We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitre House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mitre House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mitre House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #511 of 1,073 hotels in London
Dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My sister, myself and our mother (aged 85) stayed two nights at The Mitre for a weekend visit to the capital. Very pleased with this hotel - exterior is welcoming with window boxes and night lighting which makes it easy to spot, friendly reception staff, clean and comfortable room, ample breakfast served by efficient and attentive staff. Great location - stone's throw from Paddington and Lancaster Gate, the open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Garden, not forgetting the little oasis of Bathurst Mews right opposite where the Ross Nye stables are located if you like horses! Would stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: 4th floor front rooms face Sussex Gardens - leafy tree tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    132
    81
    36
    21
See reviews for
73
91
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Got there for 3 days stay in London in the beginning of October. The place is having good location.. close to Paddington station, Hyde park, and 10-15 minutes walk from Marble Arch.
The rooms are ok.. you have everything in first need. A bit small room.. but this is normal for London downtown hotels. Ok for 2 people. The staff was also Okay. The breakfast - good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our room was spacious and comfortable. Kate and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful, understanding and friendly and helped us out on numerous occasions. We spent eight nights and found the location very convenient to public transport, eateries, Hyde park and pubs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. We had a great stay on the whole. The hotel look good on the outside and was lit with green lights at night so easy to spot. The only things we could find wrong with it was that the beds were not the most comfortable and the elevator was extremely slow. We stayed in connecting rooms which shared a bathroom which was fine as we were a four party group. We liked the english breakfast which was very filling for long days we spent in the city. Loved the location. The closest tube stations were Lancaster Gate (Central Line) and Paddington station (Circle, district, bakerloo, Hammersmith and city). Very easy to get around. We easily walked to Hyde Park, Marble Arche and Oxford Circus. Restaurants were located close by and had for example a great dinner at Angus Steakhouse. I also highly recommend Vapiano's by Oxford Circus. This hotel could use some renovations as it is old fashioned but we liked it and the homey vibe it had. Good service at the front desk and people willing to help.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had a great experience at this hotel. I was visiting London during a busy time, during the Paralympics, and Kate and the staff helped me immensely with all my changing plans and last minute hotel needs. She and the staff also helped me with all my dumb tourist questions about local attractions, electrical needs, vegetarian needs (also at breakfast, which was pretty hearty), where to change currency, etc. The location was excellent - there are a ton of budget and not-so-budget hotels in the area - and besides access to Paddington Station, the area was also convenient to Hyde and Regent's Parks, other public transit and taxis. There was a bit of noise with street improvements outside - not the hotel's fault. WiFi was good. The bar and lounge areas were a step above the usual Paddington hotel standards. But it was the staff that was the best! and all this at an EXCELLENT price point during the busiest London season in ages!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here one night while sightseeing in London. The hotel is conveniently located to Paddington station. There are lots of restaurant choices nearby. We easily walked to Hyde Park and Oxford Circus.
The room was a bit old fashioned. The bed quality was average. There was no way to control airconditioning in your own room. Although we were on the third floor and this was the "non-smoking" room, the smoke from other floors came up through the air vents. The bathroom was small and old fashioned, but the water pressure in the shower was good.
The complimentary breakfast was above average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Sussex Gardens area has been really updated and the outside of the Mitre House really shows its character. The hotel is a great boutique alternative to big chain, all the rooms resembling one another. Clean and very affordable, I have stayed may times at this hotel and enjoy the family like atmosphere. Rooms vary in size but are all clean and provide the necessary comforts to make them appealing. Staff are friendly and breakfast is included and appreciated. I have recommended this hotel to many friends and none have been disappointed. Enjoy!
Bruce from Vancouver

Room Tip: WiFi is free and available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitre House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre House Hotel

Address: 180 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #511 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitre House Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Otel so you can book your Mitre House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel London
Mitre House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitre House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.