We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Visit - 5 night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Russell Square, London WC1 5BB, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #620 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Co Durham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“3rd Visit - 5 night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is my 3rd time at the Imperial. A good standard 3* hotel, friendly staff, large quiet reception area, nice and clean everywhere, comfy beds, very warm rooms, good cooked breakfast, good value and quick room service. Excellent location for Kings Cross, Euston, Oxford Street, Covant Garden, Trafalgar Square and theatreland. Wi-fi is available but slow, otherwise no complaints. A high up room overlooking the courtyard should ensure a quiet night.

Room Tip: High up overlooking the courtyard will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    496
    412
    133
    88
See reviews for
235
357
138
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We live in the US, and travel to the UK every year, staying a few days in a London Hotel. We have now stayed at the Imperial 3 times, each for 2 / 3 days. By American standards its not great, but by London standards it's very good value for money. It looks a bit dated, and tired externally, but is very clean, has great views over Russell Square from the front of the hotel. The reception is well organized. It has good TV , WiFI and tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. We tried the breakfast for the first time this trip (included in the price). We didn't expect much, but it was excellent, with great service from a very enthusiastic team organized by a couple of very efficient overseers. If you stay here much sure you try it.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Russell square. Great views of the London skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful 2 night break in London did everything I wanted to and the hotel was just a five minute walk from Euston station and 2 minutes walking distance from Russell Square tube also the hop on hop off sightseeing bus leaves just up the road outside the sister hotel Royal National so for location it is spot on! The hotel itself wasn't great. Lacked charm and character - the system with the keys is very old fashioned (you have to hand them in each time you go out!). I had booked a single room and it reminded me of a bed sit. The bathroom was a decent size and good wardrobe space but my bed was tiny and soooo uncomfortable. The walls were paper thin and I could hear everytime somebody moved next door. Breakfast was included in my rate but I decided against it because I didnt fancy the queue each morning (time was of the essence!!!). I really did have a lovey time in London and to be fair I only used the hotel to sleep in but next time I will look for something a little more upmarket!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennyloanhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for the weekend with my sisters and aunt. Wasn't sure what to expect as some reviews weren't very good for this hotel. However, I was pleasantly surprised. Don't know if they have carried out any refurbishment or not but the reception was lovely and clean, bedrooms looked recently decorated and newly carpeted. Duvet covers could be doing with modernising though! Staff were always pleasant, courteous and helpful. Cannot find much fault at all. Great location for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over Russell Square are good. Windows are single glazed therefore may be a bit no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have stayed in the hotel for 4 days sharing a room with a friend. The location is good and the hotel could have been a very good one. However, it misses several crucial things: 1) NO or VERY slow internet WIFI. My friend and I could not get any WIFI signal in our room. Even in the lobby, the signal is very poor. 2) No ventilation in the bathroom. 3) VERY NOISY if your room is facing the street, even in the middle of the nights. 4) VERY rude and unprofessional staffs. The staffs are very impatient and unfriendly. They first insisted that their WIFI is perfect and refused to send someone to check the reception in our room. Then they wanted to charge 50 pounds for any assist they could offer for the service which was FREE (WIFI). Both my friend and I have engineering degrees and we knew the signal is not there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Just come back from a 2 night stay here with a friend.
Upon arrival, the reception area is nice and staff are friendly.
We had a twin room. The beds were comfortable and the tea and coffee making facilities were ok, but the kettle needs updating and more coffee would be nice.
There is a nice view of Russell Square from the room and shops are a short walk away.
Gala Casino is also attached to the hotel.
The bathroom and toilet are separate, but this suited us fine.
The bathroom was very clean with power shower.
However, the toilet seemed quite smelly, like it needed a good clean.
The WIFI didn't work well at all as we were on the 3rd floor, not sure if it would work better on lower floors?
Beds were made and towels and toiletries were replenished well. Room was clean.
There is also lots of storage in the room, big desk, mirror, television and 2 chairs.
Breakfast is a bit of an experience...food is nice, loads to choose from, but you all sit together in rows and this was quite uncomfortable. There are no tables on their own and you feel like you can't have a conversation as everyone is so close together. Feels a bit like a school canteen.
Don't go between 9-10 as its very busy then.
Our breakfasts felt very rushed and I would probably have breakfast in the room next time.
Staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. A member of staff went out into the cold and got us a taxi while we waited inside, good customer service.
Best thing about the hotel really is its location, it was very easy to get to places.
I am looking forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel is great value for money and in a perfect location, Russell Square underground is just round the corner (Piccadilly line), 12min walk Euston Station (£4 taxi). British Museum 4 min walk. Tesco metro opp underground.

Booked a single and a twin with a cot and requested a high floor overlooking the courtyard (less noise) and if possible the rooms near each other.

Reception staff were very friendly and allowed us to check in early as the rooms were ready. Was pleasantly surprised to find our rooms were right next door to each other on the 7th floor overlooking the courtyard (745,746 i think). Could even see the BT tower.

Both rooms were very clean and modern, twin was spacious and had a double and a single bed with plenty room for the cot. No complaints with the single. Comfy beds. Ensuite with good powerful shower over the bath, Flat screen tv, Desk, Tea/Coffee making facilities, Trouser press, Hairdryer, Free wifi.

Plenty of eating and drinking options within the hotel and in the area. Ncp parking and Gala casino at the main entrance.

Check out was at 11am so for only £1 we could leave our bags with the conceirge and pick them up later.

Overall this hotel is in a great safe location in central london with good transport links, staff were helpful and friendly and the room was clean, modern and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: For less traffic noise ask for a high floor overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Russell Square, London WC1 5BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, located near British Museum, Covent Garden & London University, adjacent to Russell Square tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London, England
Hotel Imperial London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.