We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Leonard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Leonard Hotel to your Saves list
The Leonard Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Seymour Street, London W1H 7JW , England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #284 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here with my 13 and 15 year old nieces. It was their first trip to London and the location was fantastic for us. So close to Oxford Street (and teenager shopping), tube, access to Dominion Theatre, but very quiet. The one bedroom suite was lovely and perfect for our needs. The staff were very friendly and as a lovely touch we were each given a bottle of water for our trip home. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 34 was perfect forums!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    154
    58
    26
    14
See reviews for
110
100
32
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatel-Saint Denis, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I went to London to see my daughter studying. My mom (85) just said ' I come with you"
We had a great time. Hotel is in a great location and they have a very good staff. We had the chance to have an upgraded room... It was just gest for my mom, my daughter (20) and me!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked in having never been to this hotel before, as we were eating out in a restaurant that was nearby, so it was convenient. This was a one night stay over, I was surprised that part of the condition was to take the money for the room up front months before we arrived. NO refunds available for cancellation, so watch out for that one. We had booked a double room double bed, we arrived and were presented with a room in what appeared to be the attic with 2 single beds. After advising this was not what was booked we were advised that some one would be up to push the beds together. We said no and were eventually transferred to another room with a double bed, still in the attic... The furniture and general look was tired and dated and in need of some livening up, basically it needed decorating and new furniture.. Also the bed was so old there was no life in the mattress you could actually feel the springs which creaked and were well worn out. The general guest area was also tired and drab. We did not stay for breakfast as it did not look inviting in fact the whole experience for the price was very disappointing, it is unlikely we will ever go back. The menu was very basic as well so we did not have any lunch there or order room service.This is a bad example of what London has to offer at these prices. The only plus was the location for where we wanted to go..thats it.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the 5th floor you feel like your actually in a closet in the attic....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

From the title of my review, you can guess that my review of the hotel is neither good nor bad. The location, however, is very convenient.

Stayed here for a weekend for some fun in London.

The pluses:
- As mentioned, the location. Easy to tube stations, Oxford Street buses and only about 15 minutes to Picadilly Circus should you need to get to Heathrow.
- Friendly/helpful staff at the hotel.
- Charming lobby.
- Rooms are of a decent size and the amenities, coffee/tea, free bottled water in the room are nice.

The negatives:
- This place is old and I suppose some of it is old in a charming way, but the room looked beat upon closer inspection. Dirty marked walls and furniture that looks as if it's been tossed about.
- Double room but the bed was small and creaky.
- Climate control was ok...we froze one night but the second was better.
- Bathroom is fine...shower pressure ok.
- Walls are paper-thin. The people staying next to us were having a normal conversation and I could hear every word.
- Wifi is not free and runs about 10 pounds for 24 hours...lame.

Overall, there are LOADS of choices in London and in this area. Nothing to gloat about at this hotel.

Room Tip: 5th floor requires you to take stairs from the 4th...tough for the mobility impaired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night. I booked this hotel, purely because of its location as I was planning to do A LOT of shopping on Oxford Street! Check in was effortless, the room was gorgeous and the staff were very friendly. Excellent hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I reserved a single room so was expecting it to be small but the room I was allocated was truly pokey. The decor was in a very poor state -faded wallpaper and paint peeled off. I can'y herlp but feel there are better places to be had for the money

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The first thing that struck me about this boutique hotel was its elegant lobby; the ambiance certainly brings you back to old England. With its heavy antique-like furnitures, traditional wall paper decor, classical portrait paintings, and live fireplace, this strong first impression was certainly worth mentioning as it is part of the overall English experience which I don't think I will get from the bigger hotel chains. Why, I would even put in the creaky and uneven wooden floors as part of the hotel's charm. There is even a sign on each floor that explains that such uneven floors were a result of putting together several different types of 1780-ish apartments to what is now known as the Leonard Hotel. The minor drawback here would be if you had to carry around heavy and bulky luggages which I had. But this was easily addressed through the hotel's very friendly porter/concierge service.

The rooms were equally alluring and consistent with the old English exprience with its buzzer doorbell to start. When you enter the family room, it was like entering an old, small 1 bedroom apartment. A small hallway greets you with the bathroom on your left, a room at the end, and the master bedroom on your right. The room at the end of the hallway is actually like a kitchen, dining and living rooms (rolled into one), as the room couch becomes a bed when needed. The Family Room is certainly adequate for an Asian family of 2 adults and 2 pre-teens.

Other plus factors: very friendly staff, elevator access even if the building is technically old, strategically located near Oxford Street for easy shopping access, numerous coffee shops and restaurants nearby, quiet nights, and very near Marble Arch Underground.

Negative factors: you hear footsteps from the rooms above you, WIFI is not free, no complimentary drinking water, pricey but so-so hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leonard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leonard Hotel

Address: 15 Seymour Street, London W1H 7JW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#144 Business Hotel in London
#206 Luxury Hotel in London
#276 Romantic Hotel in London
#292 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leonard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonard Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel located in Marble Arch. Its excellent location is an advantage as most major department stores and restaurants are within short walking distance. All rooms and suites are individually decorated in timeless English decor. Seymours restaurant at The Leonard offers a variety of traditional English dishes to choose from, in a truly English environment with open half fireplaces and works of art adorning the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Leonard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonard Hotel London
The Leonard Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leonard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.