We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel with a couple of elementary flaws” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Central Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Central Park Hotel to your Saves list
Central Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49/67 Queensborough Terrace, London W2 3SY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #784 of 1,049 Hotels in London
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value hotel with a couple of elementary flaws”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Firstly, to say I was very happy with the value for money for mynihht here although there were a couple of annoying niggles.

This is a centrally situated clean hotel with pleasant staff and a nice feel. However, the rooms are rather small, which is only really a problem when passing between the bottom of the bed and the desk. Second small niggle is the drafty window which was at least compensated by a heater. Thirdly, not the best sound proofing between rooms but ok.

What was nearly a deal breaker was the loud buzzing noise when we went to bed at 1am. Really loud, like a mix between a bumblebee in an amplifier and standing under an electric pylon. We traced the source to a box under the bed labelled 270 volts. Luckily it stopped when we took the key out of the slot to activate lights but nearly had to call reception.

Despite all these complaints I much preferred this hotel to Travelodges in London which have come in at similar or slightly prices so would recommend. Also very well connected for transport, even during the night with night buses.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    409
    553
    326
    345
See reviews for
321
525
143
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My criteria in selection was, to be near Hyde or Kensington park, near tube stations, near local type shops and a walk from paddington. Central park was ideal. I arrived on foot from paddington early in the morning after the overnight ferry and rail from Ireland. I had booked for following night and didn't expect a room until after midday but just wanted to leave my bag. I was surprised when they gave me a nice room straight away and I was able to get a shower and change to face the day. Room was nice and bright and clean and bath with shower had good hot water supply. I would ask them to be a little more generous with milk and sugar etc in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Not a celubrious area but only 5 minutes from the underground. The best thing about the area is that Kensington Park is only at the bottom of the street, and it is a lovely walk through the park into the centre of London which only takes about 30 minutes.

We got a great deal for the hotel and, although the room was small, we could not complain about anything. The hotel was modern and, most importantly, very clean. For what we paid it was excellent value, especially for London. Would definitely stay ther again, especially if we could get the same deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Excellent location, a quick walk to two tube stations puts you in easy reach of all attractions. Rooms tiny but very clean. The staff were very nice. Very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is in a brilliant location close to two tube stations and lots of buses very close..The staff were very nice but we had booked a twin room so as to get two single beds but got a double..our water was freezing cold so could not have a shower, our TV did not work and several of the lights either. Was only staying one night as part of a theatre break but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I were fortunate to be allocated this hotel as part of a newspaper theatre promotion; we stayed one night in early January. After reading several highly disturbing reviews, we checked in with some trepidation which was quickly dispelled. I get the impression that some people must deliberately pack a magnifying glass when they go on a trip or use the macro mode in their cameras which gives them the evidence and justification for not leaving a tip before checking out. Yes, our room was on the smallish side and yes, most of the staff were foreign but how many London, Paris, New York hotels are any different?

I believe the Central Park Hotels offers very good value for money; it does not profess to be a 4 or 5 star establishment. I would certainly have no hesitation in staying there again when visiting London.

Please contact me if you have any questions.

Room Tip: We had no difficulty checking in early. Secure luggage storage area located on basement floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Second stay at the Central Park. Excellent location, a quick walk to two tube stations puts you in easy reach of all attractions. Rooms tiny but very clean, housekeeping quick and efficient (and do not bang on your door to see if you really don't want to be disturbed). Bathrooms have enormous tubs great for soaking in. (More towels would be nice along with more hangers.) The lady who runs the bar is very nice and helpful, the front desk crew quietly efficient and pleasant. The breakfast room can be a bit chaotic, the continental selection is pretty basic and can get boring over a weeks stay, but is enough to get you started on your day. This is a good business/tourist type hotel. If you are demanding and expecting to be catered to, you need to spend the pounds for a different type of stay. For the price i was very satisfied overall. Hope this helps, Don

Room Tip: Rooms in the back may be a bit quieter. Windows open (a plus with me). This time I faced the front a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park Hotel

Address: 49/67 Queensborough Terrace, London W2 3SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #784 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Central Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Park Hotel London, England
Hotel Central Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.