We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty towers.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pembridge Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pembridge Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Pembridge Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Prince's Square, London W2 4PX, England (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #826 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fawlty towers.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Plus point clen.
Cons
Room tiny, dated and in dire need of upgrade/painting.
Serious issue re fire exit partially blocked by large roll of carpet and mattress. reported but no removal the following day on departure.
Staff not aware of dangers and did not appear to be aware of general customer care.
TV a joke. Fire alarm went off twice with a false alarm, one in middle of night.
Such a great potential but lack of attention to detail.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    107
    207
    153
    272
See reviews for
157
190
78
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Rooms were ok, would recommend if you aren't staying inside the hotel for most of the time. Price was excellent for the area, if you are willing to compromise on quality. Had all the basic functions of a hotel room. Toilet holder was broken though, awkward to use. The bathroom was nicer than the bedroom. The floors throughout the hotel were a bit creaky/uneven. If you are lucky you could get the funky tiger bedsheet (as i did) which is really comfortable. Really old TV didn't work, a stone would have been more entertaining to watch. The breakfast choices weren't great, vegetarian/vegan options virtually nonexistent - if you don't eat meat/dairy/eggs bring your own breakfast food!

Room Tip: Make sure everything works in the room before you settle; if not change rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ijmuiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

noisy, bad lock on the door, not very clean, staff are extremely rude (Except the cleaners) smoker room

I arrived in my non smokers room to find out someone had been smoking in there, I was rather disgusted but when I went to complain that said there was nothing they could do. when I was sleeping at night it was very noisy and my door had a very bad lock so it was vibrating all night long. the rooms were clean enough but I had a sense that deep down if i hadone of those lights, i would have found some dirty stuff. location was good and quiet. shame about the staff at the desk.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Don't be fooled by the name - there is nothing "palacial" about this hotel. It's very basic. You get what you need, nothing more. Bed, bathroom, a place to put your things. It was quite cheap; I spent less than $200 for two nights, a decent price for a hotel in Notting Hill, London.

I stayed for two nights, using the hotel as a base of operations for a quick football trip to London. The hotel is based in an apartment block form the 1800s; there are several hotels, apartments and homes in the buildings in the area, apparently some having been turned into hotels. The neighbourhood is quiet - a typical residential area. It is just five minutes on foot away from Bayswater underground station, and even shorter to the pubs and various places to eat, in case the somewhat lacklustre hotel breakfast doesn't tickle your fancy.

When I arrived, I discovered that the room (nr. 118) was not suited to spend a lot of time in. As an example, the TV was small and suffered from a bad signal. It turned out to be caused by a typical DIY job with the wiring; I managed to make a temporary fix myself, so didn't bother complaining about it. Anyway, if lying in your hotel bed watching TV is your thing, find a hotel with better rooms.

The beds were hard. I, however, quite like that. The bathroom was small and the shower quite old (1970s?), but functional. Again: not a place to pamper yourself, but no problem taking a shower. The water pressure was mediocre; a bit slow in the sink but OK in the shower.

The hallways were a bit damp and smelled "old"; I fear these areas have need of refurbishing. The carpets suffer from moisture damage. My room, however, was fine. And the hotel do take fire hazards seriously, judging from the signs, fire doors, escape routes and fire extinguishers. I know a fair bit about fire prevention, and this place seemed to have been gone over by a public official, which is reassuring.

The service was quite all right; the room was made up while I was out (even though it wasn't really necessary), and the papers and things I had left behind were still there when I came back. I concluded that the staff did not have thieving hands, but would tidy up if I was messy. In the mess (during breakfast), the staff were running back and forth to make sure there was food and drink available - on the whole, I got the impression that the staff were doing their best with the resources they had available. Despite the effort, though, the facilities' age does make it a bit difficult. The hotel could do with a complete overhaul, but that would probably be prohibitively expensive.

Room Tip: Lifts don't always work, choose low floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel was great. We booked it on the cheap at only £39 for a double room.

Great service from the word go. I had problems with the online booking system - but all was sorted out easily.
Had a little trouble finding the hotel, but it was in a great area! Really nice view.
It was actually a triple room, with a spare bed- which was fine as we used it as a sofa!
The room also had a bath and a shower- bathroom was much better than expected.

Bed was comfy.

Only downside was the noise from lots of kids at the hotel who must have been on exchange and two interruptions from people trying to clean our room.

Breakfast was perhaps a little more contintental than i was used to, but fine; all toast, yogurt, cheese , fruit , cereal etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield,England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Friendly welcome at reception on entering this hotel.Most attentive to the needs of guests.Conveniently located in a pleasant area this clean hotel offers a good appetising breakfast in the morning consisting of toasted bread., tea,coffee and a variety of salad including delicious cheese,peanut butter etc.,
My single en-suite bedroom was clean however the bedcover could be nicer.Tea & coffee was plentiful but I had to ask for milk every time.Hot & cold water readily available for showers etc.,
Great atmosphere in the hotel with lots of guests from many corners of the world.
All thanks to the staff of this nice hotel.I hope to visit again.

Room Tip: There is always a queue at breakfast.It might be better to book a time at reception to avoid the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The room smelt of drains, there was damp on the ceiling, mould covering the windows sills. The door was too small for the frame- light and noise from outside flooded in all night. Room was grubby, marks all over the walls, dirty carpets. Beds were uncomfy, ancient bedding. Asked for a different room and was told there wasn't one. Tried to speak to the manager the next day who was conveniently absent. Made repeated attempts to complain since and had no response, or was just continually told the manager wasn't there.

Frankly I have never stayed anywhere where I have wanted to go home and boil all of my possessions after. It really was gross. I would not stay here if you paid me and my advice is to avoid it like the plague!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pembridge Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembridge Palace Hotel

Address: 55 Prince's Square, London W2 4PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #826 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pembridge Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembridge Palace Hotel is ideally located in the heart of tourist attractions, to the north of Kensington Palace and Hyde Park.It is centrally situated and well connected. Close to Paddington Station which is just 15 minutes from Heathrow Airport and only few minutes from the underground stations of Queensway and Bayswater. Walking distance to fashionable Notting Hill and antique Portobello Market! Next to the famous Whiteley's shopping center located near Baywater tube station and Queensway underground. Walk, take the tube or a short bus trip to the shopping centers of Oxford Street and Regent Street. Walk amongst the famous shops of Bond Street where the likes of Burberrys, Armani, Louis Vitton etc are found. Why not go to the local London museums and theaters, clubs and pubs, outdoor markets. There's plenty to see and plenty to do in the vibrant city as well as unwind away from the hustle and bustle in our garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pembridge Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembridge Palace London
Hotel Pembridge Palace
Pembridge Palace Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembridge Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.