We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Russell Square, London WC1 5BB, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #625 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed at the imperial hotel in London, found this hotel good value for money with a great location spot for site seeing. we found the room clean and the full English breakfast was lovely. The staff was very helpful and friendly. will go there again.

Room Tip: room at the back of hotel, off main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    528
    446
    146
    90
See reviews for
248
383
150
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had a 4 night break in this hotel. Rooms lovely and clean, staff very helpful, and cooked breakfast was hot, even had good porridge, service in the dining room was also very good, no waiting or hanging around. Great central location, short walk to Covent Garden or catch the underground, just 2 mins away. Also had a nice hotel bar with seats outside and very cheap for a hotel bar. They also served food, very nice.

Room Tip: We had a room on 2nd floor, only thing we did not like , toilet and bathroom separate, so no washba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor, SW England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

An excellent choice of hotel for our theatre trip. A clean spacious executive room with an up to date bathroom, sofa, comfi chair, TV etc. Only thing missing - biscuits!
Our package included dinner on the first night and a river trip. Excellent value for money. The hotel was modern and comfortable and plenty of lifts.
Great evening meal (especially the sweet trolley) and plenty of choice for breakfast.
We did ask for a view which we didn't get but it was fine we could see plenty of blue sky and watch (but not hear) the planes coming in to land at Heathrow. Our room was really quiet - it was hard to believe we were in the middle of London. Our second comment on the booking form was that it was a special occasion - that was not acknowledged.
We would stay here again and recommend the hotel - even more if the receptionist had smiled and was a little more friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Nothing about this hotel is positive….as a Londoner now living abroad I am ashamed that such terrible "accommodation" can be called a hotel……stayed as part of a conference booked by others… mausoleum of an entrance, the wifi apparently never works in the rooms….the beds have springs that wreck your body…..and CLEAN IT IS NOT……I would never accept a free room here…let alone pay for one…..this chain is a rip off……can't wait to get out and have a wash….

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Two ladies in London (Friday to Sunday) and we booked this hotel based on an amazing deal which included hotel parking if required, full breakfast every morning, three course lunch or dinner at a choice of four restaurants and a welcome drink.

We booked a twin room and allocated room 717. I cannot complain at all about this room. It was spotless, the beds were very comfortable and the view from the window over the Square was fantastic. The bathroom was modern and again spotless.

Once we had checked in (the huge key has now changed to the modern 'card' system) we made our way over to Jaques Wine Bar which is a short stroll from the Imperial Hotel. Service was fantastic and I had prawn cocktail and my aunt had pate - delicious. Fish and chips and chicken in a white wine and mushroom sauce, again lovely. Dessert was also lovely.

On the Saturday morning we had breakfast. It's buffet style and plentiful and so fresh. We then decided to check the menu at the Bedford Hotel which is literally around the corner but in the evening we opted for the Carvery at the Imperial Hotel because we'd been out all day and very tired. Choice of three beautiful meats - beef, lamb and pork. (starter and dessert again included). The only complaint I have was that we waited a while for someone to carve our meat so we ended up serving ourselves and when the chef eventually arrived he was a little disgruntled! But we gave as good as we got haha. As lovely as the carvery was upon reflection we would have gone to the Bedford Hotel bar because the menu was quite extensive.

The domestic side of it - they work very hard and even though we kept our room very tidy they still cleaned and replaced tea/coffee etc.

Reception were great, hotel information - great. All in all I would recommend this hotel with this type of deal. Its the first time I've returned from London and realised that I have spent very little. Oh, and the welcome drinks - we had cocktails which were fantastic.

Next time I travel to London I will be using this package again, especially with the tube station being literally around the corner.

Room Tip: Room 717 - twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were a group of friends, we found the Imperial an excellent hotel to stay. A good central location. The staff were friendly, and very helpful in every respect. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, well cooked and fresh, a good choice to choose from. We also ate dinner here and we all enjoyed our meals, again the evening staff were attentive and helpful. On our departure we were given help by a member of staff with our luggage. The reception staff were on hand any time to help.

Room Tip: We had twin and single rooms 7th & 8th floor, with interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We visit Londn fairly regularly to see family, meet up with friends or just go to the theatre or exhibitions. We prefer this to the President as one gets served coffee at breakfast rather than having to queue for it and also the rooms are somewhat better. We have stayed here 4 times now and always request a quiet room and this has always been done (overlooking the courtyard). The breakfst is basic English but OK. the Night and Bay bar is lively and gives an interesting street view for those who like to people watch whilst the Atrium Bar is Art Deco luxurious with waiter/waitress service and good live but not obtrusive jazz. Prices in both are good by London standards.

It is in an excellent location and, for the price, I don't think you can argue - looking at the most recent review - anyone who expects chic for this price is mental!

There are loads of good restaurants within a short walk and the tube (Picadilly Line) is literally 2 minutes walk whilst Holborn is only about 10 minutes (Central Line).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Russell Square, London WC1 5BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, located near British Museum, Covent Garden & London University, adjacent to Russell Square tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London, England
Hotel Imperial London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.