We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-13 Grosvenor Square, London W1K 6JP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #335 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“London Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had a great time at the London Marriott Grosvenor (pronounced without the s - helpful for an American trying to give a cab driver location) Square from Dec 29 - Jan 5. The hotel was centrally located for our London holiday. Walking distance to several great restaurants ( St. Christopher's Place) and great shopping (Selfridges and Oxford Street). A bit further from the historic landmarks (Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, Buckingham Palace) not exactly walking distance in December, but convenient to the tube (Bond Street or Marble Arch). ** One tip though - check closings for tube, the Jubilee line which services Bond street was closed the day we arrived and that would have been helpful information ahead of time!**

We were traveling with 2 teenage children (18 and 15) so got 2 rooms. We had deluxe King which was very spacious. Hotel provided hairdryer and an umbrella, but we did need a converter for other outlets to charge phones, etc. **another tip someone shared with me, was to bring a small extension cord, since outlet are not always centrally located, and I brought one with 3 outlets so I only need 1 converter and we could charge both phones during the night. worked great. ** There was a pull out sofa, but it would have been too small for 2 big kids. Walls are a little thin, I could hear the television from the room next door, but fortunately they turned it off early in the evening. Other than that there was no street noise. The kids had a room with 2 singles. Their bathroom was small, but sufficient. They had a view of Grosvenor Square and did not have an issue with noise at all.

The service from the concierge was OUTSTANDING!!! Adam and Danny were great. They worked very hard to get us dinner reservations ( on New Years Eve) and theater tickets. Their recommendations were always spot on. They were always helpful with directions. The doorman was quick to get us a cab when needed too. The Luggage Room (Cocktail Lounge off the Lobby) was a cozy, upscale bar in a 1920s theme. Mario, the bartender, was very friendly and creative.

My only negative comment is the lobby itself, it was small and there was no place to go to have a quick pint, pre-meal drink, or late night cocktail with our younger son. Even before 9pm, he was not allowed in the luggage room. As a family friendly hotel, it would have been nice to have a meeting spot in the hotel to congregate. The Maze (restaurant upstairs) was always crowded and not directly associated with the Marriott. There was no place for the kids to grab a soda with us. Being in 2 rooms, it would have been nice to have hangout spot to grab a bite, snack, drink, etc. as a family before heading off to bed. This was our first time in London, so I don't know if this is consistent with other hotels.
Directly across the street is a pub, The Barley Mow. Food is average at best, but beer selection was fantastic. Say hi to Jamie the bartender or Jo. They made us feel quite welcome and offered their own tourist recommendations. But again - must be 18 - although I think this is only after 9pm.

Overall, we had a fantastic time. I highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear ChrisKFL

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to submit such a detailed review.

I was very pleased to read bout your comments regarding Adam, Danny and Mario, I will be sure these are shared with them and thatthey get the recognition they deserve. Thank you as well for your comments regarding the lobby, thesewill of course be shared with Senior Management.

We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ian Pask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    299
    119
    43
    27
See reviews for
180
268
48
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights with the family. Before I went was worried about other trip advisor comments. Small rooms , noisy etc. All turned out to be true. However I have stayed there before and knew what to expect. Yes the rooms are small but I was able to get two interconnecting which was useful. The rooms are small but that's ok considering price and fantastic location. Decor reasonable. Complaint , noise . Worse was the luggage guy helping guests leave at 6-30 am. So much unnecessary noise and door banging!
Otherwise if you want to go to a good hotel just off Oxford street , this is probably as good as it gets for the price.
One last thing, I hate being charged for internet, and to be overcharged, unforgivable. Except there was a charming girl on reception who rectified everything with no fuss. Great recommendation for your hotel.
See you again!

Room Tip: 224 interconnecting to 226
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Motorsportenthuisias

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our rooms and property. I have raised the issue of the noisy porter with our Front Office Manager who will ensure that she continues to implement guest service and guest resolution training for all team members to ensure our usual high level of service and standards are continually maintained.

We do hope you return to stay with us in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ian Pask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our family of four just returned from a four night stay at the property. We were put in a deluxe king room with a pull out sofa for the kids. This size of room was more than adequate for our needs. The bathroom was well equipped and spacious. We did see the standard king room while walking down the hall and it appeared to be quite small.

