We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific option for families (if you understand the constraints)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Collingham Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Collingham Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Collingham Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26-27 Collingham Gardens, London SW5 0HN, England (Earls Court)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Direct Booking Discount
Ranked #61 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Terrific option for families (if you understand the constraints)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our party was two adults and three teens for eight days. We needed three bedrooms to make it work. After reading reviews here, we specifically booked one of the 3-bedroom apartments on the top floor (Rm 151).

Positives:
--GREAT location on a beautiful street. Near to Gloucester Station (Picadilly, Circle and District lines) but far enough to be completely peaceful and quiet.
--Reasonable price (for London) if you need lots of space.
--Modern, well-stocked kitchen cut down on need to eat out every meal.
--Clean, up-to-date bathrooms. Comfortable beds.
--High floor with nice deck and virtually no noise.
--Front door is attended 24-hours and desk staff was very helpful and accommodating.

Negatives:
--One portable air conditioner in living room worked very well but we had extraordinarily nice weather. Be aware that rooms would have been very uncomfortable in warm weather. (This is an issue widely in London as a/c is definitely not a universal amenity.)
--Elevator is very small and very slow. We were gone most of every day and worked around this without much issue. There is nothing to be done about this but be aware.
-WiFi is absurd. It was complimentary with our room but effectively non-functional. If you need to get any work done or rely on the Internet for entertainment, this is not an option that will work for you.

Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: High floor for quiet but be aware of elevator constraints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed a Happy and Comfortable stay with us. Our beds are very comfortable with Egyptian Cotton Sheets that feel heavenly! With 6 days a week Maid Service and nice fluffy towels changed daily we try to think of everything possible to give all the family a memorable time. We have a large film dvd library and 24 hr concierge, a great selection of glossy magazines and daily newspaper. We have written a book of tips and recommendations to assist in planning your trip. The Collingham is privileged to be in the desirable exclusive area of South Kensington. I see that you mention that we have a small lift, but it is sufficient for this size building and does 3 persons or 2 with luggage.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    192
    43
    12
    2
See reviews for
399
142
33
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at these apartments in summer 2013. The area is very quiet and residential, no noise, despite it being very close to the city center. The hotel stuff was very friendly and always ready to help. the flat was very clean, everyday service, and very well equipped (kitchen had everything needed, washing machine, iron, hair dryer). The rooms were spacious and light. I would like to thank again the hotel stuff for their professionalism and customer oriented approach. will come back again for sure. Jeanna

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest from Moscow,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Collingham Serviced Apartments. Our guests love the fact that we are an apartment hotel as the additional space is very refreshing in a big city, offering you space to relax. We value our personalised service and so I was pleased to read your comments about our staff. With regards to our location, we are a few minutes from Gloucester Road underground and close to shops/supermarket, and short walk to Knightsbridge and Museums. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We are leaving after a 4 night trip -- we are exhausted because the walls are paper thin and we had neighbors who made lots of noise until the wee hours of the morning -- the 24 hour help did nothing to help but apologize

We were also initially put in s basement apartment - 20 steps below the ground floor -- that was awful too -- but we were then upgraded.
The apartments are large but the place is a bit run done in the hallways

The location is great

I would not recommend if leap is important

Room Tip: Make sure not in a basement room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We strive to provide excellent service to our guest whose comfort, requirements and safety remain our principle concern. I very much regret that we did not live up to our reputation where your stay was concerned and equally regret that we were unable to ensure your complete satisfaction. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

