We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at mitre house hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitre House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mitre House Hotel to your Saves list
Mitre House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #558 of 1,065 Hotels in London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at mitre house hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our room was spacious and comfortable. Kate and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful, understanding and friendly and helped us out on numerous occasions. We spent eight nights and found the location very convenient to public transport, eateries, Hyde park and pubs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    145
    94
    40
    23
See reviews for
76
107
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. We had a great stay on the whole. The hotel look good on the outside and was lit with green lights at night so easy to spot. The only things we could find wrong with it was that the beds were not the most comfortable and the elevator was extremely slow. We stayed in connecting rooms which shared a bathroom which was fine as we were a four party group. We liked the english breakfast which was very filling for long days we spent in the city. Loved the location. The closest tube stations were Lancaster Gate (Central Line) and Paddington station (Circle, district, bakerloo, Hammersmith and city). Very easy to get around. We easily walked to Hyde Park, Marble Arche and Oxford Circus. Restaurants were located close by and had for example a great dinner at Angus Steakhouse. I also highly recommend Vapiano's by Oxford Circus. This hotel could use some renovations as it is old fashioned but we liked it and the homey vibe it had. Good service at the front desk and people willing to help.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had a great experience at this hotel. I was visiting London during a busy time, during the Paralympics, and Kate and the staff helped me immensely with all my changing plans and last minute hotel needs. She and the staff also helped me with all my dumb tourist questions about local attractions, electrical needs, vegetarian needs (also at breakfast, which was pretty hearty), where to change currency, etc. The location was excellent - there are a ton of budget and not-so-budget hotels in the area - and besides access to Paddington Station, the area was also convenient to Hyde and Regent's Parks, other public transit and taxis. There was a bit of noise with street improvements outside - not the hotel's fault. WiFi was good. The bar and lounge areas were a step above the usual Paddington hotel standards. But it was the staff that was the best! and all this at an EXCELLENT price point during the busiest London season in ages!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here one night while sightseeing in London. The hotel is conveniently located to Paddington station. There are lots of restaurant choices nearby. We easily walked to Hyde Park and Oxford Circus.
The room was a bit old fashioned. The bed quality was average. There was no way to control airconditioning in your own room. Although we were on the third floor and this was the "non-smoking" room, the smoke from other floors came up through the air vents. The bathroom was small and old fashioned, but the water pressure in the shower was good.
The complimentary breakfast was above average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Sussex Gardens area has been really updated and the outside of the Mitre House really shows its character. The hotel is a great boutique alternative to big chain, all the rooms resembling one another. Clean and very affordable, I have stayed may times at this hotel and enjoy the family like atmosphere. Rooms vary in size but are all clean and provide the necessary comforts to make them appealing. Staff are friendly and breakfast is included and appreciated. I have recommended this hotel to many friends and none have been disappointed. Enjoy!
Bruce from Vancouver

Room Tip: WiFi is free and available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keighley
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

budget hotel,clean,loads of very hot water ideal for one night very close to paddington tube and Hyde park,beds very firm and small!!,there seems to be a lot of ladies selling there wares outside during the night,we found this amusing but others may not,Breakfast could have been better,
1 slice bacon,beans and an egg on a rather small plate,as much toast as you could eat though,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was the 2nd time I'd stayed at this hotel.
I'll probably be back again, the hotel is excellently placed and provides free parking, which is in short supply these days.
The hotel is half an hours brisk walk, or an affordable taxi ride, from the city and has a wide choice of Underground stations nearby.
The surrounding area has all the facilities you will need, we especially enjoyed the crack in the Sussex Arms around the corner.

Most of the staff were lovely, except for ... as mentioned previously ... one chap, called Rudie, he was abrupt to the point of ignorance, and can't be excused on the basis of cultural differences. His attitude can be enough to spoil what is otherwise an enjoyable experience in an allright, value for money, hotel in 1 of the worlds great cities. Come on Mitre House .. sort it out!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitre House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre House Hotel

Address: 180 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #558 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitre House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Mitre House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel London
Mitre House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitre House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.