We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hot and uncomfortable room!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Craven Gardens Hotel

Craven Gardens Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Craven Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
Craven Gardens Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Leinster Terrace, London W2 3ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #846 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very hot and uncomfortable room!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Radiator in our room was very very hot! Even thought it's winter and was 1degrees outside we had the window wide open all night and it still didn't cool the room down! Too uncomfortable to sleep in! No radiator valves so unable to adjust the temp ourselves! My partner went to reception at 1:30am they advised him they had turned a switch off maybe for the heating? At 2am no better! We were told we could move to another room so I packed our luggage up and we returned to reception to be told receptionist had made a mistake and there wasn't a spare room!! The receptionist took some pliers to our room to attempt to turn radiator down but this didn't work! We had no choice but to sleep in a very uncomfortable temp room, only made a tiny bit better by my partner attempting to cover up as much of the radiator as possible with towels to try to reduce the heat being let out into the room (still had to sleep with window and curtains wide open to let cold air in) this also meant it was very noisy as a flat located opposite was playing loud music. Wouldn't stay here again as due to lack of sleep wasn't worth the many we paid!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
2
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

On arrival I thought oh my god not impressed at all reception was grotty walls were painted blood red requested early check in 5 months prior to arrival to be told not possible chap on reception was not bothered spoke very bad English had to leave luggage in cupboard and come back later,on check in room then smelt of raw sewage had to change rooms all double rooms vary in size in all fairness the room was clean paintwork was in good condition bedding was clean but shame about whole in sheet would I go back no rather pay another £60 and stay better quality

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the Craven Gardens Hotel in May 2013. The hotel serves as a hotel and hostel. The hotel piece is more expensive but worth every penny. The services include changing the linen everyday, cleaning the room and bathroom and a free breakfast. However, this is only if you stay in the hotel part. The hostel part contains rooms that hold 6 people or more and is fine for students but not recommended for adults. The room we (me and my daughter stayed in was clean but small. There was not much air, but the location was prime. We were within walking distance of the Underground, Kensington Gardens park and Queensroad, a major shopping center. There you can find many places to eat, shop and anything else you need. We ate in a small shwarma place, amongst other places. The breakfast: Cheese, ham, bread, butter and cereal. Coffee was instant but drinkable. Besides, in England coffee and cappuccino are very cheap. Even Mickey D's has good cappuccino. Sainsbury's was a lifesaver, with premade meals that were marked down to almost nothing at the end of the day, and surprisingly tasty. Make sure you get an Oyster Card. All in all, highly recommended. Did not give 5 stars due to the lack of air in the room.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here with my partner in a private room and it was modern, clean, spacious with a sweet bathroom. No street noise. Free breakfast (wasn't a hot breakfast sadly), cheap beer and fast free wifi.

For our last night there we transferrred into a 6 bedroom dorm cause it was close to NYE and it wasn't the nicest for the price. The beds were small (but the mattress was comfy) and there was no where to put our backpacks in the room apart from the end of our bed which made it a little squishy!

Lovely and helpful staff though.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in a private room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampenhout, Brabant, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I went to london with my school (SMIKS).
The hotel is good if you travel with a group. The location was very good. There was a metrostation nearby. I didn't like the room, it was very small and the bed was in front of the mirror so we coudn't see ourselves. The breakfast was just toast and jam but you can bring something or buy something so you can eat what you want.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

1) There was no natural light at all

2) The windows handles were nearly all broken and made opening them difficult (fire risk)

3) If you managed to open the window all you could see was pitch black and hear the sound of little rodent feet (which we heard at numerous points through the night)

4) The light was hanging from the ceiling with wires showing

5) The walls were bubbling and peeling

6) Some area’s of the wall had no paint left on at all

7) The television on the wall had a wire hanging onto the bed below and didn’t look very secure

8) There were a number of screws sticking out the wall in the room and “en-suite”

9) The shower sprayed directly onto the wall opposite with no way of redirecting it downwards to actually hit a person

10) The shower door did not close

11) There was no hook on the bathroom wall but was a metal surround showing where one may have once existed, I know this as I scratched my arm on it whilst getting changed!

12) The Scotia around the bottom of the flooring went about a metre around the floor then disappeared and grime replaced it

13) The handle on the wardrobe was broken

14) The carpet leading to the basement had a number of mats over it and was clearly a trip hazard

15) The door to the room did not seam very secure, I think it would have opened using very little force.

16) Customer service was terrible, no refunds available and had the attitude "tough you have paid you have to stay here!"

17) The basement should not have been used as a room - there was no natural light at all, absolutely terrible hotel. Stay clear.

18) The staff were shouting outside the room door at 6am on Monday morning for 2 hours!

19) The room had clearly not been cleaned for some time with thick layers of dust, crumbs and drugs under the bed!

Room Tip: Do not stay here at all - but if you have to - ensure you don't get the basement room with no wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

If this hotel cost £30 per night would probably be acceptable. Unfortunately it is 3 times that! Tiny room. Tiny bathroom. Overall in poor conditions. Don't go

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Craven Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craven Gardens Hotel

Address: 16 Leinster Terrace, London W2 3ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #846 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Craven Gardens Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian-style hotel, near the city, between Queensway and Lancaster Gate - 30 miles to Heathrow, 40 miles to Gatwick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Craven Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craven Gardens London
Craven Gardens Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craven Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.