We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere

Save Saved
You added The Belvedere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Belvedere
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52-54 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RT, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #647 of 1,075 hotels in London
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My mum and I stayed for 2 nights, twin room for £89.50/night which we both thought was great value, room was very clean, fresh towels that were replaced on the 2nd day, the room was nice and warm, good Tv, hairdryer etc. Breakfast was good, full english with toast, cereal, OJ, tea, coffee, great service from the staff who couldn't help enough to make the stay as pleasant as possible. If you arrive early you can leave your bags in the reception until the room is ready and likewise on your departure day they let you leave your bags after checkout and you can collect them later. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    98
    89
    41
    21
See reviews for
52
42
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bristol uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for 1 night and found this hotel very convenient. it is 5minutes from Paddington station. Our room was clean with towels and soap. Good quality tv and ample breakfast. There are lots of restaurants very near including
Burger King and McDonalds Would stay here again.

Room Tip: being so close to the station it is obvious you will get some train/underground noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Having read Tripadvisor reports I booked this hotel for my two night business trip to London. All I can say is that who ever wrote the reviews must have booked into a different hotel. For £70 a night I was very disappointed. I was on the 4th floor with no lift and laundry bags left on the stair case. The bathoom was tiny, the bed was uncomfortable, could hear conversations and TV in room either side of me, no hot water for shower during the afternoon. The breakfast was OK but the full English consisted of only a piece of bacon, one egg, one cheap hotdog sausage, cheap baked beans and toast. I appreciate this is a budget hotel but really not £140 well spent.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This was my second time at the Belvedere and for location and value for money I just don't think it can be beaten. My room was slightly smaller than my first stay but I would still definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I received a friendly welcome to the hotel at reception. The staff, and a man who I am guessing is the manager/owner, were all very helpful. The hotel itself could do with a wee lick of paint, but for the price paid I can't really complain! The room I was given is small and below street level (room 1). It was quite cold, with a thin blanket on the bed and disturbed regularly by the underground trains passing. The room was reasonably clean, minus a couple of squashed spiders on the walls, but again, the hotel was very cheap for it's location!
Overall - a fine hotel to stay in for a night or two if you need something cheap, but I would request a room on one of the upper floors!

Room Tip: Anything above ground! Room 1 is tiny and the subway passes regularly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

In general I found this hotel very simple, but nice. I have booked a single room that was so tiny that it's even hard to call it a "room". However, a "room" was clean and good enough for someone who is going to see the city and not to spend too much time in the hotel. The breakfast is basic, but good enough to start the day. The staff was friendly and helpful, the price was reasonable. The hotel is in a walking distance to Oxford Street (good shopping area) and public transport is just next to the hotel. The area is not the pleasant one and doesn't look safe and, as I was traveling alone, I felt a little unsafe when going to the hotel in the dark (9 pm). In conclusion, if you are looking for a budget hotel I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in a higher floors are more quiet. However, there is no lift so some effort must be maid to ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at this property for 2 nights in late September.
The room I was allotted was on the 4th floor - A steep climb up a very narrow staircase, not for the faint hearted!
My room was minuscule, with barely enough space to keep my small suitcase.
The owners should consider removing the desk and keeping a small table instead - Will allow more space in the room
The bathroom was even smaller - A toilet, a sink and a shower stall, all squeezed into a broom closet sized space.
However, the room and bathroom were neat, clean and airy.
The bedding was clean with clean sheets and towels.
The breakfast was more than adequate - Good spread.
Special mention for the staff manning the Front Desk - Mansoor was very friendly and knowledgeable and helpful. It looked like the man never slept - Early in the morning he was there, late at night he was there!
Overall - Though the room was very small it was good value for money.
On a small budget this is worth it specially if you are using the hotel room just to bathe and sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 52-54 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Hotel Style:
Ranked #647 of 1,075 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Belvedere 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel London
Belvedere Hotel London
The Belvedere London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.