We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mitre House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mitre House Hotel to your Saves list
Mitre House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #565 of 1,053 Hotels in London
keighley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“over night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

budget hotel,clean,loads of very hot water ideal for one night very close to paddington tube and Hyde park,beds very firm and small!!,there seems to be a lot of ladies selling there wares outside during the night,we found this amusing but others may not,Breakfast could have been better,
1 slice bacon,beans and an egg on a rather small plate,as much toast as you could eat though,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    173
    112
    42
    25
See reviews for
92
125
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was the 2nd time I'd stayed at this hotel.
I'll probably be back again, the hotel is excellently placed and provides free parking, which is in short supply these days.
The hotel is half an hours brisk walk, or an affordable taxi ride, from the city and has a wide choice of Underground stations nearby.
The surrounding area has all the facilities you will need, we especially enjoyed the crack in the Sussex Arms around the corner.

Most of the staff were lovely, except for ... as mentioned previously ... one chap, called Rudie, he was abrupt to the point of ignorance, and can't be excused on the basis of cultural differences. His attitude can be enough to spoil what is otherwise an enjoyable experience in an allright, value for money, hotel in 1 of the worlds great cities. Come on Mitre House .. sort it out!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I read some of the reviews but decided it was probably going to be adequate for our needs (that is my daughter and me). Well we arrived form Beijing tired to be greeted by a rude frontdesk manager called Rudie (aptly named!). Our room was very small, stunk of cigarettes and had no Wi-Fi that operated in the rooms or hotel. I had booked the hotel because it said it had free Wi Fi in all rooms. The website describes the hotel as having "stylish and comfortable rooms." I wonder where they keep these as we certainly did not see any that fitted this description. The rooms are very small, the toilet did not flush properly, pillows were made of lumpy rubber and the final straw was the boiler blowing up (according to the guy on the front desk this happens quite often, I suggested they might consider getting it fixed properly) and there was no hot water. The up sides were that when we complained about the first room on the second day after rude Rudie had gone off shift the new woman named Kate (the woman in charge on the second day of our stay) moved us to a clean room which had intermitent Wi-Fi the next morning and apologised for the problems. The breakfast was reasonable and the staff who served us in the dinning room were pleasant. Very good bacon. I cancelled our second booking and we stayed elsewhere when we returned to London the following week.

Room Tip: If you do stay here do not stay on the top floor in a corner room - request a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Pretty good value--relatively cheap and a nice stay for how much we paid. The receptionists were pretty friendly. There was supposedly free wifi in the rooms but it would not work on the second floor, and even when we went down to the lobby to use it, it was very slow and often unresponsive. The room was pretty clean and big enough. Our TV wouldn't work, but after the first night they sent someone up to fix it for us. Pretty close to central London by tube. Breakfast was nice--hot and plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The size of bedroom is enough for us; place is clean and tidy.
The location is near Paddington underground station, walking by 10 mins. It is very convenience.
The receptionist is very helpful.
English style breakfast is instant cooking, it's very nice.

Only one thing to complain is, it was out of power at whole building suddenly in one morning 8:30...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trani, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Good hotel. The rooms are not very large but it is clean and the staff is very helpful. Very close to tube station and easy to reach from Heathrow airport. Would definitely advice it for a stay in London.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My family and I stayed in a quad room for five nights in late May/early June, and I would recommend Mitre House if you're looking for a comfortable, friendly and centrally-located budget hotel.

The room was small and basic, but clean, with a nice view out over the rooftops and chimney pots - which our children thought was very Mary Poppins. Given that we spent the whole day out, we weren't too fussed about size.

Breakfast good, staff very friendly and helpful, location fantastic - we stepped right off the Heathrow Connect at Paddington and walked a couple of minutes to the hotel. When we weren't catching the tube, we walked comfortably to many of London's major sites, and the children enjoyed Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, again a couple of minutes' walk away.

This is not the Hilton, but for what we were charged, I felt it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.4 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#432 of 1,053 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Columbia
The Columbia
#563 of 1,053 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tune Hotel - Paddington
Tune Hotel - Paddington
#303 of 1,053 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#570 of 1,053 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#632 of 1,053 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#661 of 1,053 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre House Hotel

Address: 180 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #565 of 1,053 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitre House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a prime location just north of Hyde Park. Served by 2 underground stations, Paddington and Lancaster Gate just a few minutes walk away. Old style architecture but with comfortable, clean and secure rooms. Staffed 24 hours a day this well established hotel is an independent hotel designed for individuals. Lift access to all floors and a free car park (20 spaces) based on a first come basis in front of the hotel. English Breakfast. Bar and piano lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mitre House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel London
Mitre House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitre House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.