We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marylebone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Marylebone Hotel to your Saves list
The Marylebone Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Welbeck Street, London W1G 8DN, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The room was not ready when we arrived mid afternoon however staff arranged a complimentary drink. There was workmen noise when shown to our room and although fully booked staff arranged another room after a couple of hours. It should be noted that a DeLuxe room can vary in size in particular the bathroom and wardrobe/storage area. The room was well appointed with modern equipment. All staff were extremely friendly and the hotel is close to good dining and shopping areas and the tube is a short walk. did not use the dining room but food provided in the Bar was fine for that type of fare

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to have you with us, thank you for choosing the Marylebone.

I am sorry to hear that your room was not ready for your midday arrival. We always do our very best to have rooms ready as soon as possible, regardless of our guests arrival times as we know how tiring journeys can be. The work men noise I can only assume emanated from outside the building as we have no current renovation projects underway; I am pleased though that we managed to find a more suitable room for you.

Despite the initial wait I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and very happy that you found our team to be so friendly and helpful.

Thank you for telling us and others about your experience, we value your feedback and view it as an essential tool for improving our facilities and service.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    454
    127
    27
    22
See reviews for
267
739
113
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

In London with my wife for a West End show so booked for an overnight stay at the The Marylebone Hotel through a 3rd party website. We arrived to book in around 23:15 after the show and it seemed our booking hadn't been received. After a 10 minute wait in one of the lounges we were given tickets for a complimetary drink in the bar and a room upgrade for our inconvenience - which was a lovely surprise.

The room was neat, clean and modern but very comfortable and welcoming with everything you need: tea, coffee machine, mini bar, great shower...even an iphone dock. It was also very quiet and I was kept awake by the ticking of the alarm clock, of all things! The breakfast room was busy (probably our bad timing) but once seated had a wide choice and the staff were attentive but not overly so.

Overall, a great hotel with friendly, helpful staff in a fantastic central location only a few minutes walk from Oxford Street...it even had a nice smell! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Marylebone for your West End visit; it was a pleasure to have you with us.

Firstly, please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience caused on arrival with your reservation, I am not sure where the breakdown in communication occurred between the 3rd party site and us but I know it must have been frustrating for you at the time. I am happy though that our team looked after you and thrilled that you had positive overall experience, particularly from a staff attentiveness and service perspective and to know that you will definitely stay with us again is absolute music to my ears.

Thank you for taking the time to write about us, your feedback is incredibly important to me and my team as we strive to learn and improve from your observations.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back and hope to meet you in person when you return to the Marylebone.

Best wishes

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was a stark contrast to what I had just checked out of. The hotel, service and the rooms all were excellent. Location is great and I would definitely stay here again. The check in was smooth and polite. The room was spacious and had been recently refurbished. Overall the hotel had a very nice ambience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay with us.

I am delighted you were pleasantly surprised, having moved from a different hotel, and thrilled we managed to exceed your expectations. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally at frits_potgieter@doylecollection.com if I can help with any future reservations or assistance, we hope to be a “home away from home” for you whenever you are in London again.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in September and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is beautiful with a large reception area and several small lounges through the main floor. The hotel restaurant had great food although quite busy in the morning and the hotel bar simply unbeatable, music and especially the cocktails high end! enjoyed them every night.
I would recommend this hotel because of the great and helpful staff and because it is close to the underground and walking distance not only from shopping areas but also from some great restaurants,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest

I loved reading you review, thank you for writing about us.

It was a pleasure to have you with us, I am thrilled you had such a “wonderful” experience and particularly pleased that our staff and our service was a real highlight for you. We are incredibly passionate about delivering unparalleled levels of personalized service and your kind feedback serves as a wonderful motivator for us all.

