We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A WASTE OF MARRIOTT POINTS” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-13 Grosvenor Square, London W1K 6JP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #331 of 1,065 Hotels in London
portland oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“WHAT A WASTE OF MARRIOTT POINTS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I've used my marriott rewards points all over the USA. I have been treated excellent while using my points throughout the US. We had to pay an extra amount per night plus points to stay in a room with a hide a bed. Staff was SOUR, did not value a frequent business user with Marriott traveling on leisure with children. I WILL NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    299
    119
    42
    27
See reviews for
180
268
48
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

The location is excellent and is out of the question, but when it comes to weighting value for money, the picture isn't so bright.

The room was spacy and the view was great, but overall the place looks outdated. For half the price of the room, you can get a better place just on the other side of Oxford street.

Two moments that disappointed me the most were-

One. I booked a tripple room directly via Marriott site and indicated a rollable bed needed, but upon our arrival it was still a double room and no one cared to make it suitable for three.

Two. At 6 AM a fire alarm went off for no reason. Not a way to start a Saturday in a 5* hotel in Mayfair.

I would've been fine, if this were a 4* hotel somewhere away from city center, but when you pay half a thousand pounds for a weekend - you have a right to expect more.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

In general I am not a fan of London hotels as they tend to be very small, over priced and old. The Marriott surprised me on many counts. I had a room on the renovated wing/floor of the hotel. Although not huge, the room was spacious enough. The fittings, furniture, upholstery, etc., were clean and in good condition. The location is great for shopping, sightseeing and close to business districts as well as to Heathrow airport. Service was great and attentive. Best of all, there are two Michelin starred Gordon Ramsay restaurants in the hotel, both serving very innovative and delicious fare. The exec chef is Jason Atherton who apparently worked at El Bulli in Spain, although I heard he is soon leaving to open his own restaurant. I will surely go back to this hotel next time I travel to London.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights and the experience was wonderful. The best thing is the location - just off of Oxford St and in the heart of Mayfair. We were given a very large room and everything was impeccable. Service was very good. It is situated on a quiet street with lots of sidewalk restaurants - you can enjoy tranquility within close proximity of buzzing Oxford St. Weekend rates are much lower than weekday rates - plan accordingly. One note of caution - the water is very soft and the soap doesnt want to go from your body. But this is a common problem in European hotels.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We had taken an overnight flight and arrived in London early in the morning. After fighting with rush hour traffic on the tube in an unfamiliar city with an 8-year old and 10 day's worth of luggage, you can imagine our disappointment to find that our room was not yet available. HOWEVER... the hotel staff instantly recognized our situation and treated us to their concierge suite, downstairs, while we waited for our room to become available. Every single person we encountered in our 10 day stay at this hotel was fabulous, especially Kristine, in concierge. The hotel is located in the best place, only a short walk to the Bond Street Station. Make sure you stop for hot roasted chestnuts or waffles along the walk. Every day, staff inquired about our plans and gave us pointers and the inside scoop on where to go and what to do. Housekeeping was impeccable and to this day I will never understand when they came to our room to clean it. They were so very unobtrustive and quietly went about their business without fuss. Knowing we were traveling with a young child, they also occasionally left her little gifts.. coloring books or a snack pack. We dined at the Gordon Ramsey restaurant in my daughter's first "fancy" meal out before a show one night, and upon hearing this, the waiter invited us for a quick tour of the kitchen. Really! Who does that??? It made it even more special. Upgrade to concierge if you have the opportunity - it is well worth it with delicious snacks and beverages. It also allowed us the opportunity to chat with fellow travelers while we played chess or took in the NCAA basketball tournament. I could go on and on about how wonderful this hotel is. The only downside, and this is a very very small downside, is that there is not a lot of nightlife in the area. With my body operating on US time, some nights I'd have enjoyed a late night cocktail, but everything around us closed at 11pm. Fabulous hotel! And if you have any questions, do not hesitate to email me!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

What we liked: Excellent beds, wonderful pillows. Immaculate housekeeping. Friendly, charming staff. Fabulous location. Nice restaurant. Great shopping within a minute's walk. Good value except for the extras.
What we didn't like: Charging for everything. No bottled water in the room, except at more than £3 for a small bottle in the minibar. You have to pay for internet (£15 per day), movies, music (£3 per CD per day). Very expensive telephone charges.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed for May bank holiday weekend, ideal as pay by phone parking is free on Sunday and Bank holidays. The hotel has a fantastic location on the edge of Grovsenor Square and every thing we wanted was close to this very central position.
That's all the good points covered. We had a room yet to be refurbished which was large enough for 2 adults and 2 children( sleeping in a sofa bed). The room was very old fashioned but clean. All the staff we encountered could just about be bothered to carry out their respective jobs. We asked for the sofa bed to be made up whilst we were out for dinner and were very surprised to find it had been done when we returned, such was the feeling when dealing with people.
We had a very average breakfast in Maze restaurent where Gordon's staff seem to have been on the same Marriot traing course.
Over the years we have stayed in many London hotels and quite often they have been an absolute pleasure to return to after a days sightseeing. This hotel was good for a nights sleep and save for the marvelous location not much else.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel

Address: 10-13 Grosvenor Square, London W1K 6JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#189 Family Hotel in London
#222 Luxury Hotel in London
#249 Romantic Hotel in London
#281 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Mayfair neighbourhood, just seconds walk to Oxford Street and Park Lane, the London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square enjoys a renown that many hotels in London strive to attain. First built as a stately townhouse, it has evolved into an exclusive hotel that infuses contemporary chic with classic luxury and exceptional personal service. Special Features include; Gordon Ramsay's Michelin Starred 'Maze' restaurant, WIFI throughout and a beautiful peaceful garden location, in London's most fashionable area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel England
London Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.