We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a king!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hazlitt's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hazlitt's to your Saves list
Hazlitt's
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Frith Street | Soho Square, London W1D 3JA, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #219 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Felt like a king!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Great location, provided us with an upgrade, friendly beyond belief, great soap, carried our bags up the stairs and felt like a guest not a number! The wifi worked great - their honesty bar allows you to have a drink and pay on your own. The Prussian Room was great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    130
    31
    15
    8
See reviews for
22
234
34
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is not my usual hotel type. It's old, really old. Full of antiques and small. But the staff couldn't have been nicer and the rooms were very unique. There's a old world, sophisticated air about this place. An honor bar was tucked away in the library and a few sitting rooms were scattered around the first floor to give you a wonderful place to rest after a day of walking around. But it wasn't all tweedy and old wood... there were plenty of modern amenities - a sleek bathroom, wireless, AC, and a flat panel TV.

And the best part was the location! Right in Soho. Restaurants, shows, and little shops were around every corner. And Soho Square was less than a street away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street like ours. Our room was so quiet that we couldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here with a group of friends to celebrate a birthday (50th) The staff were absolutely lovely from the moment we arrived. The rooms in the hotel are beautiful. It is decorated throughout to such a high standard and the little quirky touches are just great. We really felt like we were so lucky to stay here, almost like house guests rather than paying customers! The attention to detail is second to none from the warm and sincere welcome to the honesty bar in the library, arranging bacon sandwiches and champagne on the morning of our arrival, recommendations for local places to eat and drink and its fab location, close to theatres and shops. It is a small hotel that is really special and we will definitely stay again when visiting London. The staff absolutely made the stay. They are attentive with out being intrusive and immediately made us feel that they were genuinely keen to make our visit special, which it really was.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Not the normal mainstream hotel I usually stay in, small, loads of character with friendly personable staff. Although the hotel is old with lot of old furniture and pictures its really clean and functional, my room was very comfortable with everything you would expect in a modern hotel. The only down side is there is no hotel bar or restaurant which isn't a massive issue but its nice to have somewhere to meet if there is a group of you

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,453 reviews 1,453 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 220 cities Reviews in 220 cities
4,095 helpful votes 4,095 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here mid week on business & thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Friendly & helpful staff give you a warm welcome & nothing is too much trouble.
My room was spacious & quirky with lots of individual touches. Comfy bed, feather pillows ensure a good nights sleep. All good here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is just such a special place to stay. I work in events so stay in a lot of hotels - so finding something different, personal and gorgeous is the main aim when taking a break. Hazlitt's location is brilliant bang smack in the middle of Soho. We stayed to the rear of the hotel (Dr John Snow room) which was only on the first floor but SO QUIET I couldn't believe we were in Soho. The staff are justifiably proud of the hotel and know all the history - they will bend over backwards to meet your requests. The story of the building is wonderful and the former occupants extremely interesting. It's like staying in an amazing family home that's been around for generations. Don't let the fact it has no on-site restaurant put you off - either order room service or get out amongst it in Soho. And fear not - the hotel is maintained continuously so there is nothoing old and cruddy about it. Fresh, fun and quintessially English. We are going back for sure.

Room Tip: Front of hotel rooms may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel was a complete surprise booked by my husband.
wow what an absolute stunning find.
On entering the hotel, we were greeted with a friendly hello and smile and given all the information we needed.
We did only stay one night, but very well worth it.
It has real oldy worldy charm and character and alot of history behind it.
We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: we didnt see the other rooms, but you are in a busy area of london , but all fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hazlitt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlitt's

Address: 6 Frith Street | Soho Square, London W1D 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#160 Luxury Hotel in London
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#287 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlitt's 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazlitt's occupies a group of historic Georgian houses in Frith Street, off Soho Square. In 1718 there were no modern conveniences, but we have updated the plumbing, installed bathrooms and replaced most of the candles with electricity.At Hazlitt’s our philosophy is simple. We have set out to create the kind of accommodation we ourselves would love to find in the heart of one of the World’s great cities. Civilised surroundings; old fashioned hospitality; friendly efficient service; a location away from the roar of traffic, but within a very short walk of the most important attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Splendia, EasyToBook, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hazlitt's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlitt`s Hotel London
Hazlitts Hotel London
Hazlitts London
Hazlitt's London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hazlitt's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.