We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem great location great staff central to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coram Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1HT, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #426 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem great location great staff central to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is centrally located with bar's, transportation and eateries galore. I stayed a week and sad to leave. Staff are tremendous, well worth a visit if going to London. Access to all sightseeing option's, great food markets in the mall on Saturday's and much more.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    744
    351
    102
    46
See reviews for
312
520
116
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Spent a weekend in this hotel. Went with extended family, 3 generations, and we were all very pleased. Had 3 rooms: 1 triple on 3rd floor, spacious enough for 3 persons, no safe, no minifridge. 1 twin on 4th floor, safe, spacious room. 1 double on 6th floor, very spacious and nice room with bathrobes, safe and fridge.

The staff made us all feel very welcome from the moment we first arrived. The only little problem was that our rooms were not ready when we were checking in about 5 in the afternoon. This problem was quickly solved by upgrading on of the rooms to executive on the 6th floor.

Very good breakfast, hot and cold food, good service, no waiting to be seated although we were 7 persons.

This hotel is highly recommended, if we are staying in this part of the city again we will for sure stay at Holiday Inn! Nice pub and bar in the hotel building and another nice pub across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souther England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located in a quiet side street not far from Russell Square tube station and is walkable in around 15 minutes from Euston and St Pancras stations and the British Museum. The Brunswick Centre shopping complex is nearby and has a good selection of shops and a supermarket. I stayed in an Executive floor room which was well appointed, quiet and clean. Wifi was a chargeable extra however. Breakfast was good. Overall, a comfortable and well-located central London hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for three nights (27-30th September). The hotel is in a fantastic area, right opposite Russell Square Tube station (very convenient if you are flying into Heathrow, as you can hop on the Piccadilly Line and it takes you straight there!). We had originally planned on staying in another hotel in the area, but our plans changed, and that hotel was fully-booked, so I was delighted that this hotel was right around the corner!

Unfortunately, the location is one of the few outstanding qualities of the hotel. While the lobby is decorated nicely, our room was quite plain. We only booked a standard room, which had the basics: a bed, a desk, a TV and a bathroom. At some point, it must have had a mini-fridge, as there was a huge gap in the wall unit where it had been removed. This was frustrating, as we didn't have anywhere to keep bottles of water, or milk to make tea with.

The room did not have an openable window (I presume both to counter people trying to smoke, and also as a security precaution as our room was on the 5th floor). This was unhelpful, as the room was really warm! We slept with the air-conditioning on every night, and my boyfriend was still woken up by the heat every morning.

On the other hand, I was woken up by the cleaning crew every morning. Thankfully, they didn't come into the room itself (we had put a 'Do Not Disturb' sign on the door), but their carts were so loud that I was woken at 8am every morning... The walls and ceiling are incredibly thin, so every sound comes through. The lights also filtered through the curtains, and under the door.

Pros:
- Great location (next to Russell Square Tube station; only a few minutes to central London). Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, if you don't want to stay in the hotel all night;
- Easy to reach from Heathrow Airport (direct line on the Tube); walking distance to both Euston and King's Cross train;
- There is a 24-hour Tesco Express on the corner opposite the Tube station. Great for getting late night snacks after a busy day in London, and bottles of water for the next day!

Cons:
- Wi-Fi was ridiculously expensive (£5 an hour!!!). It was very annoying, as even the ramshackle pub up the road offered Wi-Fi for free!;
- Our room was prone to over-heating; to the point where we slept in our underwear;
- There was a large gap under our door, which we had to plug with a towel to stop the light seeping through from the hallway (it was keeping us awake);
- No fridge in the room for essentials (wouldn't have been an issue, but the room was so warm!)

In summary, I would stay in the area again without doubt. But next time, I'd prefer to pay a little more, and stay in a better hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor, which was nice and sunny from early morning onwards. There was also n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Kind regards,
Matthew Beard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights 27th & 28th September for a family visit to celebrate my daughters birthday. This hotel is in an excellent location just outside Russell Square tube station. With plenty of places to eat and visit within walking distance. Upon arrival we found out we had been given a room upgrade which was much appreciated. Although there was a minor delay on checking in we were offered free refreshments while it was sorted. I must say a thank you to the lady checking us in and Gary I could not fault their helpfulness and attitude. The only one small downside was the cost to use wifi, way too expensive. All in all an excellent hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative about your comments about Gary and the Front Office Team. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.

Kind regards,

Matthew Beard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Latest visit in London, we stayed for 5 nights in this hotel conveniently located next to Russell Square Underground Station. Clean ,modern but having booked an"executive" room I expected those perks usually attached to rooms of that name. Forget it I believe that the difference is the bottle of water and Kit Kat they give you every day, that's it. For wi-fi they charge 20 pounds per day, quite absurd in these days, considering that our Italian server gives you full4g access and calls for 3 euros per day.One day they had not serviced our room by 16.00 h but otherwise , I would say that service was good. Bed bowing in the middle not comfortable sleeping in 2. Price in what I would define London average.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We take our guests comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry you received service and quality which was unacceptable. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made. Thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards,
Matthew Beard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Although Holiday Inn was a bit expensive, it was really good, the location was really near from the Russell Square Station, the staff were really friendly and nice, it was really convenient from checking in and out. The room was okay with a pretty good TV and the breakfast was amazing with lots of choices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

As always I am glad to read feedback of the Holiday Inn London - Bloomsbury Hotel. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Kind regards,
Matthew Beard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury

Address: Coram Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#261 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London -Bloomsbury a modern and stylish hotel in London's West End, perfectly located for all of your leisure and business needs. The hotel can be found just off Russell Square Tube Station, close to St Pancras International Rail Station, which is very convenient for those travelling by Eurostar. Holiday Inn Bloomsbury hotel is also within easy reach of many of London's tourist attractions: The British Museum, Madame Tussauds, London Zoo and the West End theatres, not to mention the amazing shopping in Oxford Street and Covent Garden. The hotel is easily accessible for the O2 and also has a direct train link to Emirates Stadium, the home of Arsenal Football Club. Our state-of-the-art Academy Conference Centre boasts 14 meeting rooms that can cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. The Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel offers facilities for disabled guests along with accessible bedrooms, and two bedrooms with a hoist. The hotel is proud to have won Best Disabled Facilities Award 2007 'Accessibility for All' at the Meetings and Incentive Travel Awards. High Speed Internet Access is available in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Holiday Inn Bloomsbury London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.