenience.

I have recommended this hotel to friends, and continue to do so. Also, there's a great Indian restaurant right adjacent to Russell square, with white table cloth service at a lower price than in other parts of the west end.

  • Liked — Great location, friendly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury

Address: Coram Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#266 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London -Bloomsbury a modern and stylish hotel in London's West End, perfectly located for all of your leisure and business needs. The hotel can be found just off Russell Square Tube Station, close to St Pancras International Rail Station, which is very convenient for those travelling by Eurostar. Holiday Inn Bloomsbury hotel is also within easy reach of many of London's tourist attractions: The British Museum, Madame Tussauds, London Zoo and the West End theatres, not to mention the amazing shopping in Oxford Street and Covent Garden. The hotel is easily accessible for the O2 and also has a direct train link to Emirates Stadium, the home of Arsenal Football Club. Our state-of-the-art Academy Conference Centre boasts 14 meeting rooms that can cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. The Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel offers facilities for disabled guests along with accessible bedrooms, and two bedrooms with a hoist. The hotel is proud to have won Best Disabled Facilities Award 2007 'Accessibility for All' at the Meetings and Incentive Travel Awards. High Speed Internet Access is available in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, LondonMarketing.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Holiday Inn Bloomsbury London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.