Overall, we were thrilled with the property. Every staff member we encountered was pleasant, helpful, and courteous. We would absolutely stay here again.

Positives:

Location, location, location
Comfortable beds/linens
Attentive staff
Knowledgeable concierges
Quiet neighborhood
Well stocked and comfortable platinum lounge
Excellent high end restaurants adjacent to lobby, and close by.

Negatives:

Lounge served the exact same breakfast items during our stay
Walls are indeed thin
Slows lifts

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear beeclean

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor.

I was very pleased to read that you were satisfied with everything the hotel had to offer in particular the attentiveness of the staff. I will ensure your great comments are shared with the team.

I will also be rasing your feedback regarding breakfast with Jamie Welch our Executive Chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Ian Pask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for Oxford Street. 2 blocks from Selfridges. We managed to park on the road or otherwise parking is £48 a day at a local NCP. We stayed on the 1st floor in a room with a gorgeous patio leading to a small garden. Only a few rooms have access. Club room was included in the price and the room was very nice and roomy. Unfortunately on return from a late night the extra bed for our child was not the room and we had to wait nearly an hour!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Inlovewithlux

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our propertyon Trip Advisor.

I would like tothank you for your great comments about our hotel. I woukd also like to take this oppertunity to sincerly apologise to you for the fact your extra bed was not ready when you returned to the hotel in the early hours of the morning. I have brought this to the attention of Liana Bobina Executive Housekeeper as this is not in line with our usual high standards of service.

I do hope we will have the oopertunity of welcoming you back to the hotel inthe not to distant future.

Kind Regards
Ian Pask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Really nice hotel in Mayfair District very close to Oxford St and Marble Arch.
Rooms are modern designed and a little bit small but they have absolutelly everything you need with great facilities. Really enjoyed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Raquelitaaaa

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ian Pask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The staff is what makes this property a joy. By the time of our check-in, we had been traveling for more than 20 hours and were quite tired. The woman at the desk was wonderful welcoming and accommodating. She was efficient and more than helpful.

Katie in Guest Services, Brian and Harry at Concierge all went above and beyond in making our stay exceptionally pleasant. Katie arranged for a special birthday cake to be delivered for our daughter's 18th birthday celebration on Christmas Day. It was exquisite! Prior to our arrival, Brian was quite helpful in having made a number of arrangements for us and was very eager to provide further assistance once we were there. Unfortunately, we had a very bad experience with one of the tours. Harry handled our negotiations with the agency to secure a complete refund.

That the staff was sufficiently abundant and helpful even on Christmas Day was well appreciated by our family. Even the Club Lounge was operating fully. This made our stay very comfortable.

Thank you to the people of Marriott Grosvenor Square!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Phil S

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I was so glad to read your comments about the staff members you mentioned, we are very proud of all oour associates here and I will ensure they get the recognition they deserve. I was also pleased to hear your daughter had a great 18th Birthday.

Thank you once agian for your Kind comments and we very much hope you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Ian Pask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the millennium hotel at Grosvenor square last Christmas so opted for this hotel this year.
Lovely big beds and comfortable rooms. First impressions however weren't too good, my partner and I arrived in our car only for the 2 men on the door arguing with each other and us stood in the rain with our boot open waiting for help with our luggage.
Overall a nice stay

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear yaz17121

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Thank you very much for your comments regarding our rooms and beds. Thank you for bringing your welcome experience to our attention, I will be following up with our Front Office manager to ensure this does not happen again.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back tot he hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ian Pask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel

Address: 10-13 Grosvenor Square, London W1K 6JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Family Hotel in London
#224 Luxury Hotel in London
#251 Romantic Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Mayfair neighbourhood, just seconds walk to Oxford Street and Park Lane, the London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square enjoys a renown that many hotels in London strive to attain. First built as a stately townhouse, it has evolved into an exclusive hotel that infuses contemporary chic with classic luxury and exceptional personal service. Special Features include; Gordon Ramsay's Michelin Starred 'Maze' restaurant, WIFI throughout and a beautiful peaceful garden location, in London's most fashionable area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel England
London Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.