We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy @ Hazlitts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hazlitt's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hazlitt's to your Saves list
Hazlitt's
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Frith Street | Soho Square, London W1D 3JA, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #223 of 1,062 Hotels in London
essex, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Happy @ Hazlitts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for my partners birthday having arranged a night out in London - posh meal, theatre etc as wanted somewhere old, quirky, romantic and gay friendly.
The staff nor the hotel disappointed either of us. You think just cos a hotels in SoHo, it's gay friendly, but I've learnt that the higher the star rating, it doesn't always mean that the staff or the clientele are any more accepting despite being in a metrosexual city, but I'm glad to say this is not the case at Hazlitts at all.

From the moment we arrived, two ladies that were stressed, running later than we wanted to be, dinner reservation at posh restaurant and chances of getting there fading (we had already had to ring once to get the reservation put back), the staff at the hotel immediately sprung into action and did all they could to lift our moods and get our evening back on track.
Having booked in they showed us to our room, spent time explaining how things worked, pointed out where everything was etc and then left us to get ready whilst they rang the restaurant to put our dinner reservation back again and organise us transport... Freeing us up to get ready and go out and spoil ourselves!

After a gorgeous dinner we returned to the hotel and locked ourselves away in our room, which was lovely, clean and quiet. We didn't hear other guests and raided the mini bar to our hearts content. Drinks were quite pricey, but what the heck..

The room itself was very pleasant.. a bit pricey for its size in comparison to other hotels I've paid less for that have more facilities, but they have been on the edge of the city, larger and I guess cheaper because of their location.
Hazlitts has everything in walking distance.. bars, restaurants, theatres, clubs, the shops.
It is a boutique hotel and does it very well.

My only complaint... The sound of running water after you flushed the toilet.. it trickled constantly all night. Slightly annoying yes, but not enough to bother staff with during the middle of the night.

That aside, we had a thoroughly pleasant stay...cut short by being rather unwell.
Maybe we will get back there to fulfill our stay one day :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    112
    31
    13
    7
See reviews for
21
204
30
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We were staying for the first two nights of our honeymoon. Upon arrival we were greeted by a beautifully decorated reception and quickly shown our room. The Sir Anthony Bateman room we had been allocated was very dramatic. Furnished with Antiques and interesting features everywhere you look this really topped off our special day nicely. With antique fittings you expect some noise but we were not disturbed during our stay although our 10 foot tall headboard banged on the wall when moving about a bit. Hopefully we did not disturb others. Overall the experience was superb and I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had 3 nights here and booked a superior room. The good points are a great location, loads of character and good staff. The down side was no heating in the small room and bathroom which had no bath. After attempts by the staff to get the heating going we were offered another room but woould have had to chande again the next day. We said 3 rooms in 3 days was not acceptable and mentioned that they had a suite available. They checked and said they had so we moved there at an extra cost of £100.00. The suite was big and very nice so we were pleased, though the bathroom was very cold again, the lovely old bed hard and the noise from the room above horrific. You could hear every footstep, voice, creaking floorboard ......and worse! We enjoyed our stay in London but could not recommend the hotel to anyone who dislikes cold or noise disturbing sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Another fabulous building, like The Rookery in Clerkenwell.

However, the service was about 40% of what I experienced at the Rookery Hotel (gorgeous place), which was very disappointing.

The room was almost as good but the amenities and service were lacking. For example - the shower head in the bath stopped working and when I reported it in the morning the reception staff didn't seem interested. A minor point was there was just one litre bottles of water in the room at 5 quid a pop - I'd usually drink tap water but it was warm from the bathroom tap.

Seems petty to list these two things but it makes a difference when forking out close to 200 quid a night. Shame the two hotels can't line up the service offered - The Rookery wins hands down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in late May. The hotel is charming - every room named after a historical character. We asked to be in a room at the back - facing away from Frith Street. Quietest and darkest room I've ever stayed in. Room had a huge 4 poster bed and a writing desk in an alcove window looking into the lane next door. Front desk staff were exceptionally friendly, did lots for us. We loved the honesty bar as we were able to down a whiskey or two on the way in late at night. Met a few good people in the lounge as well.
We also liked the location - immediately south of Soho square so we were right in the thick of it and walking distance from just about everywhere.
This hotel doesn't have all the mod cons, but if charm and history is of interest then this is worth a bit.

Room Tip: Ask to face away from Frith street - these rooms seem to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed for one night and were wowed by the weclome, quirky rooms, lovely features and location. Champagne I had arranged a birthday surprise was on ice as requested (I got a phone call prior to the night we were staying to confirm the booking and arrange the champagne I had requested), the staff were all most welcoming and helpful. Location cannot be beaten with Soho on the doorstep - but not intrusive! All round a great stay and experience.

Room Tip: This is not a standard hotel - if you love uniformity and bog standard fittings and fixtures then th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have just returned from London and a very nice stay at Hazlitt's. Hazlitt's has an enormous amount of charm, the staff is friendly and welcoming, and the location could not be better for theatre-going and restaurants. There is no dining room, but there is 24 hour room service. We chose to go out to breakfast. The neighborhood is hopping so there are lots of choices.
Like many London boutique hotels, the rooms tend to be small, so we sprung for a step up from the standard room. Hazlitt's is pricey, but it was worth it to be in Soho.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hazlitt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlitt's

Address: 6 Frith Street | Soho Square, London W1D 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#161 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#238 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlitt's 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazlitt's occupies a group of historic Georgian houses in Frith Street, off Soho Square. In 1718 there were no modern conveniences, but we have updated the plumbing, installed bathrooms and replaced most of the candles with electricity.At Hazlitt’s our philosophy is simple. We have set out to create the kind of accommodation we ourselves would love to find in the heart of one of the World’s great cities. Civilised surroundings; old fashioned hospitality; friendly efficient service; a location away from the roar of traffic, but within a very short walk of the most important attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hazlitt's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlitt`s Hotel London
Hazlitts Hotel London
Hazlitts London
Hazlitt's London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hazlitt's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.