We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive price to value place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure London Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure London Bridge to your Saves list
Mercure London Bridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside) (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #405 of 1,066 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Attractive price to value place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Was staying three nights for business in October. Very good location for the money paid. 15 mins walk to St Paul Cathedral, 10 mins to London Bridge. The rooms were just renovated and equiped with everything you may need (kettle, iron etc). Service is friendly though they might need a bit more staff on weekends. Saw some people arguing becasue of the long waiting time to do check out.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms are renovated by now as the work was carred on in some areas. Make sense to ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    481
    200
    60
    28
See reviews for
178
475
101
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I highly recommend staying at the Mercure London Bridge. The service from staff was excellent. They were helpful in any questions we had and accommodated our early check-in. The room was a good size, comfy beds, nice bathroom, tv with cable... We had a double and thought the space was very sufficient for us. The hotel and room is clean; close to two underground stations that take you anywhere in the city; and close to a very neat outdoor market. When staying in London, I would definately go back here. And the prices are comparable to other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wells, somerset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Another very relaxing stay at the Mercure. We had one of the larger privilege rooms which are dearer but have plenty of space. We simply love the location near the river, Tate Modern, and on good bus routes. Staff are always friendly and helpful, and the new foyer arrangement is very attractive and warm. Altogether a very good experience. We will be back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were staying in London for our son's 16th birthday. We are very budget conscious and normally stay in Travelodges when in London, but decided this time to make the occasion a bit more special. We found a special half price offer for the room, which while still expensive by our standards, was "do-able".

We enjoyed the check in experience with the tablets, and the staff were very friendly. We had asked if a cake could be arranged for our son and I had worried that this would be overlooked, but it was there waiting for us in the room along with a card. His face was a picture and we were very grateful that this was done.

The room itself was lovely; clean, modern and comfortable. There was ample space for the 3 of us. There was very little traffic noise and I cannot remember hearing any noise from the hotel itself during the night. We all slept well.

The cost of breakfast and other meals meant we looked elsewhere, but there is no shortage of places to go (we recommend Albion, a few minutes walk away towards the Tate Modern!). The hotel was in the perfect location for exploring and we did a lot of that. Liked the area very much.

All in all, we had a busy but vey enjoyable weekend. If we can get another good deal, would definitely go back. We would like to thank the staff for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-LondonBridge, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear rhyssmum,
Thank you for a wonderful review!
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the welcome experience in our newly refurbished lobby area and experienced our new culture using tablets during the process.
We appreciate all your kind words about our ‘very friendly’ team and the hotels facilities.
Please extend our best wishes to your son –and we hope to be part of your future plans.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel to celebrate another occasion or whenever you are in London.
Kind regards,
Cecelia Adjei
Mercure Host
on behalf of Florian Jourdhier General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here after a work party, and for the money, it was average. There reception was fine, and staff were friendly. The room was pretty small, but clean enough and although I'd booked a room for the two of us, there was only one set of towels, which was a little disappointing, but they were delivered quickly enough. The location is not really London Bridge, but halfway between London Bridge and Waterloo. We didn't stop for breakfast, so cannot comment on that. Would I stay again ? Maybe, but I would think there were others at better value for the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-LondonBridge, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear PWD40,
All of us here at the Mercure London Bridge very much appreciate all your thoughts.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted all your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Cecelia Adjei
Mercure Host on behalf of Florian Jourdhier,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night with other family members and we all were very impressed!
We all had privilage room which had lots of extras, bed were very comfortable and room was very clean. The hotel was in a great location and felt very safe but what stood out most was the staff so helpfull and very friendly!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-LondonBridge, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sally W,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here.
I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you and your family back to Mercure London Bridge very soon.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge , Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in London
#262 Luxury Hotel in London
#296 Family Hotel in London
#327 Business Hotel in London
#341 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish AA 4 star hotel located in the heart of the London Bankside, 10 minutes walk from the City and close to Waterloo Station, London Bridge, the Tate Modern, the Millenium Bridge, Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, St Pauls Cathedral and the London Eye. Nearest tube stations are London Bridge (Jubilee and Northern Line, 7 min) and Southwark (Jubilee Line, 5 min). Offers 144 en-suite bedrooms, the critically acclaimed Loft Restaurant and Bar, a gym, 24 hour room service, 4 meeting rooms for up to 60 people and WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside
Mercure London Bridge England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure London Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.