We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure London Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure London Bridge to your Saves list
Mercure London Bridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside) (Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 30% OFF
Ranked #417 of 1,049 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stay here on business and is now my stay of choice when i am in London .Rooms are tasteful and comfortable .Very close to work so thats a bonus .Situated on southwark street, very close to either london Bridge or Blackfriars.Dont tend to eat in hotel and lots of reaturants close by on Thames . Restaurant good for breakfast and wide range of options .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, Mercure Host at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear pmar2uk,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It is pleasing to hear that we are your "stay of choice " when visiting London!
We look forward to welcoming you back time and time again.
Kind regards,
Cecelia Adjei
Mercure Host on behalf of Florian Jourdhier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    537
    214
    66
    32
See reviews for
191
527
107
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our stay here having never been to London was really good staff were very good and helpfully breakfast was excellent they gave us maps and helped us plan our routes can not fault this hotel it has a little walk to tube station but not to bad

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear margaret_coe693.
Many thanks for the positive comments, another glowing review about our team!
I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure London Bridge Hotel again very soon.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My room was a solid average hotel room. Nothing special but perfectly fine except the walls are thin and if you mind hall noise etc it could be a problem. Very limited places to plug in so charging was a challenge. The renovated lobby is insane. Plants, books, cupcakes and decorated like a furniture shop. The rooms are not renovated and look a little tired but not unclean. The double glazing works great and is a major necessity as the streets are v.v.v. noisy with buses and trucks but then you must make sure the AC works (mine didn't at first but they did fix and brought me a fan too) or you can suffocate. Dont pay extra for the breakfast - many places across the street for good. However if its included a note that the hot food was almost inedible. However, can't go wrong with yogurt, fruit, tea, and toast. Neighborhood seems desolate at night however the RV1 bus is great! Goes from hotel, Tower bridge, the Southbank center, the strand and covent garden. Not far from good eats and activities of Southwark.

Room Tip: For noise control stay away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

What you's expect from this chain of hotels. Nice and clean, well appointed rooms, good breakfast, good friendly welcome. Efficient check in, etc. Downside, very limited on site parking, and not realy that convenient for the tube system. Good for walking about on that side of the river though, London Eye , etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Cymru13,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on here. I am glad that you were pleased with our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure London Bridge Hotel.
Kind regards,
Giovanni De Marco,
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good quality 3* hotel within easy reach of major London attractions via bus or tube. 10 minute stroll from nearest tube.
Room was surprisingly quiet given the location with very comfortable bed.
Staff were courteous and helpful
Would certainly stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, Operations Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear OliveandCliff,
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mercure London Bridge Hotel. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Giovanni De Marco
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the London Bridge Mercure several time but this is the first time since the recent improvements. It was food before but now it is superb. The informal check in is a great idea. Very quick and as usual the staff were friendly, helpful and always smiling. We loved the seating area complete with newspapers, magazine, fruit and cookies. The room as always was perfect. The location of the hotel is ideal, minutes from the tube and good bus routes right outside the door. We are really looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear sylvy_79,
Thank you for taking time to post your thoughts about our "Amazing hotel".
I agree the location is fantastic! with tourist attractions including the Tate Modern, Shakespeare’s Globe, Bankside Pier, London Eye and the Shard within a short proximity Southbank is a travellers paradise. I am glad you chose our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure London Bridge Hotel very soon.
Kind regards,
Giovanni De Marco
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Mercure London Bridge is a great choice for hotels in the heart of London.

We are a young couple from Romania that visited London in April 2013. Besides easy walking to Tate Modern and St. Pauls, the location proved very close to bus and tube stations, and so to both our major destinations during that city break: Covent Garden and O2.
The rooms were more OK when compared to the "traditional" old and rusty English hotel room. We learnt from the desk that the hotel was recently refurbished and this was seen as soon as we stepped in our room.

Great service! Great location and value for money!
We will definitely book again when travelling to London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear sylvy_79,
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mercure London Bridge Hotel.
I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Giovanni De Marco
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in London
#273 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish AA 4 star hotel located in the heart of the London Bankside, 10 minutes walk from the City and close to Waterloo Station, London Bridge, the Tate Modern, the Millenium Bridge, Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, St Pauls Cathedral and the London Eye. Nearest tube stations are London Bridge (Jubilee and Northern Line, 7 min) and Southwark (Jubilee Line, 5 min). Offers 144 en-suite bedrooms, the critically acclaimed Loft Restaurant and Bar, a gym, 24 hour room service, 4 meeting rooms for up to 60 people and WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside
Mercure London Bridge England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure London Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.