We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marylebone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Marylebone Hotel to your Saves list
The Marylebone Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Welbeck Street, London W1G 8DN, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 1,066 Hotels in London
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Central location, yet quiet area. Room was great and clean. Nice luxurious bathroom for Europe. Good internet signal. Newspaper at your door every morning. Amazing stay!

Cons: Could you use more lifts. Had to wait morning and at dinner time for a lift with space in it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest

I am delighted you had a “great stay”, thank you for taking the time to write about us.

We hang our hats on delivering exceptional service through genuine people and I am happy to read that this stood out for you. I fully take your comment regarding the elevators on board, we have 3 guest elevators which is ample most of the time but I can understand that it could be busier during peak times and apologize if this caused any inconvenience.

Thank you for your feedback, I hope we can welcome you back very soon!

Best wishes

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    454
    127
    27
    22
See reviews for
267
739
113
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I only have good things to say about this hotel; friendly, helpful, genuine staff, clean spaceous and comfortable rooms with excellent gym, pool and spa. There is nothing more you could want for a business trip or holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about us, your feedback and support is greatly appreciated.

I am very happy to hear that we are ticking all the boxes for you and that you only have positive feedback about the facilities and our service. If there is ever anything I or my team can do to make you more comfortable please do not hesitate to ask.

It would be a pleasure to meet you when you are next with us, please ask for me if you do have time and I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best wishes

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Nearby oxford road and Bond Street this is a Great Choice to stay. We stayed in a suite in the 7 th floor very quiet and spacious. The breakfast and the Dinner at the inhouse Restaurants were excellent, staff very friendly and helpful. Even when we came with 8 persons they arranged a table for us. If you have enough Energy After a Long Day of Shopping and Sightseeing a well equipped gym is waiting for you. I can recommend the Hotel very much.o

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest

It was a wonderful pleasure to have you with us and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the Marylebone.

Marylebone Village is simply brilliant, it is only 5 minutes walk from Oxford and Bond Street as you mentioned, but what makes it truly special is the wonderful array of restaurants, café’s, bars and independent little shops that create such a vibrant atmosphere in this quaint little Village, right in the middle of Town. I am happy to hear we managed to accommodate your restaurant reservation and that you enjoyed the incredible facilities at The Third Space, Spa and Leisure Club.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope to meet you when you are next with us.

Kind regards

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Unusually attentive service (especially from Gunther) makes the difference every time. Staff were eager to help and paid attention to details. Everything from booking a cab, ordering room service or navigating the minibar bill was made easier and more pleasant. Location is also a plus, as Marylebone is a more manageable, less crowded, more sophisticated shopping and browsing neighborhood than Oxford Street and Regent Street. Overall, I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Some rooms seem to have a higher ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Wow, I am very happy to hear you had such a great stay with us, thank you for choosing the Marylebone.

It is always incredibly motivating when we receive such great feedback regarding our service and our people and even more rewarding when a particular employee really stood out for the service they delivered. Gunther is a wonderful ambassador for our service culture and our team; he genuinely loves looking after our guests, will always go the extra mile and simply enjoys being part of our guest’s experiences. He is going to be thrilled when I share this review, thank you!

We all look forward to welcoming you back to what I hope will now be your “home away from home”.

Best wishes

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Fantastic for people wanting to walk everywhere like us. Easy to get to hop on hop off buses, local corner pubs, shopping, shows and of course sightseeing.
Staff were immaculately attired and groomed and showed us how to get places and willing to book anything for us. Loved the place for it's excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest

I am delighted you “loved” the location of our hotel and enjoyed your stay so much, thank you for telling others about the Marylebone.

Marylebone Village is an incredible spot in our City; it has a wonderful array of independent boutiques, great café’s, restaurants and bars and is only 5 minutes walk from Oxford and Bond Street!

We hope to welcome you back very soon

Kind regards

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Previously my visits to London have included staying at the Mandeville Hotel but due to a huge increase in rates, I chose the Marylebone hotel, primarily due to location (just around corner from Mandeville) I love this area! The Marylebone was offering quite competitive rates compared to everyone else so I bit the bullet and booked. I've given this hotel 4 stars to be fair; positives include great staff, lovely bathrooms, room size is quite large, and location as I've mentioned. But I don't know that I'd rebook here. My main hesitation relates to the room itself which is dull and doesn't give off even a hint of luxury that a 5* should have, and a bed and pillows which had dirty linen. But I'm sure this is probably a one off. Overall if you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a great loco, then check this one out.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest

I am delighted you chose the Marylebone for your recent stay, thank you for choosing us!

Marylebone Village is a wonderful spot, it has all the charm and vibrancy of a bustling English Village yet it remains only 5 minutes walk from Oxford and Bond Street. I am sorry you found the room to be less than expected in terms of décor and absolutely have to apologize for the fact that your linen was not absolutely spotless, as is our standard. We take great pride in our cleanliness and I can assure you we will address this isolated incident with the greatest of urgency.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you again prior to your next trip so please reach out to me on frits_potgieter@doylecollection.com. I have every intention of ensuring you experience the service, quality and comfort of accommodations we pride ourselves upon and hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

I look forward to hearing from you and very much hope we can welcome you back to the Marylebone.

Best wishes

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Booked a one night mid-week stay here as we were having dinner in Mayfair and the location was within walking distance. Located only a short walk from Oxford Circus or Bond Street tube so convenient for shopping! As we approached the hotel on foot, which is situated in a nice street, from the outside the hotel looked like a very ugly 1970's building. Once inside we were pleasantly surprised how excellent the decor and furnishings were. They offered us hot towels on checkin and water on check out which was a nice touch. We stayed on 6th floor. The corridors looked like they had recently been refurbished and everything very smart. In our superior room it was also good standard and the bed was comfy had all the facilities you required including a nespresso machine, complimentary water, slippers and robes. Breakfast was not included in our rate but we didn't have time to experience breakfast or see the pool/ spa facilities. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing us based on our proximity to Mayfair, Oxford and Bond Street and I am delighted you enjoyed your Marylebone experience.

The small little touches and details we believe are so important and genuinely add to the overall experience. The Hotel was indeed recently fully renovated, from our public spaces down to all our guest bedrooms and the vision was to create a contemporary feel that will also make our customers feel truly welcome and at home.

Thank you so much for writing about us and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind regards

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marylebone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marylebone Hotel

Address: 47 Welbeck Street, London W1G 8DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in London
#36 Business Hotel in London
#49 Family Hotel in London
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marylebone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marylebone Hotel is perfectly located in trendy Marylebone village, just a short walk from fashionable Bond Street, Selfridges, Oxford Circus, Soho, and Hyde Park. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, and access to our state-of the-art Health Club complete with 18-metre swimming pool, gym, spa, sauna and steam room. If you are feeling a little more energetic, the Health Club also offers a large variety of fitness classes in the dance studio. The Marylebone Hotel effortlessly weaves together the traditional and the modern from around the world, offering welcoming lounges to enjoy afternoon tea, a brasserie style restaurant where local produce is transformed in simple, tasty dishes by our chef, and a bar where you really must try a cocktail. It's close proximity to a variety of theatres, galleries, antique shops and London's best shopping precincts make it the perfect place whether you are travelling on business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Marylebone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marylebone Hotel London
The Marylebone Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marylebone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.