We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marylebone Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Marylebone Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Marylebone Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Welbeck Street, London W1G 8DN, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 1,075 hotels in London
Neath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“High standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Another excellent stay. Friendly and comfortable. Centrally located. Excellent facilities and good bedrooms with all that you need. Spa is good as is the general ambiance of the whole hotel. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your continued support, your loyal patronage is incredibly important to me and my team and I am delighted you have had another enjoyable experience with us.

Our sole focus is to deliver the very highest of standards in both product and personal service and your positive feedback is incredibly motivating and encouraging.

I hope we can be a “home away from home” for you for many years to come and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,021
    396
    115
    22
    19
See reviews for
223
616
96
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed in the Marylebone early January 2014 for three nights. Loved it. We had an initial hiccup at check-in regarding the type of room and then the keys not working - however the matter was resolved very professionally.
It is the service and the standard of food which makes this hotel such a great experience. Despite the fact that it is a relatively large hotel, the Doyle group have managed very successfully to make you feel that you are staying in a small boutique hotel. The lovely areas off the lobby where you can sit and relax - enjoy a tea, have a read of the papers, relax by the fire all add to the feeling of intimacy. The breakfast buffet is of exceptionally high standard. The manner in which the food is displayed, the obvious fresh high quality produce on offer, as well as the interesting choice from the menu, cooked fresh to order, puts this hotel above many others I have stayed in, in London. The avocado on toast with lemon, chillis and coriander is a delight! All served to you by staff in the breakfast room who are so very professional - discreet, efficient and exceptionally pleasant.
Finally should mention the Spa, gym and pool area: very modern , spotless and very well equipped just add to the experience. I will look no further for my future trips to London. Loved it.

Room Tip: It may be that the standard double or twin room is a bit small - try book a higher level if the budg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Wow, I am delighted you “loved” your recent stay with us, we could ask for no better feedback and I am incredibly grateful that you took the time to write about your experience.

So sorry to hear you had a few hiccups on arrival, we normally don’t have problems with room keys but I will certainly look into the matter a little further. I am very happy to hear though that you felt we dealt with the initial issue professionally and thrilled that your overall stay exceeded all your expectations. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the ambiance and feeling of intimacy throughout, our décor, design and service are very much geared towards creating warm and welcoming experiences that hopefully makes all our guests feel truly at home. The new additions to our breakfast menu have recently been included to reflect our focus on healthy, appetizing dishes sourced locally and using only the very best and freshest ingredients. I am thrilled you enjoyed both the variety and quality and will be sure to pass on your feedback to Russell, our Executive Chef, and his Brigade in 108.

To know that we are now your preferred hotel in London is absolute music to my ears and I very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etobicoke
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I have stayed in the Marylebone Hotel many times on both vacation and business trips. This hotel has never failed to deliver on providing immaculate service and a perfect venue for a long or short stay in London. The location in Marylebone is perfect for dining out, sightseeing, and shopping. It has a small, boutique hotel feel and it is hard to remember that it is one of three Doyle Collection Hotels in London - all of which are fantastic and very reasonably priced for the capital city. I would recommend staying here whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest

I am incredibly appreciative of your continued support; it is wonderful to have you and your wife as our regular, returning guests for both business and vacation, thank you for making us your London home.

Your personal recommendation is incredibly important to me and my team, word of mouth will always remain the most powerful form of referral and your support is greatly valued. If I can ever assist in any way, prior to your next stay or whilst with us, please do not hesitate to contact me personally on frits_potgieter@doylecollection.com.

I hope we will be your home away from home for many years to come and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you want to be near Oxford Street with out all the tackiness then this hotel is the place to stay. It is located less than 5 minutes to Oxford Street, the nearest tube is Bond Street (5 mins) and Marylebone high street is 2 mins away.

The service upon checking in was excellent, with very polite and friendly staff. Our room was a very spacious double, with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was bright and airy and very modern.

There is a huge choice for breakfast so everyone should be happy although we had 2 cooked breakfasts which came to £30. Not cheap.

Because of its location the hotel is great for shopping and also the nightlife but is tucked away so the is very little noise around the hotel.

The bar in the hotel is very good although the drinks are quite pricey but you are in a hotel in central London so what would you expect?

We live less than an hour away but we chose this hotel for a weekend break and were not dissapointed. The next time we stay in London will be here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us, your feedback is very important to me and my team.

I am thrilled you chose us for your weekend break and delighted you had such a positive experience. Marylebone Village is indeed a very special location, it has all the style, ambience and vibrancy of an up market English Village yet it is still only 5minutes walk from both Oxford and Bond Street, the very best of both worlds in our book! I am very happy that our staff really stood to for you, I am very fortunate to have a caring and service driven team who genuinely love looking after our guests and I think this makes all the difference.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am very pleased you will definitely return again. We look forward to welcoming you back and I hope to personally meet you when you return.

Kind regards

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Nice and quite hotel, centrally positioned. Nice room. Bathroom a bit small, but ok for a one night stay. Very warm welcome from the staff. Did not test the fitness, which looked great. Did not test breakfast.
I Will come back for sure.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Marylebone for your recent business visit to London.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were particularly impressed by the warmth and friendliness of our team. We firmly believe that our guests should always feel as if they’ve come home and I think this is even more important for guests travelling so frequently on business.

It was a pleasure to have you with us, thank you for your continued support and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina Del Rey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Such a great place to stay! Everything was perfect from A to Z. Nespresso in the room is a great addition. Staff is so polite and wonderful! I cannot find anything negative to say about this hotel! I would stay there without hesitation on my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Wow, we could not ask for a better response from our guests than “exceptional”!

I am thrilled you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and thought everything was “perfect”. So happy that our staff stood out for you, they genuinely care about our guests and will be delighted to hear that you thought they were “wonderful”.

Thank you so much for writing about us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was our first trip to London, so we stayed where our friends were staying. This hotel was beautiful. We went the day after Christmas through New Years, so it was still wonderfully decorated for Christmas. The rooms were comfortable, large and the bathroom floors were heated. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful with setting up tours and getting us theatre tickets. A few blocks from the subway, but not a bad walk. A bit expensive, but what hotel isn't in London. Overall wonderful experience. Try the steak place and the itlaian restraunts across the street,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Marylebone for your post Christmas break!

I am delighted that you enjoyed all the comforts of your room and thought the Hotel was “beautiful”. Most importantly I am pleased that our service and the genuine friendliness of our staff really made such a positive impression and I hope we can be a home away from home for you for many years to come.

Thank you for writing about us and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Marylebone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marylebone Hotel

Address: 47 Welbeck Street, London W1G 8DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in London
#24 Family Hotel in London
#39 Business Hotel in London
#44 Luxury Hotel in London
#47 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marylebone Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marylebone Hotel is perfectly located in trendy Marylebone village, just a short walk from fashionable Bond Street, Selfridges, Oxford Circus, Soho, and Hyde Park. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, and access to our state-of the-art Health Club complete with 18-metre swimming pool, gym, spa, sauna and steam room. If you are feeling a little more energetic, the Health Club also offers a large variety of fitness classes in the dance studio. The Marylebone Hotel effortlessly weaves together the traditional and the modern from around the world, offering welcoming lounges to enjoy afternoon tea, a brasserie style restaurant where local produce is transformed in simple, tasty dishes by our chef, and a bar where you really must try a cocktail. It's close proximity to a variety of theatres, galleries, antique shops and London's best shopping precincts make it the perfect place whether you are travelling on business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Agoda, Jurys Doyle, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your The Marylebone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marylebone Hotel London
The Marylebone Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marylebone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.