We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   126 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AD, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #330 of 1,075 hotels in London
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenient and affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Small bur comfortable room. Very clean, friendly helpful staff. Did not eat in but enjoyed local patisserie for Breakfast and nearby restaurants. Within a mile of many key attractions and very close to the British Museum.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTHotels, General Manager at Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Linda T,
Thanks for taking the time to review Bloomsbury Park. It's great to hear that you had en enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    153
    56
    17
    5
See reviews for
56
111
17
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and myself spent 1 night here in a standard room on the top floor. The room was spacious, clean and looked as if it was fairly recently decorated. Nice bathroom with plenty a space for unpacking your toilet bag. Nice shower over the bath too.

Reception was quick, friendly and efficent. All the staff were helpful and cheerful.

There is a proper "grown-up" bar area (not just part of reception) which makes a nice change these days.

The location is about as central as you can get and if you can get a good deal (we paid £110) it is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTHotels, General Manager at Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for taking the time to write a great review of Bloomsbury Park. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thanks in articular for highlighting the service experience your received from our cheerful team. They are pleased to hear you thoughts.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards
Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at the Bloomsbury Park hotel for a long weekend for my 60th birthday.The reception staff were exceptional with the check, let us have the room early which was a bonus.Five minutes after being in the room a bottle of wine and birthday card was bought up to our room,a very thoughtful gesture.We had a wonderful room on the 6th floor,no complaints with it whatsoever.Good choice of food for breakfast although at £10 a little expensive, but it is London.Hotel is 15 minutes walk from Euston and 15 Minuets to Oxford street.All in all a very pleasant stay, Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTHotels, General Manager at Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Johnto,
Thanks for your review. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your birthday weekend at Bloomsbury Park. I will share your thoughts with the team who will be really pleased to learn that they were able to make your 60th birthday special. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Best Regards
Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Bloomsbury Park's location is great, 3 min walk from Holborn tube station and less than 10 mins walk to Covent Garden. My room was clean and nicely furnished and the hotel was quiet. I didn't use the restaurant for dinner as I ate out, but was horrified at the price of breakfast, at over £20, but I think this is normal for London hotels. Fortunately there are enough places to go for a more reasonably priced breakfast nearby, including a plethora of coffee shops just next door.

I had a very nice stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTHotels, General Manager at Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Kate81_11,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts following your recent stay at Bloomsbury Park. It is great to hear that you found our location and comfort suited your needs.
It's a shame you weren’t able to try our breakfast, which is great value at £10 per person for a full English buffet breakfast, including unlimited Tea, Coffee, Juice etc...It's definitely worth trying next time. Thanks again for your comments, we hope to see you again soon in London.

Best Regards
Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

A decent enough hotel towards the top end of the middle-ranked hotels in London (and let's face it, lower ranked are pretty rank). There's a restauarnt serving the sort of fare you'd expect, but plenty of eateries around.

Plus points:
Quiet - many rooms look out onto a central well
Location - good for British Museum and close to tube (5 mins walk)
Free, no-quibble, wifi (hooray - no registering or anything)
Safe in room

Minus Points:
Rooms just about big enough
No air-con (there's a fan in the cupboard)
Location - it's not Central London, but it'n not Central London prices!
No mini-bar/fridge

Only other point is security. The lift is near the front door and away from the reception and there's no security on it e.g. a need to swipe the room key (although intruders could always access the stairs). When my wife stayed here a couple of years ago her bag was taken from the back of her chair at breakfast as it was so easy for someone to walk in and out - there was CCTV, but no one stopped a suspicious fellow in a baseball cap and hoodie.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTHotels, General Manager at Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent review of Bloomsbury Park . I was pleased to read that overall your stay was a good one and that our free wifi and great location were things you enjoyed. I am pleased to confirm that the hotel is protected by a comprehensive CCTV system, High Security Bedroom Door Locks with personalised keys, Safety Chains, Viewing Holes, along with electronic safes in every bedroom. Our team are trained to ensure that each guest has a safe and comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to London soon.
kind regards,
Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the first time at this hotel and was not disappointed, staff were friendly and helpful room's and en suite were of a good size and clean and comfortable which is what u would want. Location was good for exploring well by foot and train and bus stations were also very close by.
Would certainly recommend this hotel and would use them again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTHotels, General Manager at Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear sarahlouise_85,
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us at Bloomsbury Park. We hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards
Glenn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel is central for the West End and the City, close to the British Museum, Russell Square and the Covent Garden area. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable with three chairs and a flat screen tv. We enjoyed an evening meal in Denise's French restaurant across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTHotels, General Manager at Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear David,
Thank you for leaving some comments after your stay with us at Bloomsbury Park. The team and I are absolutely thrilled that your stay was such a positive one. I hope that you will return to us next time you are visiting London.
Many thanks,
Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

Address: 126 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#209 Family Hotel in London
#313 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Bloomsbury Park is the perfect base from which to explore this vibrant area of Central London, Within walking distance of The British Museum, Covent Garden and West End Theatres. Several famous formal squares and gardens are on our doorstep, with great transport links provided by Russell Square or Holborn Tube stations. Bloomsbury Park makes it home in a beautiful Edwardian building, and our comfortable rooms and friendly service will ensure a great stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, LondonMarketing.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Bloomsbury Park London
Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.