We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, good location, a little street noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel to your Saves list
Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   126 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AD, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book HERE - save 15%
Ranked #400 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel, good location, a little street noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Thistle Bloomsbury Park. The room was lovely, very reasonable for the price. It’s on a busy street, so the street noise was a little loud at night. The staff were friendly and attentive; we had to a take a train almost five hours after checkout and they were very kind about holding our bags for us.

It’s a great location for getting to:
* popular tourist sites like British Museum, the British Library, and the Bloomsbury neighborhood;
* several major train stations, including Euston Station, King’s Cross, and St. Pancras;
* plenty of Underground stations that give you access to the rest of London, including Heathrow.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    237
    93
    27
    13
See reviews for
87
187
26
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Thistle at Bloomsbury Park is a smaller boutique style hotel. We stayed there for 5 days on a school trip and really enjoyed my stay.There are a few downfalls such as, 1 small elevator, small rooms, few electrical outlets, and no air conditioning. They do offer free wifi and smart board for web browsing in the lobby, as well as a friendly and helpful staff. There is a restaurant and bar beside the lobby that is top notch. The breakfast was very good every morning and the service was exceptional. Since we are college students and like to drink, we spent a good amount of time at the bar. The staff was extremely friendly and professional. It is really interesting that the staff has their home flag on their badge. Mo(UK) was the bartender the first night and did some really cool bar tending flare. Antonio( Italy) was really cool and gave us great traveling advice to out trip to Italy after our stay in London. Iwonna (Poland) was the manager at night and went above and beyond making sure we were taken care of. It was amazing how well she would multitask from the guests, employees, and management duties. The prices were very reasonably priced. They also had the cheapest beer we found in London! We were staying there during the release of their new menu and computer system and the staff never skipped a beat which is very impressive. Overall I would definitely recommend this property to someone who wants to save some money and does not want to stay in a fancy resort style hotel.

Room Tip: There is no AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive words. Mo, Antonio and Iwona are particularly please with what you had to say. Feel free to contact us directly in the future if you're looking to stay in London again.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights on business travel. Everything was upto expectation regarding check in, room decor and amenities. Can't be faulted on that. Overall a decent London city option but for two flags. On both days I had breakfast in the restaurant, picked up the plates and they were scummy on the bottom. On the second day actually had to go through a few before I found a plate I could use. In the bathroom, that faint ring in the bathtub and the residue in the sink when the water was draining slowly was very off putting. Get cleaning !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We take all comments of this nature seriously and I assure you that it has been investigated since. Our housekeepers and staff in general are well trained and are being continuously developed. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My company provides a lot of business to this hotel as it is not far from the London Head Office, and is at a convenient location. I have stayed at the Thistle Euston before, with no problems. I refuse to stay at this one again, as do some of my colleagues.

Five of us checked in - this took some time. Two of the five rooms had issues with the state of repair / small size. One of the rooms could not be entered (top floor) as the key did not work. Reception found this amusing.

Cost was approx. £180 per room, per night. There was no air conditioning, hence I had to open the window as far as it would go (not far!). Noisy Central London traffic and the smoke and noise rising from the pubs below, plus the heat, meant I got about 2 hours sleep. Not great.

A group of us came into the hotel bar at around 11.30pm. We asked is the bar was still open. The Bar manager must have had a bad day - she ignored us first, then grudgingly served us, taking my Room Number. She then came over and then loudly announced that this was not acceptable, and I would have to pay now. No problem! By midnight, she turned all the lights off in the bar and restaurant, leaving us residents in the dark, and left without speaking.

I went looking for a manager, but there was only a lad at reception who was unsure what to do.

Never, ever again! The manager apparently emailed some mealy mouthed apology to the travel company that books our business accommodation, offering a future discount of 25% - but I'd rather stay elsewhere.

Central London complacency - employing young (probably inexperienced staff - probably well underpaid) staff, no obvious management, and a very rude bar manager, who should not really be in the hospitality industry. Charge top money for poor service, because they know they will fill the rooms.

Room Tip: Five of us did not find a good room - we are surveyors though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I can assure you that we take all comments of this nature quite seriously and some of the issues raised have been investigated.

One thing we're particularly good at here is customer service, and I can assure you that training is our number one priority. Our staff has a fairly wide age range, so I was surprised when you mentioned they were all young. In addition we do have management at reception all times of the day, so all feedback is welcomed there so we can do everything in our power to help you and make you completely satisfied.

If you're ever looking to stay again in the future on a personal basis then you're more than welcome to give us a call directly for our best available rate on the day.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Thistle Hotel is a far, small and expensive hotel. Stayed for six days on tour the breakfast spread was consistent and was not changed at all. Lone restaurant was very clean and organized though and the staff warm and accommodating. Fluffy pillows, clean comfort room, modern style fixtures but no window, poor acoustics and small elevators. The hotel was basically an old apartment converted to a hotel. I would want to try other areas in London sometime where there is more action such as Piccadilly, West End or Trafalgar area.

Room Tip: avoid rooms near the swinging separator doors. guests are disturbed when people go thru
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. We're always looking at ways of improving our product so this is very useful. It's a shame that you did not get to fully appreciate Bloomsbury though. We're right in the centre of London and have many hidden gems - we're also very close to all of the places you've mentioned.

Hopefully we'll see you again.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here on business a few times, always comfortable, staff very welcoming and friendly. Rooms are a bit 'bijou' and those at the front a little noisy in the evening with the street noise (and opening a window is the only ventilation). Centrally located and just along from my Indian restaurant of choice (the Chambeli). TV selection is a little minimalist, but the free wi-fi is a real bonus (which more hotels should do, and as a business traveller, would make me come back). I agree with some other reviews - the lift is VERY slow!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us and of course for your continued custom.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for one night in a family room.
Pros: Location - is between 2 tube stations surrounded by eating places and easy access to pretty much anywhere in London. Beds are very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and polite. Free wifi.
Cons; double glazing in our room was poor so a lot of traffic noise. As others have commented rooms are small. Bathroom was possibly smallest I have ever used. Virtually nowhere to put your toiletries and shower drained very slowly.lift is slow and when we returned after the show it said out of service so we had to walk up 3 flights, which isn't a problem except I have a medical condition that made this difficult. When we got to our floor we saw the lift doors were stuck open so assumed that is why it wasn't working.
We considered eating there but there are no menus on display outside the bar/restaurant and none in the room so the only way to see one was to go into the restaurant and ask to look at one. We did this and felt quite uncomfortable as we felt staff were waiting for us to decide, so we left and ate elsewhere.
Suggestion: menu in the room would be really helpful so people can see what's on offer.
if you are looking a for clean comfortable accommodation with helpful staff in a good location this is fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as front rooms are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for review and for providing us with some suggestions. We really appreciate this and will consider them going forward.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

Address: 126 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#322 Romantic Hotel in London
#345 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Bloomsbury Park is the perfect base from which to explore this vibrant area of Central London, Within walking distance of The British Museum, Covent Garden and West End Theatres. Several famous formal squares and gardens are on our doorstep, with great transport links provided by Russell Square or Holborn Tube stations. Bloomsbury Park makes it home in a beautiful Edwardian building, and our comfortable rooms and friendly service will ensure a great stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Bloomsbury Park London
Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.