We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blast from the past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hazlitt's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hazlitt's to your Saves list
Hazlitt's
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Frith Street | Soho Square, London W1D 3JA, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #210 of 1,066 Hotels in London
United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A blast from the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Last year we stayed at their sister hotel The Rookery, and the Hazlitt's is a worthy sibling. Staying in the Sir James Bateman room was like stepping back in time. It had a wonderful double door entrance area with a closet and safe, the bathroom had a great step-up tub/shower, and the room itself was lush and comfortable. The hotel is rife with cozy sitting areas, and you could not ask for a better location, just around the corner from the theater district.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    115
    31
    13
    7
See reviews for
21
207
32
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I found this hotel almost by accident, wanting to be near Piccadilly Circus. Good location, and not at all standard! Most beautifully decorated room in an old building, and the service was good. Unfortunately I only stayed for one night, but would like to go back. The value for money is really good!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've stayed here twice now for work, and really enjoyed both stays. This place has a lot of quirks to it, from the crooked staircases and slanted floors to the random little entrance-ways inside the rooms.I stayed here because it's interesting, and historic, and not like every other cookie-cutter hotel. Plus you get the great location in Soho, and the warm reception from the staff.

Room Tip: Sir James Bateman was great for me. The rainfall shower head was a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My telephone booking was made accurately and efficiently by a friendly staff member. The location of the hotel in Soho could not be more perfect if you are planning on an evening in the west end. It's about a 5-10 minute walk from Leicester Square and Tottenham Court Road tube stations. The frontage of the hotel looks modest, and to access you press a buzzer (the reception is staffed 24 hours). The reception staff were absolutely delightful, very helpful and friendly. We were able to leave our luggage before check in so that we could explore without our heavy bags. When we arrived back in the evening the bags were in the room waiting for us.

We stayed in the prussian resident room which is at the front of the hotel. It was large and exquisitely decorated. The furnishings and surroundings are beautiful in a tasteful traditional english style. My 4 year old daughter was enchanted by the room and in particular the four poster bed.

The street is home to some lively bars and while there was a little noise as the customers chatted on the street, it was actually quite pleasant to feel the atmosphere of the area.

Do bear in mind that this hotel does not have a lift, and also no restaurant. There is a massive variety of cafes and restaurants nearby though. We brought takeout to our room (great fun).

Won't be able to afford to visit this hotel again but it was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband booked a two night stay at Hazlitt's to celebrate my 40th birthday. Positioned perfectly in Soho, it was ideal to go out for dinner and drinks. Our room, James Bateman, was on the first floor facing the street. Others have said not to stay on the front, but actually it wasn't that bad. The bar opposite wasn't that noisy at all, even for a weekend. The noise which I didn't appreciate was the empty bottles being collected at 6am on a Sunday morning! Overall, fantastic weekend, can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I know lodging in London is expensive and maybe there's nothing comparable in Soho, but I have never paid so much money in my life for a hotel. I was very disappointed. I arrived soaked from a driving rain about 1 PM. I was told I couldn't get into my room until 3 PM. I was put in a tiny parlor to wait. Like a fool I ordered a sandwich which arrived 45 minutes later. I had to pull an easy chair up to a coffee table to eat.
At exactly 3 PM I was ushered up to my room. A handsome four poster bed dominated the small room. There were two straight back chairs. The three lights in the room were too dim. I was told that the electrical system could not handle brighter bulbs. During the day I sat on a very narrow window "seat" to read and write by daylight. The bathroom was brighter. I actually moved a chair in there one night so I could see to read. The shower dribbled water and the toilet did not flush fully. Except for requiring me to wait two hour in soaked clothes, the staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was clean.
The hotel is 18th century. The rooms are not numbered but are named after "famous" people who stayed in them. The impression I got was that the place had been coasting on an old reputation for a long time. I suspect there are people with a lot of money who like this sort of stay in the past.
I wanted to be in Soho to be close to the theaters. It was nice to be able to walk home in the evening after a show.

Room Tip: Do not arrive before 3 PM. Do not order food. Bring a flashlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spent our wedding night here in October after celebrating our wedding reception at the Union Club around the corner. Hazlitts was a lovely house of calm, full of character away from the hustle and bustle of Soho. Perfect end to our wedding day. The night porter was really friendly, congratulating us and giving us the whistle-stop version of the history of Mr William Hazlitt. Our room was comfortable with a lovely roll top bath in the bathroom. Room service was excellent - the celebrating (bucks fizz) or recuperating (bloody Mary) additions to the breakfast options are a nice touch. Would recommend this hotel to travellers and Londoners alike.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hazlitt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlitt's

Address: 6 Frith Street | Soho Square, London W1D 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#231 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlitt's 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazlitt's occupies a group of historic Georgian houses in Frith Street, off Soho Square. In 1718 there were no modern conveniences, but we have updated the plumbing, installed bathrooms and replaced most of the candles with electricity.At Hazlitt’s our philosophy is simple. We have set out to create the kind of accommodation we ourselves would love to find in the heart of one of the World’s great cities. Civilised surroundings; old fashioned hospitality; friendly efficient service; a location away from the roar of traffic, but within a very short walk of the most important attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hazlitt's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlitt`s Hotel London
Hazlitts Hotel London
Hazlitts London
Hazlitt's London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hazlitt's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.