We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary room; quirky check in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure London Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure London Bridge to your Saves list
Mercure London Bridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside) (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #406 of 1,065 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, UK
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Ordinary room; quirky check in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Have stayed here several times. Good for Tate Modern and the Thames waterfront southside generally. Increasing number of eateries springing up in the road though not clear to me which are chain faster foods. Went to Baltic near Southwark Tube Station which is certainly a cut above the average, serving mainly Polish dishes

This Mercure has revamped and totally changed its entrance area. Gone are the traditional reception desk and what might be concierge or porter in other hotels. Now there is an open lounge type area with staff wandering about with tablets to do check in, take payment etc. I was quite taken aback by this unconventional arrangement which took a long time. Staff were friendly and were obviously in learning mode. I hope they do designate a Reception point, where they can use their IT gadgets

Room 113 was quite small but ok for short term use. The central heating worked, and the bathroom was functional.

We did not eat in the hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, Operations Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear travellertopoland2,
Many thanks for the positive comments. Indeed we have done away with the conventional reception desk and created a more comfy and spacious environment for all our guests. I am glad you were impressed by our revised check in/out procedures; we are excited to be part of these new developments across the Mercure brand and look forward to introducing them to our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure London Bridge Hotel again very soon.
Kind regards,
Giovanni De Marco
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    479
    198
    60
    28
See reviews for
177
473
99
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was my second stay at the Mercure and it will be my last. The hotel is distinctly average at the best of times - offering rooms that are pretty basic and small; and overall service which can best be described as no frills. The main selling point for me was location as it is close to Tate Modern and Borough Market. However, the hotels decision to undergo a major "facelift" while continuing to operate is a major factor in deciding not to return. The check-in process is now extremely slow and getting around the hotel is complicated by all the construction work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear ECB2010,
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to tell you that our lobby renovations are now complete. Along with our fresh new image we have reinvented our check ins /out process making it smoother, more flexible in enhancing the options being offered to all our guest. Our great team are excited and equipped with new tools including tablets to enhance each and every experience. We hope you will revisit our hotel and experience these changes first hand.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Expensive but very comfortable. Beds are superb with a firm but very thick mattress, rooms are well-appointed if not big. Bathroom clean, shower cold and splashes everywhere, sadly. Wonderful staff: friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Jamie G,
Many thanks for your review. Our guests love our "superb" beds and regularly comment on efforts of the team. We appreciate all your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge wells
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The receptionist was so helpful and pleasant. Our room was a good size and clean. The whole experience was very good. Would definitely recommend it! For a reasonably priced hotel in the centre of London you can not ask for more. As for the alteration work - we didn't find it to be an issue at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear axlr8,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. The new lobby is now ready and the works were worth the wait.
I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Mercure London Bridge Hotel very soon.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Refurb meant some services not available more than made up for by lovely service and great spacious room. Second stay at a Mercure this year and can't fault them. Big thank you to reception for printing our Shard tickets which we forgot to bring with us!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, Operations Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear diavola,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for reviewing us on here. Another outstanding comment about our team, we do our best to cater to all guests needs and ensure satisfaction during the entire stay.
I hope you enjoyed the Shard experience; we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Giovanni De Marco
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great location just of the main busy transport routes but within a stones throw of London Bridge, Waterloo and Southwark stations.

Hotel itself was undergoing renovation but the staff were very well informed and did all they could to ensure the least amount of inconvenience was caused to the residents. Rooms were adequate size and very well presented. Overall a fabulous place for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, Operations Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Dr_Gupta_1,
I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Mercure London Bridge Hotel. I agree the location is very good - close to London Bridge Southwark and Waterloo underground stations and famous tourist attractions including the Shakespeare globe, Tate Modern and Borough Market. We have now completed the renovations of the lobby area and the improvements are very great. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Kind Regards,
Giovanni De Marco
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After checking the different rooms available on line I decided to fork out a little more and go for the privilege room. They sent me an email stating some of the building was under construction so I was already prepared for that when I arrived. However, the temporary reception area was extremely small and to get to the rooms you had to walk through the even smaller restaurant!

Upon entering my room, I immediately noticed this was nothing like the picture I viewed online. So I went to question the staff about this and they advised me this picture was for promotional purposes and is not ready yet (even though it was the pic shown to me online and in my email reservation confirmation). The bathroom was nothing of a decent standard and the water leaked everywhere when taking a shower

Lastly, the heating in my room did not work and the fan was projecting a loud noise all night making it very hard to sleep. To put it simply this hotel is nothing more than an extremely overpriced travelodge and I would recommend anyone to waste their money and check in to the travelodge or premier inn 5 mins around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, Operations Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Duane W,
Thank you your review of our hotel.Apologies for not living up to your expectations. We’ll be sure to look into the points that you have raised makes improvements where necessary. I hope we can welcome you back to Mercure London Bridge Hotel some time in the future. Do feel free to call me on +44 207 902 0800 or email me on h2814-rd@accor.com to discuss further.
Kind Regards,
Giovanni De Marco
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge , Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in London
#263 Luxury Hotel in London
#301 Family Hotel in London
#323 Business Hotel in London
#339 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish AA 4 star hotel located in the heart of the London Bankside, 10 minutes walk from the City and close to Waterloo Station, London Bridge, the Tate Modern, the Millenium Bridge, Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, St Pauls Cathedral and the London Eye. Nearest tube stations are London Bridge (Jubilee and Northern Line, 7 min) and Southwark (Jubilee Line, 5 min). Offers 144 en-suite bedrooms, the critically acclaimed Loft Restaurant and Bar, a gym, 24 hour room service, 4 meeting rooms for up to 60 people and WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside
Mercure London Bridge England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure London Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.