i was down in London on business with 2 colleagues and we left booking accommodation to the last minute and booked this through a city letting website, so weren't really sure what to expect.
Arrived late on the first evening (bonus that they have 24 hours reception cover) as we hadn't told them we wanted twin room instead of a double, the front of house chap (really lovely guy) came up and gave us additional linen so we could separate the beds ourselves and make up which was really kind of him.
There was a noise problem on the first evening - I though it was nearby neighbours having a party, but it turned out to be the guys downstairs having a party, but we didn't realise this until about 2.30am at which point they had turned the music down slightly - however two of us had no sleep at all that night, but it wasn't the managements fault and when we explained to them in the morning what had happened they assured us that they would speak to these guest and make sure it didn't happen again - which it didn't (mind you if it had it would have had 3 irate Scottish women, banging on their door!!).
The apartment itself was really spacious for London - seperate bathroom, nice wee kitchen, adequate living/dining space and a reasonably sized bedroom - all very clean, and stocked with everything we needed - the big bonus was that we had outside space as well - a lovely big balcony, which was great as we had breakfast out there in the morning as the weather was great.
overall very impressed with the accommodation and we thought the service was exceptional, this area is relatively quiet and really convenient for doing business in town and we will most definitely be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Ladies from Scotland,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a nice time visiting London. It is a great City and we are lucky to be in a fashionable and affluent area with easy access for sightseeing and shopping. We value your comments, and hope to have the chance to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in August 2013 ,nice apartments very hot although we had portable air con units which were like mini hair dryers ,not really cool air conditioning ,nether the less we still enjoyed the location,the ambediance and the staff were nice ,the only reason I am not giving the full excellent score is because no matter what the managers says in reply to this to charge an extra £ 40 for 2 nights for a sofa bed which is like sleeping on a camp bed ,even though its still part of the apartment you have paid for and rented is in my opinion what is happening with the economy at the moment , let's get the booking and sneek a few extras in which the customer is probably unaware of because they have already thought everything is sorted,it's just lie saying you can use your kitchen but we will charge you to use utensils and gas etc ,pointless but gets my back up but these people will never put themselves in customers shoes and understand

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We strive to provide excellent service to our guest whose comfort, requirements and safety remain our principle concern.
All feedback is gratefully received and used to both evaluate and improve upon the service we provide to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have been staying in the hotel for 4 nights and they upgraded our stay to a room with Balcony. Very nice room sizes and beds. No issues and it was great. We had to move to our "normal" room for the next two nights but unfortunately the previous people were smokers and smoked in the room. While not the hotel's fault, they should try to enforce the no smoking policy. With no where to move we're stuck until they can find us something else for tomorrow....oh and to add to the smoke, the people in the basement unit come out on their walkout to smoke so that only comes up to add to our sore throats. Honestly, I'd change hotels if I wasn't locked into paying and could move the kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
I appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience at The Collingham, we greatly value hearing all our guest’s feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not to your liking. Please be assured that I will share your comments with the rest of the team as we constantly strive to improve our guests’ experience.
I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Collingham Serviced Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

3 short blocks from the Gloucester Rd. Tube, surrounded by several great restaurants and with a most competent and friendly staff, these charming apartments have full kitchens. In one of the most central locations these apartments are in a quiet residential neighborhood. here are the views from our window.

Room Tip: The General Manager Beverley Hopley has assembled a book of recommendations which is in each room, r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
The Management and Staff at Collingham Serviced Apartments (4 stars) are delighted that you had a wonderful holiday in London, and that you enjoyed a welcoming and memorable stay here. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with other trip advisor visitors. We hope that this might encourage them to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Collingham Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingham Serviced Apartments

Address: 26-27 Collingham Gardens, London SW5 0HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in London
#51 Luxury Hotel in London
#66 Family Hotel in London
#98 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Collingham Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingham is situated in fashionable South Kensington, within easy walking distance of Gloucester Road, South Kensington and Earls Court underground stations. Close to the superb shopping areas of Knightsbridge and Chelsea's Kings Road. All apartments are fully furnished to a high standard. All apartments (except for the studio) have a sofa bed which is suitable for sleeping 1 additional adult or 2 children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Collingham Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingham Serviced Apartments Hotel London
Collingham Apartments London
Collingham Apartments Hotel London
Collingham Serviced Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collingham Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.