Thank you for choosing the Marylebone and I look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Spent three nights at The Marylebone Hotel (Doyle Collection) Staff are very attentive with breakfast staff at pains to point out they have remembered your name. Breakfast is extensive to suit most palates and has a restaurant attached although we did not eat there. Rooms are small but being near central London one is never going to spend long in them apart from sleeping. Shower room and toilet area is bordering on being far too small and curtains have numerous thin areas that allows light through them. Beds are soft but comfortable and there is a turn down service in the evening Bizarrely our three nights had three different prices on the bill and the most and least were separated by nearly £100. Near Oxford Street and although no car parking in the maze of one-way streets surrounding does have 25% off local NCP.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you, your feedback is very important to us; we can only improve our service and facilities if we genuinely listen to our guests.

I am pleased that you were impressed with our staff and that that the personal nature of our service was a highlight, we want to ensure that every guest is cared for as an individual and feel welcome and at home. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room and in particular your bathroom size. From a room perspective we have over 7 room categories which range from 19 to over 80 square meters in floor space and I am very confident we have a room that will tick both the space and value box for you. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the different options with you and also go through your room rates on your invoice so we can resolve any confusion. I would therefore be most appreciative if you would reach out to me on frits_potgieter@doylecollection,com. It is my genuine wish that we see you return and ultimately become a regular guest of the Marylebone and I hope you will give me the opportunity to do so.

I very much look forward to hearing from you and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Marylebone.

Best wishes

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Our kids gave us this trip to London, for my wife's birthday and I don't think they could've chosen a better hotel, for us to call home for 6 days. The staff, could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The moment we turned the corner, a young man ran across the street, grabbed our bags and escorted us to the front desk, I wish I had gotten his name. The stay was perfect and we wish we could have stayed, longer. We will be back and we will stay at the Marylebone.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a wonderful review, to hear you plan on returning to us is absolute music to my ears!

It was a pleasure to have you with us, particularly as you were celebrating your wife’s birthday and I am just thrilled you had such a great time with us.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back and hope to meet you when you return.

Kind regards

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I do love this boutique hotel. It's very stylish, amenities are excellent. Our room (although rather small which I've realised is quite typical in London) is well organised, functional and comfortable. I enjoyed walking the streets, there are numerous restaurants and bars in the area. Location is excellent. Interesting enough, on our first day we had a tour to catch and only had 2 hours allotted to get to the hotel, check-in, and head out to our tour. Our trip from the airport (via tube), and check-in was efficient and hassle-free. We were so stoked to have ample time to get to our pre-booked tour! It also was an excellent hub for shopping! Close to Oxford St., one of my favourite shopping streets in London. We enjoyed our stay at the Marylebone Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to put pen to paper and writing so eloquently about your Marylebone experience.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, the décor and aesthetics is a very important part of who we are and we have a wonderful Design Team who works closely with our owners to create a chic and sophisticated feel throughout and yet retain the warmth of welcome we pride ourselves upon. The location is definitely a shopper’s paradise, not only with Oxford and Bond Street being so close (only 5 minutes) but also with Marylebone Village itself which feature a number of independent boutiques.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I hope to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marylebone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marylebone Hotel

Address: 47 Welbeck Street, London W1G 8DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in London
#36 Business Hotel in London
#48 Family Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
#55 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marylebone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marylebone Hotel is perfectly located in trendy Marylebone village, just a short walk from fashionable Bond Street, Selfridges, Oxford Circus, Soho, and Hyde Park. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, and access to our state-of the-art Health Club complete with 18-metre swimming pool, gym, spa, sauna and steam room. If you are feeling a little more energetic, the Health Club also offers a large variety of fitness classes in the dance studio. The Marylebone Hotel effortlessly weaves together the traditional and the modern from around the world, offering welcoming lounges to enjoy afternoon tea, a brasserie style restaurant where local produce is transformed in simple, tasty dishes by our chef, and a bar where you really must try a cocktail. It's close proximity to a variety of theatres, galleries, antique shops and London's best shopping precincts make it the perfect place whether you are travelling on business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Marylebone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marylebone Hotel London
The Marylebone Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marylebone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.